1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How to [download | install | configure] JNGP

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Tutorials' started by Anachron, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. N00B5600

    N00B5600

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    When I try to run it it says "cannot open war3.mpq"
     
  2. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,200
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Are you sure you installed wc3 correclty?
     
  3. N00B5600

    N00B5600

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    of course I did. It's a legit copy with latest patch
     
  4. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,200
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Are you sure you have not moved wc3 to another location and you haven't modified the registry keys?
     
  5. N00B5600

    N00B5600

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    must be the registry keys then...
     
  6. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,200
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Make sure to have the InstallPath and InstallPathX correctly set in the CurrentVersion\Software\Blizzard\Warcraft III\ key folder.

    And please do not modify registry keys, I can't help you then.
     
  7. Mechanical Man

    Mechanical Man

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,385
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    39
    I have a big problem with jngp. When I try to save the map, it will show me crapload of script errors. That is, when I just create new map, hit test button and I get Map test aborted due to script errors (leaving only default melee initialization triggers).
     
  8. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,200
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    The vJASS script does only compile when you save an already existing wc3 map. That is why your error occurs. To solve it, save it twice for a new map.
     
  9. davisSS3david

    davisSS3david

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I have a problem with Extensions -> Edit Tileset
    For example I run it and I add a few new tiles. Then after clicking 'Ok' I get the loading bar 'Progress'. Finally then I open up Terrain Palette the new tiles (I have added) dosn't show up.
    However if I go to Extensions -> Edit Tileset again it show's that there are new tiles (I just added) but they simply do not show up on the Terrain Palette.

    I also tried saving the map and opening again. Doesn't work. :goblin_jawdrop:

    Any suggestions? Thank you.
     
  10. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,200
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Yeah.
    Edit tiles, save the map.
    Close the map.
    Close the editor.
    Reopen editor.
    Reopen map.

    That should work.
     
  11. davisSS3david

    davisSS3david

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thank you for your help.

    Doesn't work. After I load it again, no matter what I open Edit Tileset, Terrain Palette, no new tiles.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2010
  12. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,200
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Have you enabled UMSWE?
     
  13. davisSS3david

    davisSS3david

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes, it is enabled.
     
  14. n-Gage

    n-Gage

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Helpful, thx ^_^
     
  15. nickel510

    nickel510

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yeah I have the same problem with the tiles. I know you said not the place to ask but... then where! There is no JNPG forum. I am lost!
     
  16. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,200
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    There is a JNGP forum. You can search it on this homepage (where it comes from).
     
  17. nickel510

    nickel510

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hmm I see the JNGP thread for the tool which the creator started, but no forum. I've also searched the thread, no answer.
     
  18. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,200
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Then ask in the thread about it. Sorry, I can't help you with that problem.
     
  19. nickel510

    nickel510

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Bah! Sorry for my hastiness. I had forgotten to read the readme I had gotten so used to posting issues on hives! My bad sorry.

    Anyways here's the answer, to help that other guy too.

    "By clicking on the tile icons you can add/remove it to/from your map. The max is 16 tiles for each map. When you're satisfied with your changes click the ok button to apply them, then close and reopen your map without resaving it, and your new tiles should show up in the terrain palette. The configuration dialog might spit out a warning if you removed or replaced cliff tiles with non-cliff tiles. This can only cause problems if the removed/replaced tile has actually been used for cliffs in your map, otherwise it's safe to ignore the warning."

    Silly thing like that cost me an hour or more!

    Also, the readme is very detailed and will probably answer any questions people have really. You might want to mention at the end of the tutorial that people should read it if they have any questions about actually using the modified editor. It can be found in the extracted folder named 'NewGenReadme.html'.
     
  20. davisSS3david

    davisSS3david

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Finaly. Yes, it helped me too. Thank you nickel510 :ogre_haosis: