• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Suited Base-Abilities for various uses

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Hello,

i am very new to mapping and i am currently trying to design some custom spells.
Nothing fancy, basically i just want them to deal stat scaling damage and thus i need some simples triggers to deal the damage.

However, i seem to have problems finding appropiate base skills that are easy to strip down off any unwanted effects.

Example:
I want a spell that offers a target area, adjustable.
I took Flamestrike, as it does exactly that.
Removed the Animations Names, etc., set all Damage to 0, removed the Buff effect, etc.

Yet, for some reason, the skill still applies the Flame-Strike effect to target mobs, even though i have deleted it from the specific field in the Object Editor.

I removed all durations too, which seems to result in the buff being permanent instead.

Now, i cant find any further field in the Object Editor of my Spell that would indicate this behavior and i am left quite clueless as to what causes this.

Question: What would be a more suitable spell and what causes the buff to appear anyways?

Another Question: What would be a suitable spell for the same behavior but the ability to add a stun? I have tried it with Flamestrike, by selecting Stun as Effect, which did debuff the enemy units with the stun debuff, yet they moved around and attacked freely while being affected by it.

Level 25
Sadly, spells are hard coded. If a spell applies the buff, it will apply it no matter what. You could for example put different buff there and it may change the visual, but it would apply the buff nonetheless.