1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Campaign] Warcraft 2: The remake

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by LordPerenoldeII, Apr 9, 2017.

  1. PrismCat

    PrismCat

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    We believe in you LordPerenoldell!!
    Eagerly awaiting whatever you want to give us.
     
  2. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Ok i have a little update:
    1.29 fu@%ed the whole thing. It seems that some hashtable functions(regarding the oil system) are being corrupted by the update(not working, even though there are all of world's math reasons they should). Worst yet....
    ....1:30 delivered another heavy blow: While i was so excited to use new player colours(which better appeal to wc2 factions), thanks to the f$%@£d up CASC system the custom tilesets for the Khaz Modan maps(and loading screens) are gone too! And there seems to be no way of making them work! Soooooooooooo what i'm currently doing now is RE-INSTALLING an older version(1.28) of TFT while restoring v1.30 saved maps in order to allow 1.28 editor to open them normally, and then retake the project from there.
    Thank you Blizzard. You guys really love me, i can tell. >_<
     
  3. Mechanical Man

    Mechanical Man

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,385
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    39
    for any project started in 1.28 or below I would suggest that you make a separated copy of the older warcraft and continue to work from there, only after finishing make updates for newer version
     
  4. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,933
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Yeah... I'm sorry things got messed up, but surely you've been paying attention to some of the conversations surrounding the latest 2.5 Patches, right? One of the biggest things was moving from MPQ to CASC (which means custom MPQs like you & I were using to store all our custom stuff no longer works correctly, as well as some 3rd-party editing tools like Magos that are dependent on MPQs). Now there are alternatives (using a folder *named* "mpq"? or something...), and I have good reason to believe they are working in some great built-in alternatives in future patches. And as long as you have an earlier version saved somewhere on your hard drive, you can use those MPQs for Magos & such.

    But don't take it personally. That's just silly; they're not trying to shoot you particularly in the foot. :<
     
  5. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    So, so so so, according to spreading news, complaints and disagreements on the Battlenet forum, the next patch is going somehow to "kill" the modding community. I'm not worried about bots myself, this is a single player stand-alone project anyway, but there is more:
    A few days ago i received word on my youtube channel from a player who claims the wc1 project doesn't seem to open stage 4 or something like it. I heard this as well on Helldoom's Warcraft 2 campaign long before that, and it's another brick adding to the burden. Despite i remove everything related to the newest version in order to open the wc2 project with the 1.28 WE, it still crashes. Also, as i denoted in another thread, custom loading screens are buggy and keep going back to 0kb after i successfully save them in the map import manager; then, the custom terrains(another sparkling touch of innovation that i wanted for the project) won't show up in the map either. Last but not least, version 1.29 or higher seems to cause some sort of malfunction bug in the oil system, which was flawlessly working in the 1.28.
    All of this stuff altogether brings me down and seriously cripples my most optimistic expectations. I do not wish to disappoint any of the people believing in this to happen, and most of all i do not wish to disappoint my team mates who terrained all 48 wc2 maps for me. If the project will eventually take a turn i'd need the assistance of a jass expert to AT LEAST fix or translate into jass the gui system used for the OIL. Then, i pray the doctor is going to fix the problem about the not-working imported stuff.
    As always, i'll be in touch.
     
  6. Mechanical Man

    Mechanical Man

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,385
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    39
    in the worst case, you can still make a statement that the mod will work only in older version, may the users like it or not. After all it's a single player so players can make an additional copy of the game.
     
  7. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    If this can't be fixed then i'm stuck to work with the latest version, which atm sux.
     
  8. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,933
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Do you no longer have access to earlier versions? Can you prove the version you have is legitimate?
     
  9. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    i'm not sure i understood what you wanna ask?
     
  10. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,933
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I... Don't know how to say what I said more simply. :< Do you have any way to access earlier version? And, separately, can you prove your copy is legitimate?
     
  11. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Earlier versions of the campaign before 1.29 nope i don't have. If this is what you ask. And what you mean "my copy is legitimate?" My copy of the game? It is. Original.
     
  12. Anaxie

    Anaxie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Classic team needs to seriously fuckoff they should of just worked on a standalone remaster instead of breaking vast amounts of community assets that worked fine the last 15 years.

    But this being the Blizzard of 2018 which is nothing like Blizzard of the 90s and early 2000s. I have no faith really in this company these days doing anything to their customers benefit.
     
  13. Koward

    Koward

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I disagree I do not think they are ill-intentioned. They may have broken things, but they never wanted anything else than improving the game for people. It's just that on many points, they failed.

    Back to the WC2 remake, is the oil system the only think really broken with the last version ? Can you not work on other things before coming back later to overhaul it ?
     
  14. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    So, what's new after the "cataclysm": I've managed to restore all maps from 1.29+ to 1.28f and everything is now working like it used to, before everything went to hell. The oil system still doesn't work for the new maps despite the triggers are exactly the same for the working and non-working maps. It must be because i laid down those maps using 1.29 version. I have a plan for this. Will try to work it out tomorrow and see if it works. If it does, as i think it does, i may be able to finally move on after ages. Damn patches! Let me say it! Damn patches!
     
  15. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    So, Warcraft 3 Remastered has been announced. My question, as of now, is: What will it be of this project? Is it still worthy working on it? I feel, again, somehow depressed.
     
  16. Sieben

    Sieben

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    645
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You should probably keep on working on it, since we will be able to switch from new to old graphics, which mean you will still be able to use old custom models. Let's just hope there won't be too many bugs and incompatibility between your current work and the future game.
     
  17. JCarrill0

    JCarrill0

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    958
    Resources:
    4
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    4
    From someone who has watched and played your old campaigns from many many years ago, I’m waiting to see an update.

    I have been here since 2004, you did great work back in the day. I know you can do this if your wanting to see it complete. I for one, would love to see it happen!
     
  18. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Stay tuned. Tomorrow there might be an important one.
     
  19. deathanator

    deathanator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i created an account just now in hopes i can be some inspiration to keep on trudging! Since i was born a YEAR after the originals were made, i never really got to experience them and have recently been searching the internet for the original that i could get to run on a windows 10 through some kind of emulator or some shit, but im pretty sure giving up is a viable option and if you create this i would fangirl so hard and be your biggest fan bro. Please. i see your updating it frequently, and it gives me hope, the only other way i may be able to play this is to buy a rock and use my dads old cd in it lol ive played games made by you guys before, cant quite remember what exactly but ive played SOMETHING on warcraft 3 with yalls name on it, so i know yall have a good rep.
    Again, not demanding whatsoever, but you would be my hero.
     
  20. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Thank you @deathanator
    I forgot this thread was already in map development forums. I wanted to open a new one for what i have in plan here but i guess i'll have to make it due.


    DEMO CAMPAIGN BETA
    https://www.hiveworkshop.com/attachments/wc2_tod_humans-w3n.309423/
    LINK AVAILABLE FOR A WEEK ONLY

    PLEASE READ BELOW

    With the impending onslaught of Warcraft 3 Reforged i feel i have to put more effort into pushing this forward, but troubles are still up. Let me start this over:
    This is a beta demo Human Campaign of 6 maps. What? Just six maps in 1 year and a half? Yes, apart from importing everything, finding the material, recalculating and testing all the stats, being able to find the mood, but mostly the continuity, is a problem for me but as soon as i find it i can complete a map full with cinematics, triggers, scripts and all that in a mere 2 days. The problem is that everytime i find the continuity, the same problem comes up, and it's the reason why i NEVER wanted to even touch the idea of remaking this game, believe it or not: it's the OIL system.
    The OIL system works flawlessly for the first maps(ice tileset) but doesn't work for the Khaz Modan ones nor for the new maps i create, even if i did bring the whole project back to 1.28f and successfully restored custom loading screens, tilesets etc. in the process.
    The system is taken from this thread [GUI] Custom Resource Harvest System 1.05 I've long time texted its creator, but he just popped in(active in forum) without answering.
    You will find the oil system triggers at the bottom of the trigger tree in each of the maps where it is implemented(the ones where you have naval units and stuff). In mission 5/7 you won't be able to produce ships until the trouble is sorted, and that means you. Yes, i came to this point, where i have to ask for anyone who might be able to solve this riddle, or find a valid replacement for it.
    The main problem is when an oil-requiring unit/building is clicked for training, and the system doesn't recognize the current amount of oil owned by the player with the corresponding oil amount required for the training/building. It is basically located in the very last trigger rows at the bottom. Once again: It works for the first maps, it doesn't for the others, and everything has been copied and pasted as it was in the previous map.
    Going back to the campaign:
    At the moment i'm writing this up from my office at work, so i obviously don't have access to my computer and can't take any screenshots for you or upload the campaign yet(even because there are still a few things i need to add interface-wise)
    AI has been improved in some maps. There are custom models you haven't seen in any wc2 remake attempt published so far, and this, together with original musics, the wc2-themed custom interface, the wc2-themed tileset you'll find in Khaz Modan maps(and later in Northlands maps) and the innovative briefing cinematics altogether will make this an extremely accurate remake(allow me to say it) of which i'm already being proud of, and really enjoyable to play. Let me say just this: i was testing map 5 in khaz modan and instead of the standard map cheat code i typed "on screen" without even realizing it, even asking myself:"why is this not working??" xDD
    I haven't tested objectives of several of these maps(they should work just fine), and AI base management may not be fully optimized, but hey, this is a beta, right? And the purpose of the whole thing is aimed to the OIL system concept, so please, please, please, i beg for your help. I've remade wc1 as a player for the players, and this is what i'm still doing. I'm doing this for you, and FOR FREE(although some voluntary donation would be extremely appreciated, and i'll set up something for the purpose in the future)! I still believe in this, i CRAVE for this, but now more than ever i need you to help me with this.
    Thank you all and sorry for the WoT. The link should come up in the evening top.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2018