1. Head to the 33rd Modeling Contest Poll and drink to your heart's desire.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Choose your means of doom in the 17th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

World Editor and Undead Race NOW LIVE

Discussion in 'Latest Updates and News' started by Archian, Nov 5, 2019.

  1. nighthawk700

    nighthawk700

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Even replays are stored in the documents folder. So you've gotta clean that folder every half year or so if you turned on "save all replays" (as you should!). Really, really not a fan of having to keep an eye on my wc3 maps/replays size on my boot drive!
     
  2. Archian

    Archian

    Site Director

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,980
    Resources:
    12
    Skins:
    1
    Tutorials:
    11
    Resources:
    12
    After more testing:

    World Editor suddenly crashes when I try to save. With an error that says "JASS HELPER - NO MORE MEMORY". It's just a plain simple map I was testing a few doodads with. Nothing fancy at all.

    Any idea what might be the cause of this? @Dr Super Good @Kam @MindWorX

    Also, I get crashes a few seconds in game in other custom maps. I can play an entire 1v1 game with no crashes. That is if the game will start once an opponent has been found and it doesn't go black screen.

    Here's one of my test maps that keeps crashing.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
  3. Wazzz

    Wazzz

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,080
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    6
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    7
    "I don't like having all of my replays saved when I select the option to have all replays saved"

    I... see
     
  4. Ungoliath

    Ungoliath

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Resources:
    7
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    5
    Resources:
    7
    METAMORPHOSIS TEXTURE
    I decided to try out one of my very first maps and got this :D:

    Azmodan texture over bridge.png Azmodan texture over everything.png Azmodan texture in game.png
    This is a metamorphosis texture made by Denu, which has the import path texures\Black32. It essentially covers everything on the map.

    CINEMATIC FILTERS
    I also noticed that cinematic black filters are slightly transparent, even at 0% transparency. I could clearly see units move around etc after each cinematic.
    Black fade filters not working.png

    CUSTOM MODELS
    Regarding custom models, I kind of expected this:
    File Errors.png

    Although it would seem that these guys managed to load:
    Custom models which loaded.png

    In-game, even though the unit model wouldn't show up, it's portrait did during cinematics
    Model not visible but portrait is working.png

    SOUND
    It would seem that the trigger Sound - Stop "sound" <after fading> is still not working properly. It just cuts off instantly. I really hope this will be fixed!
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
  5. YourArthas

    YourArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You can report it, I've already adressed the issue that causes model imports to be broken to employees with explaining why
     
  6. GGWentworth

    GGWentworth

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Posting from my bug report on the blizz forums
    -All floating text is showing as red

    -All of my custom heroes’ ability icons appear the same as the default paladin abilities, the tooltip text is correct inside the ‘Hero Abilities’ page, but shows the Paladin’s ability tooltips once you skill the ability. In addition to this, it plays the art of the respective paladin ability when using the custom abilities. I haven't tested if this is because all my custom heroes are based on paladin, I honestly can't remember what my template hero is.

    -Many custom model assets are not loading.

    -A lot of debuffs appear to be referencing the incorrect debuff art, namely Stuns and Slows are referencing the art of the base Stunned (Pause) art and Slows are referencing the art of Sorceress' Slow ability.

    Also, @Bribe your Knockback Engine appears to be busted, When I use it to knockback regular units without locust, it plays the SFX, but nothing else. However if I use it to move a dummy unit projectile it works just fine.
     
  7. wc3neverdies

    wc3neverdies

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    It seems that all my imported icons are not loaded and in-game are replaced with normal new icons
     
  8. MadMax

    MadMax

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    288
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Man so lame, i did bought the game on first minutes sfter it was announced (and still didn't get acces to beta =(
     
  9. chopinski

    chopinski

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    446
    Resources:
    6
    Spells:
    6
    Resources:
    6
    And Will the be able to fix it?
     
  10. Shadow44

    Shadow44

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I dont know why, but I can not select texture number one, when I click on it it select texture number two
     

    Attached Files:

  11. YourArthas

    YourArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Probably. It is just game ignoring to read animated alpha values in material layers of models, no reason for it to be not fixed since it was there for like 17 years
     
  12. Mr.Goblin

    Mr.Goblin

    Art and Graphic Design Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,046
    Resources:
    187
    Models:
    5
    Icons:
    137
    Packs:
    4
    Skins:
    39
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    187
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
  13. Ungoliath

    Ungoliath

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Resources:
    7
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    5
    Resources:
    7
    I haven't tried loading any of my newer maps, I know it would be a complete shitshow. :D I really hope that things gets sorted out eventually, so that awesome projects like Flickering Light can transition into the new editor without sacrificing tons of work.

    I'm going stick to our current editor and wait for the official release of the reforged beta one. :)
     
  14. wc3neverdies

    wc3neverdies

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The Lilypad doodads disappear if you zoom in with the camera editor

    In the sound editor the soun for the Night Elf Arches Pissed2 is repeated 2 times
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
  15. Razorclaw_X

    Razorclaw_X

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    350
    Resources:
    3
    Ported Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    I'm more surprised you haven't run into this 'issue' earlier since Black32.blp is one of the most commonly used textures.
     
  16. MN Lahmar

    MN Lahmar

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    723
    Resources:
    11
    Models:
    8
    Icons:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    11
  17. Ardenaso

    Ardenaso

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    741
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I haven't check the Reforged WE yet but does the unit database include everything that was inside yet (other than Nelves) ?
     
  18. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,287
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  19. Razorclaw_X

    Razorclaw_X

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    350
    Resources:
    3
    Ported Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Not surprisingly Test Map is insufficient to test the Campaign maps, but I expected this since that was the case during TFT beta, too. It's a shame because I wanted to know what that new row of drop-downs did.

    Not only this, but the lower water height affects all the Doodads in the water, too. I use a Water Plane, for example, at the water height, and with the current Shallow Water they're now all appearing under the ground instead.


    ED: Figured out what the drop-downs did. It's actually a sort for the Import Manager.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
  20. The Panda

    The Panda

    Icon Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,785
    Resources:
    365
    Icons:
    301
    Packs:
    16
    Maps:
    48
    Resources:
    365
    For me id love it for the editor to have a clickable button that allows us to be able to download models/skins/icons with a simple click somehow.. instead of having to download every single one you need. Or, have it easier to upload to your map.. because sometimes uploading some models and skins are very frustrating... :/


    Also, will our old maps work on the reforged editor? Im sure this question has been said but id like to know myself. I hope it does.