1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

World Editor and Undead Race NOW LIVE

Discussion in 'Latest Updates and News' started by Archian, Nov 5, 2019.

  1. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,209
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    As far as I am aware with the 1.32 beta one can use both Reforged and Classic graphics. The Reforged graphics have an additional licence check.
     
  2. signo_vinces

    signo_vinces

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm going to be drafting a long list of comments for Blizz on my input. I think they got so much right (even though most of what we hear is criticism).

    That said, what strikes me immediately is how BAD the water graphics look. Both in game and in editor....in the editor it's almost completely translucent and in game it just looks ugly, dull, and doesn't stand out. I feel like even the older water graphics look better. Shallow water in particular looks completely transparent.

    This really sucks for maps that want to emphasize water. :(

    Am I alone here?
     
  3. Strydhaizer

    Strydhaizer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,832
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Template:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    Yeah but in his perspective he seems like he did not order the reforged yet (like me) and he's asking if lolreported can test it in the classic, not reforged with settings set to classic (it's still technically reforged I guess). I might be wrong here please correct me if I am. I'm currently eye-ing for a new patch in the classic warcraft and see if we can have the new triggers too (hopefully no exclusives).
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2019
  4. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,209
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    1.32 will go live with Reforged or shortly before then. Reforged and classic will use the same client. Just Reforged graphics and campaign will be behind a pay wall/licence.
     
  5. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,084
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  6. YourArthas

    YourArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    #SAVEDREADLORDSTAIL

    Atleast for one of them.... I mean we got like 7 ? dreadlords and not even single one of them has a tail nor the old ones look
     
  7. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,084
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    It should be some sort of hierarchical thing. Say, Tichondrius, Balnazaar has that. Detheroc is too fat and the demon's tail fell off due to constant inflammation.
     
  8. MasterBlaster

    MasterBlaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,059
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm okay with most Undead models, but I think they look a bit too bright in game.
    Plus I'm not a fan of the new Blight. It's weird.

    EDIT: One big exception - for some reason I'm bothered by the bottom part of Ziggurat model, i.e. how the building connects to the ground.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2019
  9. YourArthas

    YourArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Also the wings of Tichandrius, they could be alot cooler with the old ones 'tattooes'
     
  10. Civiliznations

    Civiliznations

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    When I select a building in the construction panel that hasn't been selected before, my fps tanks from 80 to 20. (my map)
     
  11. Civiliznations

    Civiliznations

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    When using convert unit type to String, it converts to the Unit id the unit was based on, not the actual custom unit.

    Edit: Same for String to unit type
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019
  12. MyPad

    MyPad

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,563
    Resources:
    9
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    3
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    9
    It may be what SetUnitSkin is supposed to do. Perhaps expose
    SetUnitTypeId
    ?
     
  13. Veronnis

    Veronnis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    7
    You are not fully alone in your opinion of the water, while I wouldn't say it looks bad, something about it looks wrong. Comparing against googled pictures of ocean water, it isn't that off, guess I'm just not feeling it and that's okay, but, if anyone wanted to make some incredible improvements I would suggest the following ideas. Allow water options for a map, or even a region if you want to "blow this out of the water". Options would be as follows.
    Water colors, including "natural" but not discluding white/milky and or other colors you cant currently achieve.
    Water opacity %
    Opacity per depth %
    Wave crispness (basically choppy waters vs smooth waters)
    Water wake changes with water coloring or separate but chooseable coloring for some reason.
    Lava skin for water.

    Note: I am not a water expert, I am not a physics expert my requests may be mediocre or too hard to achieve, but those are my opnions, do with them what you will. As always, work is appreciated whether it lives up to my standards or not I recognize what you do. Thank you.
     
  14. stan0033

    stan0033

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,993
    Resources:
    17
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    7
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    Does blizzard read this topic? Or only battle. Net?
     
  15. LazZ

    LazZ

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    What I would also like Blizzard to add to the editor is action definitions (functions) in the trigger editor like we have them in Starcraft 2. Being able to make these functions with parameters is incredibly useful for reusability and overall cleaner code.
     
  16. Midnighters

    Midnighters

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,802
    Resources:
    12
    Icons:
    10
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    12
    Pretty sure information here is being ciompiled and relayed to blizzard.
     
  17. stan0033

    stan0033

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,993
    Resources:
    17
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    7
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    Yes I saw one trigger in the we that answers one of my requests to blizz
     
  18. Civiliznations

    Civiliznations

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    In my map I have buildings which spawn units via trigger at the Point of the building. If you have an uncompleted building surrounded by others and a spawn occurs, for the rest of the game you will be unable to complete that building. Kind of specific but does indicate there are some issues with pathing that did not occur in classic wc3.


    Here's a short 40 second video that shows the problem, has something to do with the unit being spawned on top of the building most likely. Once the surrounding buildings have been destroyed it can be completed.

    Warcraft III Beta 2019-11-08 13-01-43 - Streamable
     
  19. Coldgamer

    Coldgamer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Models placed in water are not visible:

    upload_2019-11-8_14-17-30.png

    You could place any model you want, it's always invisible in the water.

    Even the surface tool is invisible in the water:

    upload_2019-11-8_14-19-26.png

    Edit: Ingame the models are visible.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019
  20. kentzeus

    kentzeus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I have pre-ordered but still can't play the beta, anyone else has this issue?