1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest. The contest is optionally paired. Best of luck, people!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Warcraft 3 patch wish list

Discussion in 'Patch & Reforged Discussion' started by Ezekiel12, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I'd love a black&white filter for cinematic scenes and not only so you'd not have to bleach all textures and import them (also referring to terrain+cliffs).
     
  2. Napoqe

    Napoqe

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    240
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I know the skills are more complex. But if make a system in the Trigger Editor to add effect directly to the skill, I think it is benefit to programmers and GUI users. Because it would save texts and actions, besides I think it's easier to do, and really the source that I use skill made all that effect.
     
  3. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Any plans to add vertex colouring to destructibles and doodads too? (I'm in need of transparency for them right now). Thing is, in the editor, units always face the ground or sky in accord with the terrain beneath them. I can't seem to get them to just stay put, vertically, perpendicular on cliffs near the edge. Facing of units is origin and terrain dependent. It's a bit of a nuisance to test the map every time to see how the destructible/doodad metamophosed unit is placed in reality ingame.
     
  4. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Would love to be able to add and remove the Locust ability through triggers (Actions->Unit-Add/Remove Ability).
     
  5. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Wait we can't do that??
     
  6. Spellbound

    Spellbound

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,970
    Resources:
    17
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Skins:
    5
    Spells:
    9
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    Adding and removing locust 'Aloc' requires a bit more tinkering, but we can actually do this. It would just be nice to have a straightforward way of doing so, but not limited to:
    Code (vJASS):

    native BlzMakeUnitSelectable                takes unit whichUnit, boolean flag returns nothing    // unlike locust this should not automatically make the unit invulnerable.
    native BlzShowUnitHealthBar                    takes unit whichUnit, boolean flag returns nothing
    native BlzShowUnitManaBar                    takes unit whichUnit, boolean flag returns nothing
    native BlzShowUnitSelectionCircle            takes unit whichUnit, boolean flag returns nothing    // disabled the unit's selection circle but it's still selectable.
     
  7. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    LocustUnitEditor.png LocustDisableNo.png LocustRemoveNo.png LocustAddNo.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2018
  8. Spellbound

    Spellbound

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,970
    Resources:
    17
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Skins:
    5
    Spells:
    9
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    Oh, you mean in GUI. It still won't work, though. To remove locust there's a song and dance about hiding/unhiding the unit becausing hiding a unit breaks locust. Better to have a native to directly enable/disable selection.
     
  9. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I don't just need selection and health/mana bars hidden but also for the unit to be able to pass through other units and other units through it, that's what Locust is.
    The sloppy workaround for the ghost walking would be to create a dummy flying unit and replace it afterward with the normal ground one.
     
  10. Spellbound

    Spellbound

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,970
    Resources:
    17
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Skins:
    5
    Spells:
    9
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    Having the ability to toggle collision layers would also be really neat to have:
    Code (vJASS):
    call SetUnitCollisionState(u, COLLISION_TREE, false)            // allows units to walk through trees.
    call SetUnitCollisionState(u, COLLISION_DESTRUCTIBLE, false)    // allows units to walk through any destructible, not just trees.
    call SetUnitCollisionState(u, COLLISION_UNIT, false)            // allows units to walk through other units depending on their movement type.
    call SetUnitCollisionState(u, COLLISION_BUILDING, false)        // allows units to walk through buildings.
    call SetUnitCollisionState(u, COLLISION_ITEM, false)            // allows units to walk through items.


    I think there are hints that the game should be able to do this, but I'm not sure. Peons and Peasants will cluster when chopping down trees, the Blademaster cannot walk through items during Wind Walk (but can walk through units), etc.
     
  11. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    @deepstrasz Wait, what about the "Ghost" ability (IIRC the Shades have it, but there's another version too)? Doesn't that impart collision-less-ness?
     
  12. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    It looks like that ability doesn't even turn collision off, not to mention making the unit be passed through by others.
     
  13. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Well, that's strange. If the Shade can pass through stuff like you're hoping to emulate, something about the Shade must allow it. And it has "Ghost". (It also has Pathing set to 16, strangely)...
     
  14. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Shades can't pass through things and neither things through them. They are only invisible.
     
  15. Spellbound

    Spellbound

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,970
    Resources:
    17
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Skins:
    5
    Spells:
    9
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    Idk about the Ghost, but units can pass through other units that have Ghost (Visible). All these workarounds should be feasible with triggers, though. It's fine to have these in the object editor but making this exclusive to the OE is not a very good idea.
     
  16. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You are right. Thanks! That might come in handy in temporary situations as the one I'm working on.
    Units with Ghost can pass through units with Ghost.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2018
  17. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  18. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  19. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,216
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The order for frenzy is missing in the GUI Action Trigger: A Unit is Issued an Order with No Target.



    EDIT: what about type of matching item for pick every item without it being a random item? For units it's simple because you can use the condition type of matching unit.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2018
  20. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Yes, but you linked it twice?

    Also, on-topic: why is it that the Upgrades selection menu (in the Object Editor; not the tab, but when you try to modify a field with an upgrade) doesn't have a selector for "custom" vs. "standard"? Every other selection menu (abilities, units, etc) does, and it helps segregate the two; as it stands, it can be hard to tell (just looking at icons) which kind you are going for.