1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest. The contest is optionally paired. Best of luck, people!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Projects of old, gather ye' resources... [Mod Compendium]

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by Kam, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. amazing pack joke master :)

    seems it beat mine on the quantitiy hehe.
    also, good luck with the pack guys
     
  2. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,499
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Regarding you being maintainer, will you "maintain" Starcraft Revolution mod? HoS isn't the only mod that has to be preserved here. Idk what the fuss about some few models is.

    As I mentioned I couldn't contact the developers.
     
  3. BlackRangerXIII

    BlackRangerXIII

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Oops
    Sorry for not commenting about what you brought up
    I'll recompile everything
     
  4. Himperion

    Himperion

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    634
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    22
    Resources:
    22
    Keep the cool job guys. More models is always a good thing.
     
  5. JokeMaster

    JokeMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,173
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Please report any broken models in other packs. When i finish with HOS i'll do my best to give others a proper maintenance.
     
  6. stein123

    stein123

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Resources:
    9
    Icons:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    The Great Troll war pack contains some broken models, principally the dwarves and some human models :(
     
  7. BlackRangerXIII

    BlackRangerXIII

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @JokeMaster Once you're done fixing the HoS Models
    Send to me first so that I can recompile it
     
  8. Himperion

    Himperion

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    634
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    22
    Resources:
    22
    Well, the Great Troll War have some problem with textures, some of them even properly renamed can't load. If i remember the Headhunter and Trollpriest needed to have the skins worked on blplab to make them appear ingame.
     
  9. Kam

    Kam

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,642
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    8
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    13
    Resources:
    23
    Keep me apprised of your work. I'll update the OP as packs are completed.
     
  10. BlackRangerXIII

    BlackRangerXIII

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @A Void:
    The Pack is unusable
    there's no files on the MPQ and it requires Installation to have it.
    so unfortunately we will not maintain the pack until we have the raw files
     
  11. Himperion

    Himperion

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    634
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    22
    Resources:
    22
    Have you tried with RMPQ extractor, i managed to open and get some resources, but the program changed the inner named to Filexxxx, and make it a real pain to read.
     
  12. Kam

    Kam

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,642
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    8
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    13
    Resources:
    23
    That process can take days for a few models as you must figure out each path and each files related textures. It's not viable.
     
  13. BlackRangerXIII

    BlackRangerXIII

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Himperion:
    I Agree with @Kam
    It's not viable if we can get just a few resources without knowing the textures and it's impossible for me to get the file since I use Magos' Model Editor's built in MPQ Loader
     
  14. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,499
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Not so hard when you have a listfile? There you go, I hope these resources will be useful to a lot of people. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. BlackRangerXIII

    BlackRangerXIII

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    It is hard since we need to install the pack to get the files, and the Files are not normally accessed like the other packs
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2016
  16. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,499
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    I don't understand what it is that you think is hard. Just open mpq editor, load Revolution.mpq with a listfile I provided. Is that too hard?
     
  17. BlackRangerXIII

    BlackRangerXIII

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I can't access and download the files without installing it
    as Such I CAN'T REPACK IT.
     
  18. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,499
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Why would you need to repack it? The resources are inside mpq, why on earth would you install if you can simply extract them from MPQ Editor? Last time I checked this was a resource mod compendium not a repack compendium.
     
  19. BlackRangerXIII

    BlackRangerXIII

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I need to repack into a RAR file with folders and the archives to be accessible it due to the installation requirement and to make it easier for usage in other projects
     
  20. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Are you saying you take all the stuff in the MPQ & "repackage" it into a series of folders, then zip it up?

    I mean, it's nice of you to do all that, but hardly necessary. The MPQ itself is a form of compression & organization; simply informing people "MPQ Editor needed to access this mod's files" should be sufficient.