1. Are you planning to upload your awesome tool to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    July 9, 2018: The rules for the Tool Section have been revised. Please be sure to read the revisions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Fill your cup and take your pick among the maps best suited for this year's Hive Cup. The 6th Melee Mapping Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Shoot to thrill, play to kill. Sate your hunger with the 33rd Modeling Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Do you hear boss music? It's the 17th Mini Mapping Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

War3 Model Editor

Submitted by Magos
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
This Model Editor is not made by me, but is made by Magos.

War3 Model Editor is as the name suggests a Model Viewer and a Model Editor dedicated to Warcraft 3. It supports both loading and saving of .mdl and .mdx model formats which are used in Warcraft 3. It also supports .bmp, .tga, .png, .jpg, .jpeg, .pcx and .blp texture formats.

There is a buildt-in MPQ Browser that allows you to browse any MPQ archive, which also includes Warcraft 3 map files (.w3m and .w3x). The MPQ Browser has been optimized for speed and is very fast to load and use. The Browser is customizable so you can add/remove your own icons and filters.

Features
Features

* Model Viewer
* Model Editor
* Geoset Importing/Exporting
* Can save/load the model formats *.mdl and *.mdx
* Can save/load the texture formats .bmp, .tga, .png, .jpg, .jpeg, .pcx and .blp
* Can import other model formats (importers stored in DLLs)
* Ability to convert between the model formats
* Ability to convert between the texture formats
* MPQ Browser (very fast loading)
* Support for custom listfiles
* Support for custom MPQ filters & icons

Extras

* Loading Screen Creator
* A tool to create colored text for Warcraft 3

Supported Importers

* md2 (Quake 2)
* ms3d (Milkshape)


{UPDATE}
Hey people, it's Rui. I have updated the tool to v1.07 and added some keywords for searching. Enjoy!

Keywords:
warcraft, 3, III, magos, editor, model, war3, wc3
Contents

War3 Model Editor (Binary)

Reviews
Moderator
PurplePoot: Approved for extreme usefulness, whether as a mapper or a modeler.
  1. Majid_Ne

    Majid_Ne

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    It seems good ;)

    But I can't use it. Please make a video tutorial of it :oops:
     
  2. winter twilight

    winter twilight

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If any 1 have opening eror(can not open splat data.txt) don't extraxt it just buy hold and releaseing right click open winrar and extract it to >>c\programfile\modeleditor
    worked for me
     
  3. hiworm

    hiworm

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    It does its job for extracting and converting texture files (for editing)-very convenient.
     
  4. Null

    Null

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Messages:
    434
    Resources:
    48
    Icons:
    48
    Resources:
    48
    When I click on the MPQ browser and then on the war3.mpq it says: unable to open: war3 model editor/war3.mpq
    idk what do do. Any help pls.
     
  5. Warseeker

    Warseeker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,078
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    If you're playing on patch 1.30 or newer, then you'll first need to extract the mpqs using a CascViewer.
     
  6. FatJonah

    FatJonah

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Very good program! Can still be used if you have CASCView
     
  7. Everlive

    Everlive

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Team colour just shows black now and some models have "see-through" textures, you can fix it by modifying the materials and extracting the team colour textures and applying them directly. Just don't save the model.
    Here's hoping for an update when Reforged releases, maybe not to edit those models, they probably will work like SC2 models.
     
  8. John Melvic

    John Melvic

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Undoubtedly a great essential for any Warcraft III modder out there
     
  9. Ken Lenard Navarro

    Ken Lenard Navarro

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    145
    Resources:
    1
    Reforged HD Icons:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I tried the model editor but the model is still black.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Warseeker

    Warseeker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,078
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    The texture is missing or could not be loaded. If you're playing on patch 1.30 or newer, you'll need to export the MPQ folders from the game using a CascViewer and put them inside the War3 Model Edtor folder.
     
  11. Cryze666

    Cryze666

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    it says that d3dx9_35.dll could not be found is there any fix for it? (running win 10)
     
  12. Cryze666

    Cryze666

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    tried, after that another error shows up. in short it says: "could not run (0xc000007b). press ok to close application."
     
  13. Warseeker

    Warseeker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,078
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Try running the program as administrator or update your windows drivers.
     
  14. Cryze666

    Cryze666

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    tried running as admin, same result
    idl what driver to update, tried to check for updates but everything is fine too :/

    under win 7 the tool worked fine for me ..
     
  15. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,658
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    You need to install the DirectX 9.0c Runtime for XP / Server 2003. Some of its files (including d3dx9_35.dll) are not included in Windows Vista/7/8.x/10.

    The easiest way to do so is to download and run the DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer:
    Download DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer from Official Microsoft Download Center


    This is what I have already written in this post on page 50 of this thread.
    :thumbs_down:
     
  16. Cryze666

    Cryze666

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    thanks that helped!
    sorry to have you double post it, i did only read the last 2 pages to look for recent posts.
     
  17. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,658
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    You're welcome.

    Is the (0xc000007b) error still a thing now?
     
  18. Mechanic

    Mechanic

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    287
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sigh. I have been trying to figure out how to fix this. I couldn't find anything in this post that related to my problem I am having. I haven't work on my models for a long while, and until WC3 finally updated new version, and then I came back to play WC3 again, and decided to work on my models again, and after WC3 updated new version, my model editor is not working properly now. I don't know what I am missing. The problem is this black thing. Also, I am trying to open a Knight human model mdx from WC3 to edit a Knight. But, there's no Knight found in the list. When I open anything in this folder, it popped and says error. It couldn't load the mdx model. What the heck happened to this model editor? Looks like I don't have War3.mpq and War3x.mpq in my model editor folder anymore. I guess that is the problem? Where can I get them back from WC3? I guess I get old copy of WC3 files from WC3 CD key downloading on computer without online preventing from 1.30 version trying to remove MPQ files itself?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 4, 2019
  19. moyackx

    moyackx

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    4
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    7
    Try this: Magos' War3 Model Editor - WC3 Modding Information Center
     
  20. Mechanic

    Mechanic

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    287
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yeah. I just figured it out, but now I am working on how to get it from old WC3 files, because my WC3 is updated to 1.30 version and itself has been removed MPQ files I think. I guess I have to download from old WC3 CD key I have it in my closest on computer without online preventing from having 1.30 version that trying to remove MPQ files? So I can find war3.mpq and war3x.mpq from old WC3 files?