Map Adapter

Level 16
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
664
hi bro, please !! :( can you convert this map war reforged to war3 class, i played on war3 1.27 , becaouse of my pc dont run NET 5.0 Runtime , thank you lots of ^^
Does your PC not support it or could you simply not find the correct installation? I noticed that I put the link to the latest version instead of 5.0, which is now out of support.
You can find the .NET 5.0 downloads here: Download .NET 5.0 (Linux, macOS, and Windows)
I also updated the first post with the updated link.

Since the tool uses windows forms you need to pick the .NET desktop runtime, which is only on windows.
Let me know if you have mac or linux, in that case I could make a console application version (which has already been requested before).
Then you'd only need to have the .NET runtime which also works on mac and linux.

Can this be used to make old maps playable in Reforged?
It depends on the reason for which a map no longer works in Reforged, and if there's a solution to make it work that can be automatically applied.
Of course without a specific map I cannot tell you, and it's also very hard to find out the cause when the game doesn't give you any information about what's wrong.
Right now the only real 'fix' that gets applied when the target patch is higher than the patch for which the map was made is for the object data, but I don't think that can crash the game, only the world editor.
 
Level 7
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
158
It depends on the reason for which a map no longer works in Reforged, and if there's a solution to make it work that can be automatically applied.
Of course without a specific map I cannot tell you, and it's also very hard to find out the cause when the game doesn't give you any information about what's wrong.
Right now the only real 'fix' that gets applied when the target patch is higher than the patch for which the map was made is for the object data, but I don't think that can crash the game, only the world editor.

Well, I heard there is a bug when upgrading from 1.27 to Reforged which deletes all the custom descriptions from object editor inside world editor. I mainly create stuff for 1.27, which is the version of the game that I have; as it allows me to play some older maps that I like and have saved on a stick.

Also, I am not a full time modder, most of the stuff I do is asset flips, in regards to unit/hero ability designs and some minor terraining.
 
Level 1
Joined
May 18, 2022
Messages
1
I found a diffuculty, due to units' object identifier system in reforge, all custom units/unit changes have been removed as errors when I adapted the map to patch 1.26a. Is there any way it can be fixed?
 
Level 1
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
4
I get an error message when I open a map.

Sin título.png
 
Level 16
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
664
I get an error message when I open a map.
You put in a whole campaign, which I am not sure the tool supports. Put in maps one by one to be sure
Campaigns are supported, but there was an error reading the war3campaign.w3f file: War3Net/CampaignMapButton.cs at master · Drake53/War3Net
The first property should be a boolean so I validate the value is either 0 or 1, so when it's some random integer value I throw an exception, though I'm never sure in these situations if I should just ignore the error instead since a common map protection technique is to put random values that wc3 doesn't validate or interprets somehow, for example in the case of a boolean it might be 0 is false and any other value is true.
 
Level 1
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
4
Campaigns are supported, but there was an error reading the war3campaign.w3f file: War3Net/CampaignMapButton.cs at master · Drake53/War3Net
The first property should be a boolean so I validate the value is either 0 or 1, so when it's some random integer value I throw an exception, though I'm never sure in these situations if I should just ignore the error instead since a common map protection technique is to put random values that wc3 doesn't validate or interprets somehow, for example in the case of a boolean it might be 0 is false and any other value is true.
I get error message when I open other maps.

Sin título.png
 
Level 1
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
4
can someone adapt these campaigns to the 1.26a version for me? I can't get the program work.


 
Level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2021
Messages
3
Campaigns are supported, but there was an error reading the war3campaign.w3f file: War3Net/CampaignMapButton.cs at master · Drake53/War3Net
The first property should be a boolean so I validate the value is either 0 or 1, so when it's some random integer value I throw an exception, though I'm never sure in these situations if I should just ignore the error instead since a common map protection technique is to put random values that wc3 doesn't validate or interprets somehow, for example in the case of a boolean it might be 0 is false and any other value is true.
hic hic , please help me , i want to play map but it run on reforged, please :( you can convert it to war 3 classic for me , i'm begging on you :necry:
 

Attachments

  • D map tested.w3x
    8.3 MB · Views: 5
Level 16
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
664
I get error message when I open other maps.
In this case the error is caused by the map being made in a very old version of the world editor, and my code to check the 'origin' patch, the patch in which the map was made, isn't complete: War3App/MapInfoExtensions.cs at master · Drake53/War3App
The check stops at world editor version 6052, because I was too lazy to add the remaining ones and figured my tool would mostly be used to adapt maps made with 1.31 or 1.32

Also, I managed to fix the earlier error with the campaign file, but I have not yet uploaded a fixed version because when I tested it there was another file that gave an error that I still have to fix.
 
Level 1
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
4
In this case the error is caused by the map being made in a very old version of the world editor, and my code to check the 'origin' patch, the patch in which the map was made, isn't complete: War3App/MapInfoExtensions.cs at master · Drake53/War3App
The check stops at world editor version 6052, because I was too lazy to add the remaining ones and figured my tool would mostly be used to adapt maps made with 1.31 or 1.32

Also, I managed to fix the earlier error with the campaign file, but I have not yet uploaded a fixed version because when I tested it there was another file that gave an error that I still have to fix.
I think I have not configured the .json file correctly.

Sin título.png
 
Level 16
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
664
hic hic , please help me , i want to play map but it run on reforged, please :( you can convert it to war 3 classic for me , i'm begging on you :necry:
The map contains a lot of .dds images, these will have to be converted to .blp or .tga.
The map script seems mostly compatible, only 'MathRound', 'BlzStartUnitAbilityCooldown', and 'TriggerRegisterCommandEvent' are unavailable (I assume you mean 1.31 when you say war3 classic, otherwise there may be more incompatible functions used).
If you don't know how to work with JASS then I recommend you reach out to the map author to ask for a version of the map that works on earlier patches.

I think I have not configured the .json file correctly.
The tool currently does not support extracting the files from MPQ/CASC for you, you need to do this manually.
 
Level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2021
Messages
3
The map contains a lot of .dds images, these will have to be converted to .blp or .tga.
The map script seems mostly compatible, only 'MathRound', 'BlzStartUnitAbilityCooldown', and 'TriggerRegisterCommandEvent' are unavailable (I assume you mean 1.31 when you say war3 classic, otherwise there may be more incompatible functions used).
If you don't know how to work with JASS then I recommend you reach out to the map author to ask for a version of the map that works on earlier patches.


The tool currently does not support extracting the files from MPQ/CASC for you, you need to do this manually.
hic hic :( author's map said it run on war3 1.32.2 (reforged), i want to play this map on war3 1.27-1.31 so i hope you can help me , respect for you
 
Top