1. The contestants were to create water structures for the 20th Terraining Contest. Choose one in the public poll!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Join other hivers in a friendly concept-art contest. The contestants have to create a genie coming out of its container. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Melee Mapping Contest #4: 2v2 - Results are out! Step by to congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. We're hosting the 15th Mini-Mapping Contest with YouTuber Abelhawk! The contestants are to create a custom map that uses the hidden content within Warcraft 3 or is inspired by any of the many secrets within the game.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Custom MPQ

Discussion in 'General Mapping Tutorials' started by Chaosy, Jan 9, 2014.

  1. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17

    Custom MPQ tutorial step by step


    by Chaosy


    Introduction


    I have seen this question many times recently so I decided to make a short tutorial on how to do it.
    If you don't know anything about using a custom MPQ it basicly allows a multiplayer map to extend the 8 mb limit on battle.net.
    We put models and skins in one of the MPQs that Warcraft 3 uses to run the game and save them there instead of in the map. However everyone who plays your map will need this modified MPQ so it would be smart to tell those
    who download the map to backup the MPQ before they download yours.​

    What is needed?


    An MPQ editor I would suggest this one - Ladik's MPQ editor
    Warcraft 3 (no shit Sherlock)​

    Let us start then


    First of you need to locate your WC3 directory. Normally found at "C\Program Files\Warcraft III"
    In your WC3 folder you will hopefully find some MPQ files, I have choosen to edit the "War3x.mpq".
    So open it up with your MPQ editor.
    Sorry for the Swedish language but I still think the pic is helpful. In English it says "open with"

    [​IMG]


    Once the editor is open it should look like this.

    [​IMG]


    Now, you should create a new folder to put for stuff in. Right click "mpqname.mpq" in the left folder section and then "new folder"

    [​IMG]


    Now that we got our folder we can start adding files. Make sure you select your folder.

    [​IMG]


    I will add this model

    Anyway, once the model is imported it should look like this.

    [​IMG]


    Now open the WE and get into the object editor. Once in the object editor you choose a unit and then go to the model field. Then you put the path for your model. "FolderName\modelname.mdl"

    [​IMG]


    Once you have done that youre done your model should now appear ingame.

    [​IMG]

    Hey! You have not showed how to use skins and textures!


    I waited with this because I wanted the basic method to be fully understood.

    Icons - Icons are imported exactly the same way as models you just put them into a folder and then use the path. However it's smart to organize your files by having one folder for models and one for icons. For example you can create a new folder inside your first folder. So the paths could be "AwesomeMap\Models\ModelName.mdl" and "AwesomeMap\Icons\IconName.blp"

    Skins - A downloaded skin needs to be imported at the path the uploader tells you too.

    [​IMG]

    so in this case we click on the unit folder and then the creep folder and so on and then we replace the current texture with the downloaded one. Not harder than importing a model

    Textures - Those needs to be placed at the base of the MPQ, meaning not inside a folder. Notice when you import a .blp file via the import manager you remove the "war3mapimported\" from the path right? That tells us that the textures we import wont be placed in the "war3mapimported" folder. It should be placed within the red markings

    [​IMG]

    Example:
    I got a WoW model (not ripped by me) it has the following files:
    [​IMG]

    and then we place the model into our folder

    [​IMG]

    then we place the textures at the base of the mpq

    [​IMG]

    set the path ingame

    [​IMG]

    profit

    [​IMG]


    However this is just for most textures. Some textures uses different paths but then you just import them as they were a skin and put them at the path provided by the model creator.
    If you don't like having your texture files at the base of the MPQ you can actually fix that by editing the models the texture(s) are attached too. However I am no model expert so I can't show how to do that part.
    However I found this thread that should explain it to you.

    Sound and Music - These are rather simple to import but it seems that wc3 doesn't load every music file found in the music folder. You need to replace some original sound / music in order to make it display in the sound editor. In war3x.mpq uo go to Sound\music\mp3\and replace one of the files there​

    Credits


    Sindorei300 - Featured model​
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2016
  2. IamFootman061

    IamFootman061

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    194
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Quite useful but those screenshots had other language.
     
  3. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    there was only one of those and I wrote the translation anyway. I wont re-download my windows 7 to update one picture
     
  4. neo_sluf

    neo_sluf

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,432
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    5
    Resources:
    5
    Nice tutorial... though some players and most in our place... Internet Cafe' computers are locked and you can't open wc3 folder. So there will be still a problem.

    Actually if this method is really good and convenient Icefrog would use this in Dota since dota is now on 8.3 mb and 0.4 mb more it wont reach the limit.

    But again this is good... nice tutorial +rep..
     
  5. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    thanks :)
    yes this would not work on lans unless you got acces to the files. But if you dont got acces to the files you wont be able to download maps either so.

    edit: added a example with a model which use 5 textures.

    edit: added a short explaination on how to import sound and music into the MPQ
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2014
  6. Sunreaver

    Sunreaver

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199
    Resources:
    13
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    12
    Resources:
    13
    Thanks this helps a lot that I change the original unit skins to the one's 67Chrome made
     
  7. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    yeah it can be quite useful!
     
  8. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,784
    Resources:
    11
    Models:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    11
    What happens if I replace the default music files of WC3 with custom ones and only some players in the (bnet) game have the altered MPQ?
    Will there be a desync or crash or will the other players just play the default files instead?

    This could basicly be a perfect method to allow unlimited custom mp3 imports at high quality.
     
  9. Daffa the Mage

    Daffa the Mage

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,538
    Resources:
    26
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    26
    I guess it won't desync, but the risk is mainly the data send will be different (some got no music while others have)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2015
  10. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    I think everything would be invisible..

    since the game will look for a model/texture at a certain location, if it cant find something there the unit or whatever will be without model (invis)

    just set model path for a footman to yoloswag1337.mdx to test.
     
  11. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,617
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    This is a neat trick, and a potentially useful tutorial.

    However I think SharpCraft is a better option now.

    Maybe you could state that somewhere in the tutorial?
     
  12. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    I have not tested SharpCraft out. Or well I have but I have not checked the features. Once it's released I will take a deeper look.
     
  13. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,617
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    It's been released for quite a while now.

    Not to mention you won't have to download a +1GB MPQ just to play a map.
     
  14. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    I thought it was in beta stage, my bad then I guess.

    Anyway, you can make really smart use of this, you only add textures in the MPQ this way the map will be playable without the MPQ but it will enchant the experiance.
    For a optinal solution, (not TM) you could merge 2 existing MPQ's into one leaving one empty. That would reduce the download size by a whole lot.
    You could even extract the files directly into the WC3 directory. (this would mess up the folder completely, but it would be a solution to the size problem.)
     
  15. The Algerien

    The Algerien

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    need engish screenshots . no one understands swidish!!!!!
     
  16. PurgeandFire

    PurgeandFire

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,420
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    9
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    18
    The only part that is Swedish is the first screenshot. It is just right-click -> Open With -> Ladik's MPQ Editor.
     
  17. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    +I wrote the translation.
     
  18. Paillan

    Paillan

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,011
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    I just had a doubt... can you work with spells of war3?
     
  19. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    hm, what do you mean? Spell effects?
     
  20. Paillan

    Paillan

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,011
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    no, spells itself, open them like a notepad++ or something...