• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Standard Editor vs. extentions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have always used the standard editor when making maps.
Lately I have been intrigued by the possibilities of extensions (don't know if they are actually called that).

Mainly two have caught my eye were JNGP is mentioned far more than UMSWE.

I guess I would like to know if these really offer enough beef to be worth using. Are they just as easy to use as the normal editor, or at least fairly easy to get started with.

I have been repellent to use any of the two in question, epecially JNGP because the name screams Jass in the title, and I'm not experienced in Jass.

Links, just in case:
http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/jassnewgenpack-5d-227445/
http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/umswe-62880/

In JNGP you also can enable UMSWE.

Compared JNGP to normal editor, it has less limits in amount of terrain tiles, amount of objects placed on map and you can extend map to 480x480.

There are more pros for JNGP, and no bad points. Furthermore you can use use vjass ressources, WE would not be able to compile here.

Also for learning JASS it is just epic in comparrison to normal.

Level 14
JNGP isnt a entirely new editor, its just the normal editor with some stuff added and very few things changed.
- Added: tools like JassHelper, UMSWE, Grimoire, etc... you can disable most of the stuff so you dont have to worry about them. But some stuff is nice, like the "no limits" option which removes the doodad limit..