Blizzard releases WarCraft 3 assets for StarCraft 2 modding

Rui

Rui

Level 39
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
7,471
The greatest issue is the timing. They could have had this idea before people lost faith in SC2. I know I called attention to the lack of artistic resources before SC2 even went Beta. I'm glad they ported, it helps, even if the models will sometimes look out of place.
 

Tya

Tya

Level 2
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
23
Agility capped attack speed!

So many nerdchills about this whole wc3 asset stuff. I loved wc3 so damn much.
 
Level 14
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
1,004
LAN option, playing maps vanilla BNet style (create your own game from a local mapfile of your choice), not having to log into your BNet account to use the editor, just to name some.

These are just a few of the reasons I'm so hesitant to try out SC2's editor and why I've stuck with WC3's editor for all these years.

But adding these resources is definitely a start.
 

Tya

Tya

Level 2
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
23


Oh wow I missed the WarCraft UI... feels good.

It's been a while though, and it's my first UI. Feedback appreciated!
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 57
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
26,434
I've been thinking: perhaps the models used for the Ultimate Terraining Map would fit well in SC2?
They will fit with most of the WC3 assets very well. They will not fit with the SC2 assets well. This is because they lack specular and normal maps so will appear noticeably out of place.

On the other hand most assets from Diablo III should be portable to SC2 as I would imagine that they have normal maps.
 

Tya

Tya

Level 2
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
23
This actually would be a fantastic idea, converting the HQ models from SC2 to WC3. I remember Blizzard saying something about converting certain models being illegal though, or was that just for World of Warcraft?

I'm sure that you're free to port them from sc2 to wc3 without reprisal. WoW and D3 models are certainly free to use. Blizzard has hinted that they wouldn't be too happy for sc2 maps to use Heroes of the Storm models, but a few are doing it anyway and haven't been banhammered.

TL;DR it'll be fine for sure.

It's worth noting that the models are a bit rough when it comes to attachment points though. You can get around this in sc2 but wc3 is a lot more rigid when it comes to such things. Auras and some overhead buffs may not display in the right place or display at all, but if that's not a problem then the models will be fine!

Also I'm a little sketchy on how imports worked in wc3, but you can literally just export the .m3 and texture files in a second from the sc2 editor.
 
Level 14
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
1,004
I'm sure that you're free to port them from sc2 to wc3 without reprisal. WoW and D3 models are certainly free to use. Blizzard has hinted that they wouldn't be too happy for sc2 maps to use Heroes of the Storm models, but a few are doing it anyway and haven't been banhammered.

TL;DR it'll be fine for sure.

It's worth noting that the models are a bit rough when it comes to attachment points though. You can get around this in sc2 but wc3 is a lot more rigid when it comes to such things. Auras and some overhead buffs may not display in the right place or display at all, but if that's not a problem then the models will be fine!

I'm surprised, I remember from a while ago that someone got in a bit of trouble for using a converted model of a dragon from World of Warcraft but it might have been from another game I'm not too sure.
 

Tya

Tya

Level 2
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
23
I'm surprised, I remember from a while ago that someone got in a bit of trouble for using a converted model of a dragon from World of Warcraft but it might have been from another game I'm not too sure.

I don't think that's the case. At least not anymore. I mean, like half of the top sc2 maps use WoW models. One even won a Blizzard contest!
 

Tya

Tya

Level 2
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
23
You don't get sued. You get your cd key deactivated so you have to buy a new copy of sc2/wc3/whatever.
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 57
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
26,434
This actually would be a fantastic idea, converting the HQ models from SC2 to WC3. I remember Blizzard saying something about converting certain models being illegal though, or was that just for World of Warcraft?
Blizzard does not mind. You can use any of their models in any of their other games as they own it and are not going to sue themselves. They have on multiple occasions for both WC3 and SC2 highlighted Arcade games using resources from other of their games with grate praise. This is why the "no WoW port" rule was removed under my recommendation.
 
Top