1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How to [download | install | configure] JNGP

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Tutorials' started by Anachron, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Edit by Purge:

    Note: You can avoid a lot of stress just by downloading from this link instead:
    http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/jassnewgenpack-5d-227445/

    Please check out the troubleshooting section before downloading. Make sure your antivirus is configured so that you will have a proper download and patch your Warcraft 3 to 1.26.


    Actual tutorial:


    For the 100th time this year I have to tell a guy how to probably download, install and configure JNGP In order to make it work. So I wrote this short tutorial to not have to answer it every time again and again.

    • Requirements
    • Download
    • Install
    • Update JASSHelper
    • Configure
    • Using
    • Settings
    • Misc

    Requirements
    • Windows or windows emulator
    • Latest Version of Warcraft III.

    Download
    Open this url, download the JNGP file.
    Alternative: JNGP 5d with JassHelper 0.A.2.B.

    Install
    Extract it anywhere you want.

    Update JASSHelper
    Open this url, download the JassHelper file.
    Extract the content.
    CnP this three files:
    • clijasshelper.exe
    • jasshelper.conf
    • jasshelper.exe
    , go to the JassNewGenPack folder, open it, and copy it into the subfolder "jasshelper" and click yes to overwrite.

    Configure
    Open JNGP. (For that, you need to open "NewGen WE.exe"
    If your antivir program does block something, set it to the exception list! This is not a virus, even if it may seem like it for antivirus!

    Check the menu. Click on Reinventing the Craft, check the box "Disable RtC".
    Close the JNGP instantly.

    Open JNGP again, now you can use it with vJASS support.

    Using
    To open the map, simply open it in the menu or with CTRL + O.
    To save the map, please use Menu - Save (CTRL + S).
    To save the map under a new name, press save as and then press save (CTRL + S) again!

    If you edit your map (anything, while this can be scrolling in the trigger editor aswell) you can NOT play the map!
    You have to save it again with CTRL + S in order to testplay it!


    Settings
    Please make sure the settings of your JNGP match the following:
    GrimoreSettings.jpg
    JassHelperSettings.jpg
    RTCSettings.jpg
    When saving for real version please uncheck "Debug Mode" in JassHelper menu.


    Misc
    Grimoire

    [X] Start War3 with -window
    If enabled opens Warcraft III in a window when testplaying maps.
    This does NOT change the normal Wc3 startup.

    [ ] Start War3 with -opengl
    If you enable this you will use OpenGL (GraphicFormat).
    This is only useful when you know what you do.

    [X] Enable TESH
    Like a theme manager.

    [X] Enable Colorizer
    If you want to choose your own colors for coding, you can
    enable it here.

    [ ] Enable No limits
    Removes the World Editor limits.
    For example the 8000 doodad limit will be removed and you
    will be able to place more doodads!

    [X] Enable object editor hack
    Allows you to put in field values that are normally not valid
    for the WE.

    [X] Disable default description nag
    If you go save a map in normal WE and you haven't changed name from "Just anther warcraf 3 map" Then a dialog pops up, letting you know that you haven't.
    This disables/enables that dialog.
    Thanks to Cweener for this answer.

    [X] Don't let WE disable triggers.
    When your trigger has one or more invalid actions WorldEditor normally
    disables it. You can prevent the WE from doing so here.

    [X] Always allow trigger enable.
    Same for above, but this time you are able to enable it.

    [X] Mute Editor Sounds
    You can mute the sounds here. I find it more annoying to
    have sounds in the world editor. Listen to music instead.

    [X] Disable First Save Warning
    The WE pops up a little annoying message that you are saving the
    map for the first time. You can disable it here.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 22, 2012
  2. karland90

    karland90

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    btw for users of AVG: avg has 2 different lists of exceptions. one for pup (potentially unwanted program) and one for resident shield. i had trouble with it, so i added the files to both exception lists, just to be sure
     
  3. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Updated.
     
  4. Dynasti

    Dynasti

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    877
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Done everything this post tells me to do. Doesn't work
     
  5. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    What exactly doesn't work? Tell me what you do and what it does.
     
  6. karland90

    karland90

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    same here. updated and tested :S
     
  7. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Can you please elaborate everything you did? ^^
     
  8. karland90

    karland90

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    i made a copy of your map to my desktop.
    opened it up in the NewGenWE.exe.
    moved one of the trees in map.
    pressed CTRL+S
    got this error:
    [​IMG]


    EDIT: how can i have map version 0.1.Y.3?? you have uploaded y.2 :eek:
     
  9. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    I mean the installation of JNGP t the point you get the errors. Everything.
     
  10. karland90

    karland90

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    well up to the points i mentioned in my previous post i did exactly as you told in this tutorial:
    extract.
    replace the 3 files.
    run.
    disable rtc.
    rerun.
     
  11. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Make sure you have vJass enabled in JassHelper menu.
     
  12. karland90

    karland90

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    like this?
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    No!
    Please uncheck 'Disable vJass Syntax'.
     
  14. karland90

    karland90

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    it lives! :D

    -You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to Anachron again.-
    -.-
     
  15. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Sure thing, as I told.

    But why is everything enabled in your JNGP? Are you sure you are using the newest version and not an old version you already used?

    A new JNGP version automatically disables most stuff and enables vJass syntax.
     
  16. karland90

    karland90

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    well i deleted the jasshelper and JNGP folders last night. went on wc3c to get me latest versions, but found out that the .zips i kept on my computer just in case were the most up to date. then i extracted them again. and yes i think these are all the initial settings (well it doesnt keep any saved info elsewhere, does it?)
     
  17. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    I think it does (in Registry).

    Edit: Updated first post with JNGP menu settings.
     
  18. syltman

    syltman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    don't type \$JNGPFOLDER$, it's confusing. Insteed tell them to go to the JNGP folder and then to the jasshelper folder.
     
  19. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Thanks, I fixed it.
     
  20. real138

    real138

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,447
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    hmm good tutorial but i just noticed that i didnt have reinventing the craft in my WE i tried reinstalling everything but yet again it hasn't shown up. do you know any reason that might be? don't think i need it anyway since im disabling it just would like to know.