1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Group up and create a Warcraft hero based on a member of the Hive and win up to 100 rep and a rank icon. Enter the team contest now!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Music Contest #8 Results are out! Congratulate the creators of Hive's coolest soundtracks!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The results for Mini-Mapping Contest #14 is up! Congratulate the winners here!
    Dismiss Notice

Warcraft III - Patch 1.28.5

Discussion in 'Patch Discussion' started by TriggerHappy, Jul 7, 2017.

  1. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,204
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    [​IMG]
    Warcraft 3 Patch 1.28.5 is LIVE
    Link to Patch 1.28.5 battle.net post

    Additionally (not in the patch notes), the
    Preloader
    JASS native is working again.

    Patching seems to be much faster as well, indicating that the launcher no longer re-downloads the entire game.
     
  2. StoPCampinGn00b

    StoPCampinGn00b

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,375
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Thanks for posting TriggerHappy.
     
  3. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,628
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    It only re-downloads files that have changed. If they only change the executables it will only re-download the executables. Only if they change the main data mpq archives should the be downloaded and they are the only really large files.
     
  4. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,373
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Woot, getting better.
     
  5. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,227
    Resources:
    13
    Spells:
    8
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    13
    [​IMG]
    They are fixing things they broke in their previous updates.
    Pretty sure TFT and ROC was made switchable in a recent patch though I may be wrong.
     
  6. Kaijyuu

    Kaijyuu

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    650
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    To be fair, they didn't specify which previous state it had gotten better from; from .4 it's certainly better :p At least until people find more bugs.
     
  7. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,692
    Resources:
    11
    Models:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    11
    Local File support bug that turns buff icons black is still not resolved. It makes the preload fix pretty much pointless. You still can't use local files without breaking buff icons.
     
  8. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,373
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Bingo bango bingo.
     
  9. Alethos

    Alethos

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I'm told whispering (/w) and friends-list issues still remain after the patch.
     
  10. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,628
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    I think people have attributed that to an overly aggressive spam filter? It is trigger happy to temporarily mute you.
     
  11. K.D.G

    K.D.G

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks for posting TriggerHappy :D
     
  12. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,373
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Lol, in a weird turn of events (realizing I actually have been keeping two separate installs of Wc3 for years now), I realized I can patch safely without losing my modding capabilities (v1.26). So I did.

    And whaddayaknow, worked perfectly with barely a problem. I am proud to be an American. (Didn't actually play a game offline/on Battle.net, so no clue if that works or faster or whispering or what-have-you; but the switcher works, the game looks fine, Battle.net starts up & remembers my username...

    Verah Noice, Blizzard.
     
  13. Spellbound

    Spellbound

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,600
    Resources:
    6
    Skins:
    3
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    6
    @Kyrbi0 you did it, Harry. You're a real boy now \o/
     
  14. Legal_Ease

    Legal_Ease

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,464
    Resources:
    27
    Icons:
    11
    Packs:
    1
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    9
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    27
    There is also an issue with host bots and stealth bots. Some builds are no longer able to stay active. Does anyone know if there was a recent unit rebalance? Maybe not this last patch but recently there were like 4 and I did not read all the notes.
     
  15. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,227
    Resources:
    13
    Spells:
    8
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    13
    Content?
    Blizzard:
    [​IMG]
     
  16. JimmyJoJameson

    JimmyJoJameson

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Fixed my perpetual patch re-downloading bug at least.
     
  17. SubSub

    SubSub

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    As with earlier bnet patches, this one disables some special effects created through the "create special effect at point"-trigger. Seems like they fixed it with a stealth patch the last time. Feel free to do so again, blizzard! :)
     
  18. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,628
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    This is commonly attributed to a graphic driver bug. Try restarting your computer.

    Note that for Windows 8 and 10 this means actually restarting it. Shutting it down and powering it on does not work because the same bugged driver state is restored.
     
  19. OnyxTheDark

    OnyxTheDark

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    GG, can't connect on Bnet anymore
    So what do we do ?
    Is there a way to fix it or ?
    Do we have to wait ?
     
  20. StoPCampinGn00b

    StoPCampinGn00b

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,375
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The patch came out a few days ago, but it'd good for people to know about it on the front page if they weren't aware. Promoted to portal.

    The recent followup patches seemed to have fixed most of these things. But if you're still having issues, the standard fix for 90% of these type of issues is:

    Run the "Warcraft III Launcher" file as Administrator.

    If that doesn't work:
    1. Make sure you have the Blizzard Launcher App.
    2. Reinstall the game via Blizzard's Battle.net web desktop app.
    You can do by claiming your keys on the desktop app. Your keys post 1.28 should be under a w3k file. Once you claim your keys, you can reinstall the game from the desktop app anywhere and things should be fixed.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2017