1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Projects of old, gather ye' resources... [Mod Compendium]

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by Kam, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,499
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Rename your model.mdl to model.mdx. Tough I doubt it will help as Warcraft 3 can read .mdl files.
     
  2. BlackRangerXIII

    BlackRangerXIII

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I've tested and The Chosen one model is bugged
    Can someone link for me wisdom's fixes for me to update some of the packs please

    @kaeltas25: Please don't double post ok
     
  3. kaeltas25

    kaeltas25

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sorry im new in this >.< but, the model is bugged? D:
    have a fix for this model?

    And Thanks you very much for answering
     
  4. Himperion

    Himperion

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    22
    Resources:
    22
    Watch when you're importing custom textures and put "texture/" the game start searching for that texture in the mpq from the game, the texture doesn't exist for that reason it can crash.

    For the format change, save the model with .mdx at the end. HoS have several models saved in .mdl format.

    -*Edit*-

    Is the path problem.

    -*Edit2*-

    In the screen, HOS was packaged like their own custom MPQ. So when the paths are like in 1 it works as intended.

    To work as a normal work editor import needs to look like in the second image.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016
  5. kaeltas25

    kaeltas25

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I am very stupid or definitely the model still gives error, I downloaded it again and gave new textures with the "Replaceable ID" and still generates the crash u.u I am desperate :c
    I am not an expert handling model editors to be honest if anyone could solve the crash or give me a guide
    :c u.u Thank you

    And in advance sorry for the inconvenience
     
  6. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,499
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Look, just send us the model and we might take a look at it. There's nothing you can do about it yourself clearly.
     
  7. Himperion

    Himperion

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    22
    Resources:
    22
    Download the choosen one, i changed the name of the textures, changed the paths, and remove the empty ribbons, them delete the other model from your map. Reload, put this one and try.

    DownloadChoosenOneFromHere!
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016
  8. kaeltas25

    kaeltas25

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Its the same crash.
    Only function this "HeroChosenOne2_Portrait" the other model is a generate the crash

    Thanks

    This is the model
     

    Attached Files:

  9. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,499
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Turns out this model has multiple problems with geoset animations, particle emitters and "sequences". You can check it out yourself. Upload the model into sanity checker and it will show all the problems. ..
     
  10. Himperion

    Himperion

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    22
    Resources:
    22
    This model have a bunch of empty ribbons, and several ribbons with material that looks like the cause of the crash, i've to delete those and it worked, seriously this is a real pain in the ass work, try again.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,499
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Why delete them? They were probably there on purpose (like an effect). They just need to be fixed.
     
  12. Grimhollow

    Grimhollow

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Will there be additional downloadable content?
     
  13. Kam

    Kam

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    8
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    13
    Resources:
    23
    That depends on if more projects turn up that are good for this index. I would like to add Project Revolution but I have not been able to get permission from an author.
     
  14. Grimhollow

    Grimhollow

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Oh thanks I hope you get their permissions. Also I hope you get that mod thing from moddb that contains fel centaurs and that will be good addition to the compendium.

    Bytheway, the forest troll wars you uploaded were the best of the best. :)
     
  15. stein123

    stein123

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,867
    Resources:
    9
    Icons:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    Yeah, it's one of the best resource packs, sadly most of the stuff it contains needs fix u.u
     
  16. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You're welcome. It was a challenge to gather & put together, but it's something both myself & Kam enjoy.
     
  17. Grimhollow

    Grimhollow

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ur right and i hope someday someone would fix them. We dont really have enough forest trolls these days.
     
  18. Grimhollow

    Grimhollow

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Righty then. I hope one day compilations will be added soon. There is a lot of resources across the deepweb. I had seen some wc3 models there. I think something like russian underhive. :)
     
  19. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,531
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Out of curiosity, was it because you could not reach any of them? Or were you able to talk to at least one of those involved in Project Revolution, but he/she/they could not / did not give you permission to upload an already fully unprotected version of it to the Mod Compendium?
     
  20. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,081
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I guess, everybody would love StarCraft resources for Warcraft III. I sure do.