Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Warcraft III - Patch 1.28

Discussion in 'Patch & Reforged Discussion' started by StoPCampinGn00b, Apr 4, 2017.

  1. EdwardElric

    EdwardElric

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    post #1:
    "Patch notes:
    ...
    Bug Fixes
    ...
    Fixed command cards to be hidden again with special coordinates (0, -11) and (-2147483648, -2147483648) within CommandFunc.txt; invalid coordinates will now be ignored"

    from post #7, #14, #15, #16, #18, #20, #24, #34, #46, #145:
    so, i'm asking this, because i need a way to hide the build button similiar to the thread "Repair Structures without Building/Repair?" where "Pharaoh_" says that it is not possible directly:
    Repair Structures without Building/Repair?
    indeed there is a way to hide icons when using (0,-11), but does the named fix got rid of the crashes on Mac? refering to the thread "Hiding any button!!! New method, please help me test it!!!" there were/are(?) serious problems with this technique:
    Hiding any button!!! New method, please help me test it!!!
    if someone can confirm that crashes on Mac through the usage of (0,-11) on buttons got fixed, i will use it.
     
  2. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Yes they get rid of the crashes as it now uses magic numbers instead of relying on memory structure to work. Instead of it just happening to work, the game is probably testing if it is such a value and if so hiding it in a safe, no crash way.
     
  3. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,419
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Wait, so hold on, what was once an exploit is now a legitimate part of the code? We can assign any ability to (0, -11) & it will be hidden from player view & interaction, no Spellbook needed??
     
  4. EdwardElric

    EdwardElric

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Perfect! Thanks for the insightful answer!

    Well, the button hiding functionality behind the exploit stayed, but the crash which happened on Macs seems to have been fixed finally! You can hide buttons easily with that trick, but keep in mind, this isn't working dynamically via triggers, you have to set it in the Object Editor constantly. Also Hotkeys won't work. If you used a spellbook only for hiding abilities, yes, I guess it can be replaced by just setting the desired ability's button position to (0, -11).
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2017
  5. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Yes. After they removed it people complained it broke so many maps that they added it back as a legitimate, but poorly documented, feature.
     
  6. Kaijyuu

    Kaijyuu

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Kinda wish they'd of hidden any buttons with invalid numbers, instead of a specific magic number doing it.
     
  7. ravellani

    ravellani

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    so when is i coming out?
     
  8. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Last month...
     
  9. Map Designer

    Map Designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,176
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    why is there no balance changelog lol

    I am wondering about something as well. Did blizzard say they want to be in touch with the community? how are they in touch? are they in touch with hive or by other means?
     
  10. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Because there are no balance changes. Those are coming out in a future patch.
     
  11. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,689
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    brad_c6 - information

    @map designer : where have you been lately?
    :wink:
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2017
  12. nicolas97p

    nicolas97p

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    This update gave me as a map developer cancer. NewGen doesn't work for me anymore ("can't locate warcraft 3") and I can't even import stuff to the map ("Import failed: cannot copy file to C:\Users\Dario\Documents\Warcraft 3"). All in all pure bullshit. Anyone that knows how to fix these things?
     
  13. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    JNGP is end of life. Please switch to using Sharpcraft which has been created to replace it.

    The import issue is a known problem that will be fixed next patch. Until then use Sharpcraft which has had a hacky patch applied to it to fix the issue.
     
  14. chusrubi2

    chusrubi2

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So they released a patch and then left all the communication with users? Even when A LOT of them are having troubles?
     
  15. Kaijyuu

    Kaijyuu

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Just got 28.5 off bnet. Patch notes anywhere?
     
  16. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
  17. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,419
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    What does that mean again?
     
  18. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    If you are referring to...
    Then it means that codeless save/load systems should be working again. These systems at least include ones which write out a save code to a file rather than the player having to write it down from their screen. It may include ones which can automatically load codes from a file.
     
  19. immortal_jerk

    immortal_jerk

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What's up with the data migration? Is it possible to just move the new warcraft3 files back to the old folder where the files were before the 1.28 patch?
     
  20. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Required to fix non compliant application behaviour for earlier versions of WC3. Program Files must be read only for security reasons. WC3 was writing to Program Files which is non compliant application behaviour. This has been fixed by migrating the files to user folders.
    No it is not possible. The game no longer expects them there.