1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Vote for the best entries in the 13th Music Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Warcraft 3 patch wish list

Discussion in 'Patch & Reforged Discussion' started by Ezekiel12, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,495
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    The prices for RoC anf TFT may drop as low as 9.99 each, at Blizzard's shop.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2018
  2. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12,675
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    A reminder. We would definitely love and we need custom soundsets thus also being able to choose an imported .wav for the sound of building construction and selection.
     
  3. EredarArbeiterYU

    EredarArbeiterYU

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I would certainly love the ability, option to disable those keyboard shortcuts such as Alt+Q to quit the game or Esc or Alt+a to leave lobbies. We all have had times when we would accidentally press those and then leave game we REALLY wanted to stay in! :p
    The only shortcuts I want are the Function# keys.
     
  4. Wrda

    Wrda

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,231
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    That is just pointless. You can just avoid it yourself by being more careful. o_O

    Would be great to be able to control abilities damage, damage over time, interval, duration etc. by triggers in some way.
     
  5. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12,675
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Please let us run at least two instances of the executable for testing purposes. Also, this would be very helpful for the World Editor to copy triggers from one map to another when making campaigns instead of having to import all from the previous map.

    EDIT:
    Could we please get two options: one for the current view and another for the previous stretched view?



    EDIT2:
    Guys, is there a way to rotate the camera in the editor like you're doing it in the game? That would really help not waste time using cameras. I need this to polish doodad positioning in places.

    Thanks @Kaijyuu! Had no idea...
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2018
  6. Kaijyuu

    Kaijyuu

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hold down control and right click drag.
     
  7. MyPad

    MyPad

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,338
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    2
    Spells:
    3
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    7
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2018
  8. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    It was introduced in the newest patch and Blizzard should be fixing it.
     
  9. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12,675
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Wait for multiple conditions pretty please :D
     
  10. Death Adder

    Death Adder

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    892
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    1) Not sure if this has been mentioned, but gates & bridges that can be walked over and under simultaneously (and of course work properly with the pathfinding) would be neat.

    And kinda related to that would be to be able to add/remove class/tags (flying/walking, but also stuff like tauren, undead, suicidal, ancient etc) as well as being able to change eligible targets of auto attacks. (Besides that, there should probably be more tags/classes added as well.)


    For instance, you might want to be able to make a jumping or knocked up unit only be targetable by attacks and spells that can target flying. You could for example jump over spells and such without some kind of extensive missile & hit detection system.


    You can already make somewhat functional gates & bridges, but it's real stupid when you have melee units on top of the bridge attacking units under them (and vice versa) and of course the unit pathing doesn't realise it can't just walk from under the bridge up to where it leads.


    2) I'm not entirely sure, but I think that perhaps an event response for morph/unmorph might be useful?


    3) it would be nice if a lot of the hard coded abilities could be changed so you could modify them in the object editor, e.g. locust swarm playing alternate animations for models that have those (e.g. if you give locust swarm to illidan he'll use the metamorphosis animations), all custom carrion swam & engineering upgrade being affected by fields from the originals' art/buff (probably other abilities as well), Barrage (the ability used for multishot abilities) don't have an option for only 2 targets—the minimum number you can have is 3 targets, and a ofc a whole lot of others that I couldn't think of at the moment.


    4) there's no event or any way to reliably detect auto-cast attack modifying abilities—Searing Arrow, Cold Arrows, Orb of Annihilation, etc—when they're toggled and a unit simply auto attacks. You can do some gimmicky stuff like checking if the unit has the ability toggled & see if it lost mana, but afaik there's nothing that works reliably.

    5) there's also no event that check for when a ranged unit has fired a projectile, it's not needed for melee units since the moment they finish their attack is the same moment that they deal damage, but you can't use any damage detection event for ranged units since it take time for the projectiles.

    If you simply use "a unit is attacked" then that's also not enough since you can interrupt the attack before the projectile is fired, oh and speaking of which, this would also be useful for abilities like Axe's "Counter Helix" and the like that can otherwise be very buggy where if your unit is interrupted (intentionally or not) but is then ordered to attack again, the event just keep firing.


    6) there's another pretty big thing which would be nice, as it is you can't prevent a player from giving orders to a unit. All you can do is to re-order a unit after it has been given another order. In games like in for example Castle Fight or if you're making a custom taunt ability that force units to attack the caster or perhaps a fear spell to make them run away, players can just spam click and the units will stand still/stutter because they don't have enough time to follow any of the orders.



    7) I'm not sure if anyone has linked these or if the wc3 team already know about them, but in case they're unaware I just want to suggest taking a look at some threads like for example the ability guide ( and the Weird ability guide as well)


    8) it would be nice if you could have way gates that are team/allied only. So that you can have teleporters that work with the pathing, but not allowing enemy units to use them. Being able to customize whether it's hero/unit only, and flying/ground would be nice as well.

    edit: I tried to format it a bit better and make it into 8 points, hopefully it works. (Numbered and dotted list didn't seem to work though)
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2018
  11. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12,675
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    This just reminded me. Could there be a way to increase the pathing blocked by doodads depending on their size exactly as much (many hex grids/squares) as we need? I am especially referring to bridges.

    I'm afraid there is no easy solution to that as units melee-attack nearby enemies even when on a ramp or under it near the edge. I think even on elevators with closed walls. Basically those are pathing blockers and you can attack through them.
    Actually you have to use A Unit Takes Damage which in which you can insert variable units only if you add the event to the trigger in questions via the action: Trigger->Add to Trigger the Event.
     
  12. Death Adder

    Death Adder

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    892
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If you could change flying/ground target dynamically by placing regions you could do it. You can already kinda do it if you really want, but you would have to use morph and you can't have any flying units. You'd place regions on the elevated parts and morph the units so they become ground/flying on demand (targetable, not necessarily movement)

    Anyway, it's super gimmicky, but it could be a lot less gimmicky with some new tools.

    I know about Damage Detection System(s) (I use bribe's), but keep in mind this doesn't work with ranged units as they don't deal damage when they finish their attacks, but rather when the projectiles hit.

    Though perhaps using Counter Helix was a bad example since you kinda want that to be on damage I guess, but if you want to trigger something that happens every time an archer fires an arrow (maybe a triggered multishot for instance) then you don't want to use a damage event.


    Though you can kinda get around it by not having any projectile attacks (so you'd just make your ranged units damage instantly & use a dds to reduce that damage to 0) and trigger every projectile and auto attack damage, but who want to do that...
     
  13. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12,675
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Well, that won't help heroes with orbs :D as they can attack air.
    Well, yeah, when the projectile hits. Isn't that actually when the damage should be detected? Melee units also hit.
    Oh, well, I don't think there's any event for that unless the attack is actually a spell (A Unit Starts the Effect of An Ability). But that comes with some issues: the effect might be trigger set before the spell dealing damage. I guess it could work for what you need though if you consider an orb effect with 100% chance of a spell being cast, assuming that spell causes an effect.
     
  14. Death Adder

    Death Adder

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    892
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You seem to be completely missing my point that I'm suggesting for an event—that is something along the lines of "a unit finishes an attack" rather than "a unit deals damage"—to be added, equivalent to "a unit finishes casting a spell" but for attacks.

    Of course there's no event for it, which is why I said that if you really want to do it you would have to make every ranged attack instantly deal damage as if they were melee, and then trigger the projectiles...

    This is a workaround you can/have to do currently because said event doesn't exist yet.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  15. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12,675
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    This is frustrating. Guys, can we get way longer item descriptions, maybe screen sized?
    Is it possible to have larger item descriptions?
    At least make them as long as the ones for abilities...
    For everything if possible, quests and all.

    EDIT:
    Also, multiple actions for unit group conditions so you won't have to use the and/or in a line. It would be great to have it like when you use the if/the/else/multiple actions.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2018
  16. dtnmang

    dtnmang

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Resources:
    9
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    9
    I want another native related to armor that resets the unit's armor calculation (base armor + upgrades + armor from attributes etc.) because sometimes you want to set a unit's armor to a constant and restore it later, but it receives armor from agility and upgrades during that time. Let's call it ResetUnitArmor
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  17. DracoL1ch

    DracoL1ch

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,860
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    won't work with illusions, for instance
     
  18. Death Adder

    Death Adder

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    892
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Speaking of illusions, it would be nice if they weren't hard-coded to always be blue for the owner. They make for pretty good dummies otherwise by using wand of illusion.

    Also, for the times when you actually want it to be obvious that they're clones you want to perhaps make them gray/black and/or transparent and perhaps some attached special effects. But they'll still look like just a regular mirror image or wand of illusion for the owner.
     
  19. dtnmang

    dtnmang

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Resources:
    9
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    9
    Why would it not work with illus?
     
  20. DracoL1ch

    DracoL1ch

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,860
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    because they won't receive adjusted amount and you have to track it manually all the time, plus other various interactions with other stuff can't think about rn