Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Map Adapter

Discussion in 'Warcraft Editing Tools' started by Drake53, Aug 9, 2020.

  1. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Done. Also uploaded new version, changelog:
    • The file (attributes) is now always removed.
    • Map and campaign .w3i/.w3f files' editorversion and gameversion fields now get changed based on target patch.
    • Version is now shown in window title (v0.5.0 currently).
    • Archives are now always saved with .w3x header.
    • Save button is always enabled when you open an archive, not only after you make changes.

    @deepstrasz Can you try adapting the map again and see if it works now? And if it still won't show up, re-save it in the world editor again and upload it, so I can compare the files.
     
  2. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,446
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Your version has no .w3x header now? Did you use the new version?
     
  4. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,446
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Yes.
    err.png err2.png
    As you can see, the program lets me adapt it to 1.31 again.
     
  5. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Try this version. If it doesn't work, re-save it in the editor.
    The map you gave me has too many differences suddenly, so can't compare it easily.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    This is absolutely useful. ^^

    I'll try this out on my end.
     
  7. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,446
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Look closely at the minimap preview colour/contrast, yours is the first.
    err.png err2.png
     
  8. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  9. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    Unfortunately, couldn't run the exe file, perhaps it's not compatible with x86 systems then?
     
  10. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Uploaded a win-x86 version.
     
  11. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    The compatibility pop-up error is gone but still can't get your program to work on my end. ;_;
    [​IMG]
    It only behaves like this; (GIF Preview)
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What did the compatibility error look like? The original was compiled 'portable' so it should work on both 32bit and 64bit.
    I think there may be something that makes it incompatible with 32bit, just don't know what.
     
  13. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    Oh I didn't realized that it's just not compatible with the Windows I'm using. (7 Ultimate) :p

    Any chance of it?
     
  14. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Not sure, I don't know what error message you got earlier and I only have a 64-bit pc to test on, no 32-bit.
     
  15. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,446
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    As far as I can tell, the map isn't using any custom imports and doesn't have the Reforged map file extension (.w3m):
    Heroquest! Quest 1 - 9(SinglePlayer) V1.7
    Any ideas why the shop might have not shown? Have they changed texture paths again? But then shouldn't I have gotten a crash instead?




    I've got this error after adapting and trying to access the incompatible field again:
    anima.png
    Diverse Fights v0.8.2 (Reforged)
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2020
  16. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Some map authors only test their map in reforged mode, so it's possible that even in 1.32 classic graphics mode something doesn't show up. If that's the case (I think most likely it is, but needs to be tested to be sure), there's nothing my program can do about it.

    Should be fixed in new version.
     
  17. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,446
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Can anything be done with the location triggers?
    God of the Undead
    I think removing them will cause the map to crash when the units are supposed to appear.
     
  18. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Pretty sure you can just remove those.
     
  19. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,446
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I removed them but as I mentioned I get that crash and there's no way I can verify if that is the reason but I assume so because those are related to where units should spawn and there are no enemies right at the start but only after a timer runs out and when that happens I get the crash. What also happens is blight being created on the map.
     
  20. Drake53

    Drake53

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I tried it and didn't run into a crash (didn't play for long though, 3 minutes max).