1. Are you planning to upload your awesome tool to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    July 9, 2018: The rules for the Tool Section have been revised. Please be sure to read the revisions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  10. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

War3 Model Editor

Submitted by Magos
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
This Model Editor is not made by me, but is made by Magos.

War3 Model Editor is as the name suggests a Model Viewer and a Model Editor dedicated to Warcraft 3. It supports both loading and saving of .mdl and .mdx model formats which are used in Warcraft 3. It also supports .bmp, .tga, .png, .jpg, .jpeg, .pcx and .blp texture formats.

There is a buildt-in MPQ Browser that allows you to browse any MPQ archive, which also includes Warcraft 3 map files (.w3m and .w3x). The MPQ Browser has been optimized for speed and is very fast to load and use. The Browser is customizable so you can add/remove your own icons and filters.

Features
Features

* Model Viewer
* Model Editor
* Geoset Importing/Exporting
* Can save/load the model formats *.mdl and *.mdx
* Can save/load the texture formats .bmp, .tga, .png, .jpg, .jpeg, .pcx and .blp
* Can import other model formats (importers stored in DLLs)
* Ability to convert between the model formats
* Ability to convert between the texture formats
* MPQ Browser (very fast loading)
* Support for custom listfiles
* Support for custom MPQ filters & icons

Extras

* Loading Screen Creator
* A tool to create colored text for Warcraft 3

Supported Importers

* md2 (Quake 2)
* ms3d (Milkshape)


{UPDATE}
Hey people, it's Rui. I have updated the tool to v1.07 and added some keywords for searching. Enjoy!

Keywords:
warcraft, 3, III, magos, editor, model, war3, wc3
Contents

War3 Model Editor (Binary)

Reviews
Moderator
PurplePoot: Approved for extreme usefulness, whether as a mapper or a modeler.
  1. TaShadan

    TaShadan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,148
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    if i started wc3 before mago mago doesnt work... and if i start mago (yes it works) before wc3 wc3 tells me i dont have a cd t-t

    i always have to restart pc after using mago so that i can test model changes in wc3 thats kinda sucky :(
     
  2. I_H8_U_M8

    I_H8_U_M8

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well The mot recent Upgrade Blizard Had made A while ago Ended up screwing up lot of older programs made in the past. Also Some Games That used lots of jass such as 3ICE's maze designr 10.6 Stoped working properly.
    After I upgraded i wasn't able To use WarCraft editor unlimited
     
  3. tomv8

    tomv8

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    VirusTotal - Free Online Virus and Malware Scan VIRUS FOUND SCAN IT FOR YOUR SELF IKANOS(ONE OF VIRUSTOTALS SCANNER) PICKED UP A WEAK TROJAN DOWNLOADER you can still use program for this is a weak downloader it only downloads cookies but recomended to scan for cookies everyday at 12:00 pm and delete cookies
     
  4. ShrEad-ER

    ShrEad-ER

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    this may seem dumb... but why is it a gray box?? shouldent it be a model editor???
     
  5. Knightmawk

    Knightmawk

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I had it on my comupter working perfectly fine a short while ago, then I moed the warcraft three folder,

    now when i try to start it, even after reinstalling it is saying



    unable to open "C:\Program Files\Wrcraft IIIWar3mpq"!

    Make sure that Warcraft 3 is installed and that the registry kel "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Blizzard Entertainment\Warcraft IIIInstallPath" exists!
     
  6. NoobinJass

    NoobinJass

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    "Unable to open "C/Program/WarcraftIII/war3.mpq"!

    What happen
     
  7. slavi621

    slavi621

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The programe is relly cool and it seems to work to me but I don't know how to work with it
     
  8. tanthanh121

    tanthanh121

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    This is nice, but so confusing.
     
  9. slavi621

    slavi621

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    yea for now I know only how to make things bigger but not normal size
     
  10. kristus

    kristus

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ok, if you have proplem with "wtf, it opened but there is just big grey box without enything else" i had this proplem too,
    but it was just that i used custom desctop theme
    and when changed it to original it works and you can see buttons^^
    i hope if this fix your proplems too.
    ps: my custom desctop was world of warcraft theme so i think that this editor wont work with it.
     
  11. ShrEad-ER

    ShrEad-ER

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    i use Alien Ware
     
  12. Logitech

    Logitech

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    for me it keeps saying cant find website
     
  13. idodik

    idodik

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello, Magos.

    To use your program, I would like, but a problem, I have.
    "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Blizzard Entertainment\Warcraft III\InstallPath"
    it requires, and know the file, I do not.
    PM me, I ask you, so that to use it, I will know.

    Thank you, Magos.
     
  14. Halio

    Halio

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    When i create a Loading Screen it is a black field when i start the game with this screen... I did everything what is writen on the Creating a Loading Screen Tutorial.

    Can u help me?
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2008
  15. isuckatmapmaking

    isuckatmapmaking

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    it doesn't work on my pc there appears a grey screen and happens nothing :s
     
  16. tanthanh121

    tanthanh121

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    How come some of the files won't open.
    Example: Unable to open file "Textures\Something.blp", file does not exist!
     
  17. reapertkh

    reapertkh

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Help i still cant get it open,it says about HKEY_CURRENT_USER exists!!!
     
  18. reapertkh

    reapertkh

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Can u help me with the HKEY_CURRENT_USER problem Discohydra,i cant understand what u mean.Pls PM me for solutions.
     
  19. NerdElf

    NerdElf

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    it works it finnaalyy works but i dont know how to use it
     
  20. GoblinEngineer

    GoblinEngineer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I downloaeded, i'm new doing models and textures, so i don't expect to understand it well, but i'm not stupid.
    Thanks for the post brother!