1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Introducing Darkwind RPG

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by Thyrael, May 19, 2009.

  1. HaniBon

    HaniBon

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    464
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ok sounds good, but would you need help? :thumbs_up:
    I am kinda skilled when it comes to spells and terrain
     
  2. Vegavak

    Vegavak

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,010
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    My mistake. :hohum: I should have said obvious wow ripoffs are obvious.

    Very cool "action bar", though. I'm going to assume it's tied in with the camera functions? How will you achieve drag/dropping? I'd assume it would be limited from at least the hero's ability area.
     
  3. Thyrael

    Thyrael

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    695
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You'll be able to drag skills right from the interactive talenttrees into the actionbar. It's the same thing like in the inventory where you drag items. You drag items into a fakebar. The items store the data of the spells and in the script the fitting spells are assigned to the buttons. By clicking a button the stored order is given to the hero. That event is catched and the correct dummie starts casting the ability. And yes, the bar is locked to the cameramovement and can be easy updated with additional buttons if I think it is necessary.
     
  4. syltman

    syltman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What will happen to the old Wc3 UI bar thing?
     
  5. Thyrael

    Thyrael

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    695
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm confused, sry :) What do you mean?
     
  6. syltman

    syltman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'll describe it in a image

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Thyrael

    Thyrael

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    695
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ahh, got it :)

    Into that interface I will embed the buttons for switching between sneaking and normalmovement(while in sneak mode, buttons for lockpicking and pickpocketing), open inventorymenu, interacting with your enviroment(talk to people, use objects etc) and so on.
     
  8. syltman

    syltman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ahh that sounds good. I'll enjoy seeing how good this turns out :p
     
  9. Xezko

    Xezko

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    864
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    12
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    22
    The best RPG Project iv seen. hope you finish this quickly! I will be glad if you get out a beta soon. :D I ever hav dreams with a fully cool RPG game with a lot of things, that works on my comp!
     
  10. MeKC

    MeKC

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Can you make a video where we can see the new action bar in use?
     
  11. Thyrael

    Thyrael

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    695
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Allready working on it, but to make that video look good, I have to work on the talenttreewindow :) and thats really a complicated thing. But I think you can watch a video soon.
     
  12. Xezko

    Xezko

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    864
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    12
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    22
    If you need an artist, i'm here to serve. ;)
     
  13. Thyrael

    Thyrael

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    695
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Added new previewvideo

    I just added another previewvideo(can be found in the very first post under videos). It shows how the talentwindow will look. Most of the icons are still placeholders, but I'm sure you can imagine the rest. The talenttrees are organized in 5 tiers. There are 6 talenttrees at all, 2 for each attribute. You can spend up to 29 points in a talenttree.

    After you've learned a talent, you can drag/drop the talents into the actionbar. They will appear in the ingameactionbar as well and can be activated by clicking on them. Left click will cast the spell/ability on your actual spelltarget if possible, right click will direct cast on your hero. No need to select. The bar can hold up to 12 spells. You can simple "overwrite" a slot by draggin another spell into that slot. There are still some bugs and problems, but I'm pretty sure I will get this thing to work. The whole actionbar part is done in JASS, cause I decided to learn it *g*

    Please give me feedback!

    Thy
     
  14. ~Void~

    ~Void~

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,448
    Resources:
    14
    Icons:
    8
    Skins:
    2
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    14
    Lordaeron summer tileset. Rawful.
     
  15. Thyrael

    Thyrael

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    695
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Like I allready told some post above, that is only a scripttestmap, not the realgame.
     
  16. syltman

    syltman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Have you thought about making it a hosted project?
     
  17. Nurga

    Nurga

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    456
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    That would be a good idea. Its like another game :D
    Looks very cool, i can not wait to play it or a test version :thumbs_up:
    I hope you will finish it soon
    its really awesome :)
    +rep for the cool screens
     
  18. NoAmmoSrry

    NoAmmoSrry

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    jesus this game is gona be sick
     
  19. Thyrael

    Thyrael

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    695
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks :)

    Currently I rewrite the whole GUI thing in JASS. And along that work I make some improvments. F.e. the actionbar now shows the cooldown of a used spell inside the buttons. I created a arrowmovementsystem with cameralocking. It works very smooth. While redoing the thing in JASS I clean every leak I find to increase the performance.
     
  20. Xezko

    Xezko

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    864
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    12
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    22
    I want a Beta!!!!!!!!! :F