1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

StarCraft II Galaxy Editor

Discussion in 'StarCraft I & II' started by redmarine, Aug 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redmarine

    redmarine

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,781
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Ah I see. Sorry for that misinformation. Yeah, Dustin Browder confirms it.
     
  2. Gleeful

    Gleeful

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Interesting quote in recent blizzcast on when the editor might be released.

     
  3. Hiruty

    Hiruty

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    If custom scripting of your own script is aloowed you should be able to reverse glaxay programing - c++ ( or whatever code they based it off ) then to D,C,C- ect

    What i don't get is why they don't just make a plain old game engine that uses battlenet 2.0 and GUI functions so you could share you games.....

    Oh yah forgot to mention you could add 2+ resources in warcraft you just had to trigger them and keep track of them with a leaderbored and some variables oh yah and a few spells....
     
  4. Pharaoh_

    Pharaoh_

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,127
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    This is going to bring some wars around. We will see the best mods ever seen. The flexibility of this engine is outstanding.
     
  5. Piwlady

    Piwlady

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I would want to know what's terrain like with that editor o.o
     
  6. noob134

    noob134

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    hmm, are you able to change the settings of certain graphics in the editor? Because my computer can only run sc2 beta on the lowest settings.
     
  7. WOWWARS

    WOWWARS

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sc2 has many Graphic proplems We all must get next - gen computers or graphic cards
     
  8. darknezz003

    darknezz003

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Wow...I can't wait to play SC2.
    The graphics looks like epic (Heroes of Newerth)
     
  9. andreasaspenberg

    andreasaspenberg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i have played starcraft 2 a few times. i have won once with every race. i have also used the warcraft 3 editor a lot. i just hope that the starcraft 2 editor enables the creation og large galaxy sized games. after all if it is called a galaxy editor it should edit galaxies. i also hope that it is better than the warcraft 3 editor without being more difficult to use.
     
  10. c69

    c69

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Uberlisk you almost could do with WC3 WE, but mouse look and scroll-shooter and more possibliities for custom ui and scripting - that is just awesome :thumbs_up:
     
  11. AKAIMAX

    AKAIMAX

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    477
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Im hoping sc2 scripting language won't be too OOP so that people can still make systems cause if it will be like that, well than scripting will be boring. The UI feature looks cool but I can't imagine it to be too much better than DGUI. And yet so many people think it will be easy to use.
     
  12. redmarine

    redmarine

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,781
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    It won't be OOP at all.
     
  13. Hiruty

    Hiruty

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    lol i just hope it will be able to use low poly models with a good size texture and still look good :3
     
  14. Shdow89

    Shdow89

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Resources:
    4
    Spells:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Ah but why should we use low poly models for a game that has 20 times higher requirements that then the previous SC, or TFT for that matter :p. It should be a freedom xD.
     
  15. ikillforeyou

    ikillforeyou

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,341
    Resources:
    33
    Models:
    22
    Icons:
    9
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    33
    Filesize, filesize.
     
  16. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    We don't even know what the max filesize IS yet. And since Blizzard wants StarCraft 2 to be a good moddable game, it'll probably be at least 16MB. Have you seen the size of the textures/models now?
     
  17. ikillforeyou

    ikillforeyou

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,341
    Resources:
    33
    Models:
    22
    Icons:
    9
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    33
    But it'll take a loooong time to download a 16 mb map.. it doesn't really matter on bnet, it matters on people's ability to transfer the map quickly.
     
  18. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, map transfers used to be handled peer-to-peer. Now, they're handled by sending the map from the online map database. Maps cannot be played in public unless they are in the map database. I don't think that Blizzard reviews maps as they're sent in, but can still view them and remove them at any time.
     
  19. ikillforeyou

    ikillforeyou

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,341
    Resources:
    33
    Models:
    22
    Icons:
    9
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    33
    Oh, Great! That'll make things much better.
     
  20. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    *detects sarcasm*
    They'll of course inform you that you need to change your map... Except for insta-deletes, like maps containing porn, which ones flooded the Warcraft III custom game listings...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.