1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The raddest synthwave tracks were chosen - Check out our Music Contest #12 - Results and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

1.24 Released!

Discussion in 'Latest Updates and News' started by PurplePoot, Aug 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ILIDANus23

    ILIDANus23

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    when i instaled and tried to go on bnet it said there was an error apliing the upgrade!

    WHAT TO DO???

    and PS: can i update patch without getting in wc3?
     
  2. Deaod

    Deaod

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    805
    Resources:
    12
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    11
    Resources:
    12
    @Masterofpuppets: No, it certainly doesnt have to be that way. Thats a false positive. A bug. Why? The returned types are fine.

    And why dont you test those two snippets in your Vanilla WE?
     
  3. Miss_Foxy

    Miss_Foxy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,821
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hmm... The new patch really did a lot of harm, but could someone post an overview on what bad things it did?
     
  4. Masterofpuppets

    Masterofpuppets

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Deaod: Oh, youre right.
    Forget the last function.

    I testet it and it does not work.
     
  5. P-Exodus

    P-Exodus

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    IceFrog seems to have more information about the current situation, than any other map maker. He made a post in the DotA forums about this.
    See there: http://www.playdota.com/forums/14932/1-24-questions-answered/#post196178

    So the reason, why DotA 6.59d is still working on Battle.net, although it also uses the return bug, is that Blizzard made a special exception for this map. It's working in a kind of compatibility mode. Blizzard is even trying to get the current version of DotA to work in this compatibility mode.

    It also seems, that there will be bugfix patches. So I guess there is no sense in trying to fix the current fatals some people get with their maps, since it will change again ...

    Gee, how I love this. A lot of maps aren't working anymore and the mappers have to wait for Blizzard to fix their stuff and only DotA gets it's extra share and is still playable. Really great. How long do I have to wait, until my map is playable again? ...
     
  6. Vosty

    Vosty

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    793
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    DotA get cool treatment?
    That is awesome, but selfish. I hope DotA gets broken so bad, b.net stops playing it.
    Just kidden, but I'm not a DotA fan, just a player when requested.
     
  7. Jack_Sparrow93

    Jack_Sparrow93

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Resources:
    6
    Icons:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    Can u explain better for stuiped persons like me? ^^ Where du I uncheck "Enable Reinventing the Craft", where is the "Reinventing the Craft menu"?

    Edit: It seams that I even can't join battle.net. When I have logged in, the game crash...

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Slaydon

    Slaydon

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    go to the main window, there is a File, View and so on
     
  9. DoOs_101

    DoOs_101

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    Hurray!

    I fixed everything, the fatals ppl were talking about are probably because of typecasting, return bug errors, or complex stuff. The fact is 5d works fine if you do as what the thread said. The problem will be your code, you have to check thoroughly, especially spells that you downloaded from here or wc3c, most of them are totally bugged if their using return bugs or typecasting methods.

    Anyways cao!!!

    Am I the first to fix my map for 1.24? Oooh yeah! Highlights!
    *Flashes* *Flashes* *Flashes* :cool:
     
  10. Element of Water

    Element of Water

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,298
    Resources:
    5
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    The "Reinventing the Craft" menu is on the menu bar (with File, Edit, View, etc) at the far right.
     
  11. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,545
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    P-Exodus, its called you need to get into gear and fix your map. They will not keep the return bug working and so keeping using it will be a dead end.
     
  12. Jack_Sparrow93

    Jack_Sparrow93

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Resources:
    6
    Icons:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    Ops... Thought I had the latest version, but I hadn't (A) Thx guys!
     
  13. DoOs_101

    DoOs_101

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    A note,

    If you're having trouble with fixing the map, a reminder that most external systems do not compile correctly. What I did to check was I made a blank map, copy/pasted some systems, delete each one of them one by one to see which ones does not compile correctly (even though jasshelper reads no errors).

    Unsafe:
    Caster System
    Timer Utils
    Abuff

    Safe:
    XE
     
  14. Jack_Sparrow93

    Jack_Sparrow93

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Resources:
    6
    Icons:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    So its that wich does so I can't test my map!

    And like I said before, I cant even start wc3 sometimes. This patch is totally unnecessary, its ruin more that its doing good...
     
  15. Thanathos

    Thanathos

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Resources:
    5
    Spells:
    5
    Resources:
    5
    Timer Utils are still safe if you use those for v1.23 (or 1.24) and later
     
  16. DoOs_101

    DoOs_101

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    If that is your prob then you shoud reinstall wc3.
     
  17. Jack_Sparrow93

    Jack_Sparrow93

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Resources:
    6
    Icons:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    Ok... Hope it works...
     
  18. Miss_Foxy

    Miss_Foxy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,821
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think I know why they're treating DotA so well, it's because DotA is the main reason people are even playing in Warcraft III, form what I can see, it's the truth, even if you hate it, and so do I...
     
  19. P-Exodus

    P-Exodus

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    I already did. I downloaded the patch from the beta server, replaced my three calls of H2I with GetHandleId, tested it and it was working. Now that the public patch is out, this is not working anymore. I get lots of crashes, which are in no way related to the usage of the return bug (which I don't use anymore).

    So I figure, that Blizzard screwed up and they have to fix it.
     
  20. Jack_Sparrow93

    Jack_Sparrow93

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Resources:
    6
    Icons:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    I cant still test my map, I did everything that I was told in the first post.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.