1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Customizing your Warcraft

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Tutorials' started by Apheraz Lucent, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. Apheraz Lucent

    Apheraz Lucent

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,312
    Resources:
    4
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    [point]Top of page[/point]

    Warcraft III
    How to customize it?



    With the help of this tutorial, you will learn how to effectively and simply replace existing files in Warcraft databases, without having to mess up the MPQ packs. This will enable you to have your favorite resources in any map you play!

    Content of tutorial:


    I - Allowing Custom Files
    II - Finding Resources
    III - Replacing Files
    IIIa - Skins
    IIIb - Icons
    IIIc - Models
    IIId - Sounds
    IV - Main Menu Background

    [point]First Chapter[/point]

    I - Allowing Custom Files



    First of all, to get this started, you will need to edit Warcraft's registry, in order to allow your files to be applied. To do this, simply follow these steps:
    1. Hit the "Start" button.
    2. Open the "Run" sub-program.
    3. Type in "regedit" (Without punctuation) and click on "OK"
    4. When the Registry Editor opens, find the Main Folder called "HKEY_CURRENT_USER", and open it.
    5. Open the "Software" sub-folder.
    6. Search for "Blizzard Entertainment" sub-folder, and open it.
    7. Click only once on "Warcraft III" sub-folder.
    8. Now, you will see a list on the right side of the screen. Find the registry that says "Allow Local Files", and open it (Double click).
    9. In the field of "Value Data", replace the zero (0) with number one (1). Make sure that the "Hexadecimal" flag is checked.
    10. Hit okay. The registry you edited should display this in Data category: 0.00000001 (1).

    You're finished with this part of the job. If your files are not being replaced, check again if you have edited the registry correctly.

    :wink: Hint: You can't replace files that are already in maps you play, and this mainly concentrates on Imported resources. Map's MPQ has higher priority than your files. Also, files you replace are only visible to you.


    [point]Second Chapter[/point]

    II - Finding Resources



    I won't discuss this much, since on this site, The Hiveworkshop, you will find plenty of Models, Skins and Icons to use.
    But there is one thing you should keep an eye for: some models use custom skins, and some skins are made in two or more parts. Icons do not suffer from any problems, with an exception that you can find units in most maps that use same icons for their skills, which can look weird if the themes are not same.

    [point]Third Chapter[/point]

    III - Replacing Files



    This is the most important part, yet the easiest. All you will need to do is to find the resources you like, and seek the path. The easiest way to find the correct path for the resource you would like to display is to use the http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/war3-model-editor-62876/, or the harder way with http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/warcraft-iii-viewer-62878/. The process is simple now.

    With Magos' Warcraft III Model Editor, just open the "Windows" and then "MPQ Browser", "File" afterwards, and select the MPQ you would like to open. "war3.mpq" contains files before the Frozen Throne, and vice verse for the "war3x.mpq".

    With Warcraft III Viewer, just hit "Ctrl + F" and type first few letters of what you seek. Note that you will might have to open the right MPQ before you seek what you want. I still suggest Magos' Editor, since it's simpler, easier and a lot more functional.

    Please see the example in skins so that you can understand all this better.

    [point]Third Chapter1[/point]IIIa - Skins
    I will use this skin of Jaina, by 67chrome. I opened Magos' Editor, and found the Jaina files in War3.mpq database, under "Units -> Human -> Jaina".

    To successively replace Jaina's skin, enter your Warcraft III folder, which is usually found at "C:\Program Files\Warcraft III". Now create a new folder in it, called "Units". In newly created folder, create another one called "Human". Then, another one in it, called "Jaina". You see what I did there, and why I told you to use Magos' Editor? With it, the files you want to replace have the exact same path as their parent folders. If you look at your Editor, you will notice that the Jaina Resources are found under the path made of parent folders "Units\Human\Jaina". Each dash, or new folder, is one part of the path. Easy, huh?

    To replace skins, just place the skin file in your main folder, which would be "Jaina" this time. You will have to rename the file to the same name which it uses in war3.mpq/war3x.mpq. I renamed my downloaded skin, the "BloodElfEnchantress" to "Jaina". The skin should be replaced now.


    [point]Third Chapter2[/point]IIIb - Icons
    Icons are the simplest one to replace. Find the icons you would like to use, and just make one new folder called "ReplaceableTextures". In it, go ahead and create two new folders, called "CommandButtons" and "CommandButtonsDisabled". Place the BTNYourIcon in the first folder, and DISBTNYourIcon in the second one. Remember to change names of the icons to what you want to replace, like "BTNJaina" and "DISBTNJaina".


    [point]Third Chapter3[/point]IIIc - Models
    Replace the models by paths. If the model uses custom textures, you should place the textures in exact folders as the models request, with same names, like "Textures\Princess_v2.blp"


    [point]Third Chapter4[/point]IIId - Sounds
    Just find the paths, and replace the sounds. Note that the sounds have to be the same format which Warcraft III uses, and that would be .wav type.


    [point]Fourth Chapter[/point]

    IV - Main Menu Background


    So you want that awesome Night Elf Archer to watch you in the main menus, rather than old and boring Frozen Throne? It is simple as this: all you need to do is to find what you want to replace. The usual path of campaign screens, in both Regular and Expansion MPQs is: UI\Glues\SinglePlayer

    Find the one you want, extract it, and replace the parent folders in your Warcraft III folder in the way I explained up there. The only thing you will need is the .mdx file. The textures can be replaced if you wish to customize the Menu even more. The path (with parent folders) should be:

    UI\Glues\MainMenu\MainMenu3d_exp\MainMenu3d_exp.mdx


    We're done! I hope that, with the help this tutorial provided you, you will have some fun while creating your own Warcraft!

    Back to the Top
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  2. PurgeandFire

    PurgeandFire

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,430
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    9
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    18
    Nice tutorial! A useful link for those who want to mod their own warcraft mpq's.

    ~Approved.
     
  3. Apheraz Lucent

    Apheraz Lucent

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,312
    Resources:
    4
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Update: added fourth chapter which explains how to customize your Warcraft III Main Menu background.

    I am really close with models, by the way. I should be able to update this soon.
     
  4. Apheraz Lucent

    Apheraz Lucent

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,312
    Resources:
    4
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Update: added model replacements.
     
  5. gorillabull

    gorillabull

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,368
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    interesting.. for some reason when i enable local files wc3 can not load certain maps
     
  6. Adiktuz

    Adiktuz

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,674
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    23
    that's weird... I never had problems with local files...
     
  7. sigmaceti

    sigmaceti

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    what I need to know is can I add file whit out replacing them, in MPQ.
     
  8. noob

    noob

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    822
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes you can add new files without replacing old ones but it will be useful only for playing maps using those new files and did not imported them.
     
  9. Zed

    Zed

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Nice :)
     
  10. Strange1884

    Strange1884

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    BattleNet music

    Hey. It's a really nice tutorial and certainly using it! :goblin_good_job:

    Although I'm having trouble finding BattleNet music file. It's annoying when you sit in the lobby
    waiting for online game to start and there's the same old boring music in the background.

    Where can I find the file or is there a file for it?
     
  11. Zed

    Zed

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Browse through mpq files :)
     
  12. Strange1884

    Strange1884

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Okay, I realized that BattleNet actually plays all the music that you have in Warcraft 3 including race themes and such. :p
    I wonder though if you're able to make it so that it only plays one theme...
     
  13. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,303
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Delete all other themes except 1? Or replace all themes with 1.
     
  14. vasyapro2005

    vasyapro2005

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Nice tutorial! Thanks for it! I changed backgroud pic, main menu buttons, deleted lots of frames, disabled wind whistling which I hate and menu pop-up\pop-down sounds.
    The last thing I need to do: disable delay between menu pop-up and pop-down. Like when you click "Local Area Network" and main menu hiding down for 1 second and LAN menu showing up for 1 second. I want to make it immediately. Any ideas how to do this?
     
  15. Apheraz Lucent

    Apheraz Lucent

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,312
    Resources:
    4
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    That'd involve programming, unfortunately, out of my branch.
     
  16. vasyapro2005

    vasyapro2005

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Maybe you know someone who know something about that?
     
  17. kamyflex

    kamyflex

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    here i have a wow model with textures that has no path, which i figured out in magos model editor, shall i just put them in the same folder as the model ??

    EDIT : Problem solved here : http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/...98/custom-local-model-not-showing-why-259931/
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2014
  18. Dawnbringer

    Dawnbringer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello! Thanks for this awesome guide! Can i make a custom 3D main menu background ? If yes, can anyone write a tutorial ?

    Regards
     
  19. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,303
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes you can :)
     
  20. Dawnbringer

    Dawnbringer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0