• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Sc2 Editor or Warcraft 3 Editor ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 35
Simple put, I am creating a master project, which I plan to use one of either editor as my basis for testing scenario, however I been discussing it with a friend and I am in doubt as to which I should select as I have little knowledge of the Sc2 editor.

Basically I need to be able to use third person camera and key controls - Likely with a mouse controlled look of sorts as well. (This is the ideal case).

I planned to use Wc3 because I am much more familiar with it and it has a ton of material to it. However according to my friend one can easily use Wc3 stuff in the Sc2 editor - Correct?

Also as for functions I am also stumbled upon which one would allow me both the easiest creation, but also the most freedom.

I need to be able to create a fairly good looking scenario/landscape and have events take place in them. Such as animals wandering around, falling tree's or similar. I also need to be able to interact with the environment (primarily trees - with some item creation and such going on).

Ideally I would also be able to remove most of the HUD or customize for my own use (reduced size - Removed certain things (like the map)).

I know how to do some, though not all in Wc3 - But I believe that for instance keyinput would function better in the Sc2 editor?

I had planned to use regions to make checks as to player movement, does SC2 offer a better or similar alternative?

So yea, basically I am asking what you believe would best allow for my requirements.

Level 8