1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Role Playing Game] Warcraft 3 MMO - Persistent Gameplay

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by TriggerHappy, Jun 14, 2016.

  1. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,668
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    It basically just receives all input by local user (chat, unit orders) and sends it to all clients. Although it gets a bit more technically complicated than that.

    Once ready, I may add the possibility for people to host their own servers, but it will still be my RPG that is being hosted. I would likely only do this if the main server had a high enough population.

    Though, this may inspire others to make their own multiplayer maps as well.
     
  2. Lazers

    Lazers

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    server broke lol (can't enter game, was disconnected when I was in there)

    some guy saved beforehand so maybe the save broke it

    also can you give us something to fight, or let us kill eachother
     
  3. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,668
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    I am implementing new features right now so the server will be unstable for the next hour or two.
     
  4. Lazers

    Lazers

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ah okay thought we broke it ayy
     
  5. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,668
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    Updated, and the server is back up.

    I have implemented map switching. In-game you will see a cave or portal that you can enter through to go to another map.

    You need to re-download GameLauncher.zip (found in main post) for this to work.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  6. Azsure

    Azsure

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    I think if the Hive ever had a goal, no, the wc3 modding community as a whole, it was this.
    If this goes successfully and people are able to host their own multiplayer maps, it could become MMO - The Sandbox.
     
  7. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,621
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    18
    There is still one limit though, the map size.
    Sure you can travel between maps but that's not as amazing.

    edit: I have not tested can each player be in different maps or do they have to be in the same one?
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  8. Eagle XI

    Eagle XI

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,358
    Resources:
    117
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    109
    Packs:
    4
    Skins:
    2
    Resources:
    117
    so can you build multiple map rpg with this ?
    like, lets say the rexxar campaign here you enter a portal and then go to dungeon's map.

    bonus:
    motivatory.jpg
     
  9. Pinzu

    Pinzu

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,177
    Resources:
    3
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    No. I don't find any such map in C:\Warcraft III\Maps
     
  10. Almia

    Almia

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,842
    Resources:
    35
    Spells:
    30
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    35
    Are you planning on establishing a distributed server? or just stay on centralized one?
     
  11. Lazers

    Lazers

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Will there be a global chat that will let us talk to all players between maps?
     
  12. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,668
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    EDIT: Updated GameLauncher.zip. Now it will automatically update itself if there is a new version.

    You're right. I would rather have one big sandbox map but that's not feasible. I don't think the engine could handle something so big (without modifications).

    However, most MMOs use a similar method to this. They switch "maps" to go to another area. I think they call this a "Theme Park MMO" and I think it shouldn't negate from gameplay much or at all.

    Note: Players don't have to be in the same map.

    Yes. Map switching is already implemented and you can see for yourself in the "demo".

    I will likely be doing distributed, just not for a while.

    I want the game server to be separate from the web server. Might separate the SQL data to another server too.

    Yeah

    It should be created after you click "Start Game".
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2016
  13. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,668
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    Updated.

    Implemented:
    • Item drops (made a random chance to drop item when logging in, for testing)
    • Equipment & Inventory System (only backend. No UI, no stats, only attachment effects for now)

    You can equip an item you pickup by using the command "-equip #" for now. -unequip works as well with slots 1-14
     
  14. A]mun

    A]mun

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    740
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Errr wow this is unexpected.

    This could become the true world of warcraft, very interesting!
     
  15. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,590
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    How will combat be implemented? Will the results be computed on the server or locally synchronized with it?
     
  16. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,668
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    I have started the combat system. You can now attack the bandit in-game. It's very basic so far and the bandit doesn't revive correctly.

    There are some other minor bugs currently but I'll fix them tomorrow.

    It will be computed on the server.
     
  17. Lazers

    Lazers

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    seems like only the first player to equip items can do so, other players who join afterwards cannot equip items
     
  18. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,668
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    Nope I tested it myself and it works with any player on the map.

    You need an item in your bag to equip it. Kill the bandit to get an item.

    The item takes the first open slot in your bag, which is usually 0 or 1. So you would type "-equip 0".

    EDIT: There was a bug that wouldn't show a players updated equipment for new players joining however. I've fixed that now.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2016
  19. salvadorc17

    salvadorc17

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    166
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I really do like this idea, also i do know something about C# programming, so i can help you if you need some help for coding stuff, i have done myself Warcraft 3 conquest with some basic stuff..
     
  20. Sverkerman

    Sverkerman

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,283
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    5
    Resources:
    5
    Subbing.