[Feedback] Compiled List of Bugs & Issues for 1.30.1+

deepstrasz

Map Reviewer
Level 54
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
15,763
When you open the advanced interface menu in editor and switch between maps via the windows menu, the interface menu isn't updated to the opened map.
Not pretty sure what you're saying but switching between maps via the Window on the top bar works for me on 1.31.1 back and forth.

EDIT: Ah, I understand. If you do the switch while having the Game Interface window opened. Yes, indeed, the window doesn't update to the newly opened map. It happens regardless if you open the other map via the Window Mode option or not, meaning the issue is present always if you open a new map over another loaded map.
Same happens if you close the map and the other one is switched to automatically. And then, the editor crashes if you try to edit the unupdated Game Interface window.
 
Last edited:
Level 16
Joined
Apr 12, 2018
Messages
455
Major bug : The Goblin Tinker's Engineering Upgrade ability is bugged, it causes the hero to lose all his learned abilities after he's reloaded from the campaign game cache, not only that be he also loses his skills points making it impossible to restore his abilities.

Edit : The only solution to this problem for now is to reset all his abilities with the "Tome of Retraining" and modify the skills points.
That's been in the game ever since Engineering Upgrade was put it. It doesn't survive the game cache and wasn't meant to (especially since it only shows up in Melee maps normally; it was never used on any custom map made by Blizzard).
 
Level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
8
I am not sure if this has been posted, but I'm seeing it nowhere and its kind of a big issue. Customly defined buff art is not being displayed, it is instead displaying the art of the base ability used. The custom buff text and name remain intact however.
 
Level 12
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
526
When a timer restarts around 5485000 times (this takes just over 9 minutes with the minimum interval of 0.0001), the game crashes. Tested on both jass and lua, and with both TimerStart and TriggerRegisterTimerEvent natives.
 

deepstrasz

Map Reviewer
Level 54
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
15,763
One can place two of the same colour start locations by editing the player/owner of another player's start location.
twostartlocationssame.png
 
Level 12
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
526
The native BlzGetFrameByName behaves differently in jass and lua. When called in lua, it will NEVER return null. Test maps included.
 

Attachments

  • TestJassUIFrameByNameNull.w3x
    16.1 KB · Views: 53
  • TestLuaUIFrameByNameNull.w3x
    15.7 KB · Views: 40
Items that have active abilities can't be used if those abilities aren't placed "first" in the item's ability list.
I think it's always been that way. Probably the game's way to tell which ability is considered active (in case someone ever puts 2 active abilities on an item)
That is not entirely the case. If an item as two active abilities the first to be used is the first ability in the list - but if that is not available (e.g. in cooldown) then things get a bit more complicated.
 

deepstrasz

Map Reviewer
Level 54
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
15,763
This map
Good & Evil II Between Worlds V 0.6 For Patch 1.30.4 wc3
crashes in the custom games selection screen on the x64 version for some reason. I think it might be a memory stacking related issue since 1.31.1 is kind of known for memory buildup during long playthroughs, however, this happens before even starting the map. The map is big over 300mb and is not a campaign.

Reported by DrakPanda on the thread.

Actually it was first reported by cleavinghammer (post) and the author knew about it working on x86 (post).
I can confirm the issue.

EDIT: more info: post.
Basically the editor crashes when saving that map on 1.31.1 x86_x64 but not on the x86 editor version.
 
Last edited:
Level 3
Joined
Jan 10, 2020
Messages
24
There seems to be an issue with keyboard detection and the left mouse key.
I found a post on the blizzard forums explaining the issue, basically pressing the left key blocks keyboard input for a trigger. I found this out while trying to test a top-down shooter concept, unfortunately has failed due to the limitations created by this issue.

BlzTriggerRegisterPlayerKeyEvent and TriggerRegisterPlayerMouseEventBJ


Edit: Attached a file which can easily demonstrate the issue. Just hold down left click and try to press an arrow key, no message will show.
 

Attachments

  • Protect the House Shooter.w3x
    123.8 KB · Views: 51
Level 12
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
526
If you create a trigger with event EVENT_PLAYER_CHAT, and you then destroy this trigger after the event has fired at least once, everything just stops working.
This was tested on 1.31 and happens with both jass and lua. Obvious workaround would be to use TriggerRegisterPlayerChatEvent instead.
I have included a testmap, where issuing an order shows a message, and the trigger is destroyed or recreated every three seconds. You can see that the messages no longer appear after triggering the bug.

There seems to be an issue with keyboard detection and the left mouse key.
I hope this gets fixed soon, using right mouse button instead as a workaround is a bit annoying, and for some maps you simply need both mouse buttons.
 

Attachments

  • WeirdBug.w3x
    16.8 KB · Views: 47
Level 12
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
526
The following crashes the world editor:
Lua:
texttest = [[
// %%% SetCampaignMenuRace is deprecated.  It must remain to support
]]
 
Level 2
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
8
As of today, 19.01.20:

Chaos Space Orc model file is not in the editor and is replaced with a duplicate of "Marine" model file, that is called "Terran Marine" (there is no difference between this two model files, terran marine still follows the old path for chaos space orc Units\Critters\ChaosSpaceOrc\ChaosSpaceOrc.mdl).

UI icon that corresponds to Chaos Space Orc path is also called "Terran Marine" now, but correctly shows an icon for Chaos Space Orc instead.

Expected result: Chaos Space Orc has a Reforged model.

Pls fix.
 
Level 1
Joined
Jan 29, 2020
Messages
1
Two bugs:
  • Crow and bear form change to the bear and crow model even if you change the "Alternate form unit" to a custom model
  • Unit value "Art - Maximum pitch angle (degrees)" can no longer be negative and has no effect whatsoever
 
Level 23
Joined
Feb 18, 2014
Messages
3,423
I know they are not the same, but normally that condition should consider the ability nonetheless. I mean if you have a unit group with units that can reincarnate and make a trigger that checks when all those units are dead, it will be problematic.
 

Eye

Eye

Level 2
Joined
Jun 30, 2018
Messages
19
The World Editor removes the whole "Temp" folder on Windows 7 with launch and on exit. It recreates the folder when testing the map, although sometimes, when map was not saved before pressing the test button, it does not, thus throwing an error window.
...
"Open Document" and "Tool Palette" windows always have the default size, position and state.
on reforged, still present.
 

deepstrasz

Map Reviewer
Level 54
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
15,763
Creating an FX attached to a unit (hands for example) using a custom model (like a sword) will make the FX model disappear after some good seconds upon destroy FX trigger action whilst if the FX is ran as the buff (of say, Bloodlust), it will immediately disappear when the spell finishes acting.
This happens to models without a death animation.
 
Last edited:
Level 16
Joined
Apr 12, 2018
Messages
455
Creating an FX attached to a unit (hands for example) using a custom model (like a sword) will make the FX model disappear after some good seconds upon destroy FX trigger action whilst if the FX is ran as the buff (of say, Bloodlust), it will immediately disappear when the spell finishes acting.
This happens to models without a death animation.
Correct me if I'm mistaken, but that sounds like normal behavior to me?
 
Level 16
Joined
Apr 12, 2018
Messages
455
I don't understand why the model stays for some seconds before disappearing when using the destroy fx trigger while disappearing immediately when that model is used as a spell's buff fx when this latter disappears.
It stays because there's no Death animation. Buffs handle everything dealing with them themselves (eg it only applies when the buff is still on the unit).
 
Level 18
Joined
Dec 12, 2010
Messages
2,056
I don't understand why the model stays for some seconds before disappearing when using the destroy fx trigger while disappearing immediately when that model is used as a spell's buff fx when this latter disappears.
gameplay constants - effects death time - 5 by default
effects with no death will be only removed after those 5 seconds
 
Level 16
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
1,580
Cannot get the Reforged editor to actually Rename an item via triggers. Once it did actually rename it for no apparent reason, but upon 2nd test it just sat there once again as "Heart of Searinox" instead of "Greatsword" no changes between.
yes, the function doesnt work. sadly, this issue exists for several months now and is still not fixed.
there are many other functions that dont work
 
Level 4
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
46
Play music from offset, as well as play theme from offset don't work. The music / theme plays from the beginning.
 
Top