1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Compete in Concept Art Contest - Bounty Hunter . May the best artist's bounty hunter execute!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Modeling Mini-Contest #5 - Familiar is up! Compete to design a pet companion to a lonely WC3 Hero of your preference.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The present for our Christmas Mini-Texturing Contest finally arrived. Check out the results!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 6th installment of our Music Contest just got fired up! Now with an Apocalyptic taste. Get started and compete in this musical battle!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Looking to expand an altered melee race of yours? Join the Advanced Techtree Contest - Recycle, Revise, Reinvent contest!
    Dismiss Notice

Charity

Discussion in 'Idea Factory' started by HorizonTal, Jun 7, 2008.

  1. HorizonTal

    HorizonTal
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    I can't use JASS at all, then I basically don't know if what I'm asking is possible.

    Wouldn't it be nice if using JASS we make a TFT melee map which works in ROC? I mean, is it possible to make a working TFT melee map using JASS and the world editor of ROC?
    If so, we should, for those poor guys who can't afford the expansion.

    It would be nice even if we succeed in making a rough version of the expansion...
     
  2. Kwah

    Kwah
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,399
    I don't think that it should be that hard at all. Just copy/paste all of the units (or make new ones). It sould be easy to make identical. Blizzard might object. . . (lol)
     
  3. emperor_d3st

    emperor_d3st
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,283
    The part of it could be done but it would take ages and it wouldn't be a fun game to play. I suggest you to forget about this idea for the sake of your sanity.
     
  4. Kwah

    Kwah
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,399
    Too true. If they are cheap/poor. . . I think that there is nothing we can do to help them without making ourselves cheap/poor.

    It was a neat idea though.
     
  5. ~Void~

    ~Void~
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,435
    I'm sure, if they have enough money for a computer, they can buy TFT for 15 dollars in a bargain bin, and if not, there are other ways of getting things like that. My point is, this is pointless.
     
  6. HorizonTal

    HorizonTal
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    But there are so many people still playing on RoC...
    And all softwares should be free...
     
  7. Formula1

    Formula1
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,160
    We should just make awesome maps for em.......
    And make our own RTS using C++ and Assembly.....

    Thats what we should focus on....

    But then again...
    Doing this might be a step forward......
     
  8. kkots

    kkots
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Importing Unit Model Using Reign of Chaos

    First read the thread... it's posted very long ago when I was a complete noob (notice my signature). You know that there's noticed the WinMPQ browser (download it from Tools section). So you'll need to create your TFT map, or take already existing one, and then create an empty RoC map (you can create TXT file and change its name extension to .. erhm.. pff.. w3m (I got it!)). Then you open any TFT map with WinMPQ and drag all files from there into your RoC map. The only problem is that you can't use TFT models in Reign of Chaos, but it's very easy to solve: you open the War3.mpq with WinMPQ and find the model name you need, then you drag that model, import into your TFT map before you enchant the RoC map, then set the some unit's model to that imported file. GL

    And no tricks with the outminding JASS!!