Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Starcraft 2 MAJOR Editor Update

Discussion in 'Latest Updates and News' started by Archian, Jul 15, 2020.

  1. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,435
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Anyone tried the PTR? Can't seem to find any Warcraft III stuff, models/units/objects whatnot.
     
  2. Rayman90

    Rayman90

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Wow, nice, interesting. I dont get it. Do they want to lure wc3 mapmakers to sc2 or something ? I wonder what their plans are. This is really weird imo ) almost feels like sc2 team wants to troll wc3 team, lol
     
  3. MrRious

    MrRious

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Christ, this is so good. Makes me wish WC3 got this too
    My god
     
  4. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,435
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Can't convert Warcraft III maps on the x64 version. Either it tells me they're bigger than 128x128 or the editor crashes.
    RoC .w3m cannot be converted. The editor says they're saved with a version that can't be recognized or something like that.

    But the non-x64 version seems to work.
    Ha-ha, take that Reforged!

    conv01.png conv02.png conv03.png conv04.png

    Read the whole list on the official site.
    It only takes about 2hs of pure joy :D
     
  5. MrRious

    MrRious

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Is it just me, or are they aware of the flop they made and wanna move the WC community to SC?

    I'd love these games to be merged, but as far as we don't get the original tilesets it just won't feel good.
     
  6. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,435
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Only the beginning, my friend. I now actually have courage to hope once more.

    Well, the conversion isn't perfect of course, you don't get Warcraft III starting units, gameplay, triggers and whatnot. But the funny thing is that the Tavern has the heroes :D.
    Scrap that :D Just add the melee triggers yourself and voila!
    For the AI to appear you have to make those players be computer controlled in the Player Options. However, the AI doesn't know more than gold mining. I guess there aren't any AI scripts.

    Jesus Zoroaster Moses Mohamed!

    I've uploaded a gameplay video.



    Wait for it to be processed for better quality. Note that PTRs usually don't let you use the full graphics options.

    Still needs work but what we have until now is grandiose:
    • idle worker icons
    • hero icons put where they should be
    • first hero not requiring resources
    • working AI
    • maybe very slow/slow/medium/fast for movement and attack speeds instead of numbers like in StarCraft
    • some FX aren't quite like in the original; for instance Scroll of Speed
    • the unavailable stuff icons are too gray out that you can't make out what they are
    • proper item positioning in the Goblin Merchant shop
    • better minimap creep camp icons; orange is not quite visible near gold mine icons
    • proper positioning of the worker icon inside buildings under the building work process bar; right now it's in the command card
    • workers should get out after finishing construction on the southern side not northern
    • experience gain for heroes
    • if possible change the portrait television FX and green aura when units are selected; also the invisible-visible FX (cloaking field)
    • not sure if creeps have camp range; that's important for Warcraft III melee
    • original tilesets are also pretty important since some are unrecognizable now; for instance: this is supposed to be Sunken Ruins
      conv05.png
    • the neutral hero spells seem not to work; also the spell icons aren't visible in the learn ability menu
    • can't set the hero levels within their properties in the editor via accessing them directly when the units are on the terrain
    • Silence cannot be cast directly on a friendly unit which kills casting the spell since it's an AoE one during combat when units move around
    • the Tranquility FX needs some work
    • Trueshot Aura should not appear on melee units for instance
    • Searing Arrow looks weird; Starfall doesn't have any falling stars
    • Healing Wave also looks weird especially because it looks as if an attached rope on the Shadow Hunter when he moves during the animation
    • the Phoenix Egg has some weird pathing square over/on/under it
    • Earthquake has no FX and terrain modification
    • Reanimated units need to look much more different; illusions are OK looking
    • the Alchemist has no Chemical Rage change FX; the model remains the same; also it stops the Alchemist's order when cast; Acid Bomb does not bounce but just explodes and hits surrounding targets as well
    • Tinker doesn't have Demolish in tank form
    • Earth doesn't have Taunt
    • the Eagle's lightning creates an explosion when hitting the target :D
    • Holy Light's FX seems tad different without an actual ray coming from above
    • the Blademaster can use Bladestorm during Wind Walk
    • Shockwave doesn't bend time space continuum
    Many of those could be custom triggered but since we have so much right now, completion would not hurt.
    But do not take this as negative criticism. What you have achieved until now is totally splendid.

    StarCraft (+Brood War) maps are either totally black or without any cliffs when converted.

    As for the Warcraft III maps, currently only melee ones can be converted and as mentioned only .w3x and at a max size of 128x128.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2020
  7. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    I've experienced AI scripting in this editor years ago and it's just a piece of cake to deal with.
    Many functions to make AI build this and that. Plus, I didn't even bother with memory leaks. (As far as I know, the game takes care of it)

    However, its object editor is hard to deal with and takes time for me to understand it at least from those times.
    But yeah, if this update makes the editor friendly now then It'll surely be appreciated. (A migration might begin soon if Reforged thrives slower)
     
  8. Himperion

    Himperion

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    665
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    22
    Resources:
    22
    Is like the Knight who married the princess only to find she was the Witch all along "Refounded", while the Inn girl, decided to step up her game (SC2)
     
  9. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,435
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Maybe. I've no idea how to add buildings and troops like in World Editor's AI Editor.
     
  10. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    There is no x86 version... Or is there?! That would be a huge bug.
     
  11. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,435
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    There are two executables, one named StarCraft II Editor.exe and the other StarCraft II Editor_x64.exe.
     
  12. Jouven

    Jouven

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Did they increase cliff levels in sc2 since release?, because IIRC the diference between sc2 and war3 is big in that regard. I remember long ago, some time after the wings of liberty release, toying with the galaxy editor and had issues with that and map size, war3 largest size map, and that was prior the new 1.29+ patches which allow even bigger maps, was not available-portable to sc2
    Someone remind us of the sc2 cliff level limit vs war3, same with map size please

    Remember something important about sc2, all is fine in single-player or in "short range", but this game has peer-to-peer multiplayer (same as war3 now) and that means that it will never take off "big" in multiplayer, never forget the dreaded 0 ping host vs everyone else
     
  13. MrRious

    MrRious

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The sad truth is Starcraft 2 will never be a Warcraft 3 remastered. Those new additions are really nice, however they can only mimic our beloved game.

    On the plus side, they can and will drasticaly improve the SC2 rougelike maps community. Having those great Warcraft RPG mechanics like leveling up or having equipment as an addition to all the things you can currently make in Starcraft as well as the new ones like multiplayer map transitions... Man, is the future bright.
     
  14. Shar Dundred

    Shar Dundred

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,445
    Resources:
    12
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    10
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    12
    15 cliff levels now afaik.
     
  15. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,435
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    It's not sad. If anything, they can be perfected, to be better than the original. Playing with the SCII pathing is much more relieving.
     
  16. Jouven

    Jouven

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Didn't read this patch notes, well I guess now that part it's compatible with the war3 maps
     
  17. MrRious

    MrRious

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Personally, I have a soft spot for it and think it's a big part of the game's soul. I always thought the pathfinding added a nice strategic element into the game (but only if the terrain is executed well)
     
  18. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,435
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    If the fuse the games, they could leave the Classic stuff for competitive play and whatnot.
     
  19. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    Not to mention the unit selection system, I believe pathing in Warcraft III is one of the reasons why it's limited to 12 unit selection size.
     
  20. MrRious

    MrRious

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm afraid, fusing the games to that point (or even fusing them at all) is wishful thinking. Making yet another remaster on this engine would be more probable, but since Reforged only just came out, I can't really see it happening.

    Besides that, the game is called Starcraft 2.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2020