• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Best (Model-Editing) Way to Reduce Size

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kyrbi0

Arena Moderator
Level 45
I've done a bit of searching, but I couldn't quite find what I was looking for.

So take any old given model. I want to make it smaller; how can I best do that? Specifically, in (rough) order what are the 'heaviest' parts of a model & what are the 'lightest'? Let's assume I can remove a variety of parts (animations/textures/meshes/geosets/vertices/texture animations/geoset animations/SFX/etc), and let's assume I've already linearized the whatchamacallits & mipmapped the horticulture.

So what's the hierarchy?

BIGGEST IMPACT
Animations?
Geosets?
Texture/Geoset Animations?
Textures?
Vertices
SMALLEST IMPACT

Level 51
I'm no expert but I'd say it depends on the quality of said part. Textures play a pretty big role I'd say, especially if they go up to higher quality.

Did a little resarch because you have woken up my interest. When removing the animations from a wc3 model, the filesize goes down merely by 1 or 2 kb. Makes sense too, as it is merely program code more then anything else.

The mesh itself does not play that of an important role too. When removing Thralls mesh he goes down from 165 kb to 139 kb. Not too significant.

After removing solely his bones he went straigt from 165 kb to ~30 kb. So the bones are probably the most data heavy stuff.

Removing his textures and materials only made him lose 1 kb.

So I guess you could rank it in this order:

Bones, Nodes, etc.
Geosets//Mesh
Textures (dependig on filesize of those)
Animations, Materials, etc.

For custom models you have to keep in mind that you have to import the textures too so they don't show their impact on the model itself but as their own file size.

Level 39