1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Basic Animation Transfers

Discussion in '3D Modeling Tutorials' started by Xarwin, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. Xarwin

    Xarwin

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,233
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Basic Animation Transfer Tutorial

    Hello all. In this tutorial I will explain how to edit a model covering the following basic subjects:

    - Transferring animation from one model (warcraft) to another (warcraft).

    - Adding a new animation to a model (warcraft).

    - Removing a useless animation (warcraft).

    Tools we need :

    - Warcraft 3 Viewer
    -> Download here.
    - MDLX Converter
    -> Download here.
    - Oinkerwinkle's Animation Transfer
    -> Download here.
    - Warcraft 3 Model Editor
    -> Download here.

    Tutorial Start

    Getting your model

    First of all, you must get your model that you want to edit.
    For this step we will use the Warcraft 3 Viewer.
    Open Your Warcraft 3 Viewer and browse to the Treeview (If you can not see this window, press CONTROL+H).
    Select the model/unit you prefer and right-click on it to extract it.
    Wc3Viewer1.jpg

    Extract it to a known location, so you can find it again quickly.
    Hint: Can't find your model? Press Control+F and try to search for it by name.

    Converting your model into mdl

    You will need to convert your model into .mdl format because Oinkerwinkle's Animation Transfer does not support mdx formats!

    Now, Open the MDLX Converter and load your model.
    NeWConvert1.jpg

    Be sure you selected the model you wanted, and that the type of the file is MDX 3D FILES. Open up your file and it will automatically convert your mdx model into mdl.

    There: you have finished exporting the model you wish to edit!
    Lets go to the next steps.

    Transferring an animation from one model to another

    If you followed the previous steps correctly, you already have the model file you want to change animations with.
    In order to transfer your model's animation to other animations, you will need to first search for a suitable model with fitting animations. (An example would be taking the footman animations for the priest.)
    Export the model with the animation you want again as I explained in the previous steps.

    There, now you should have two models:

    -> The model (your model which will receive the new animations).
    -> Animation Model (this model's animations will be transfered upon your model, The model).

    Now open Oinkerwinkle's Animation Transfer and do the following steps:
    transferanim.jpg

    Fill in the Base field The model you want to change animations with.

    Fill in the Animation file the Animation Model which animations will be transfered to your model (The Model).


    Fill in the Output file the location of where you want to save the model. Also change the name (if you want).

    (Notice that there are three buttons, one behind each that is named ... . I selected them with a blue color, press here to select the models, and choose the save location.)

    Press Transfer and wait a few seconds until the program gives the response : Done.
    When done, you can find your model at the location you saved it with the name you gave it!

    Warcraft 3 Model Editor is useful to view your model!
    Double click on your file, and open it with the Warcraft 3 Model editor or simply load it into the program.
    You might see your model in it, then press:
    1) Windows
    2) Animation Controller
    A window pops up with some options.
    Select the arrow (to the right of Unanimated) and pick the animation that you would like to see on your model!
    War3ME.jpg

    Selectanim.jpg

    Adding a new animation to a model

    There are three ways (or more) to actually do this.
    I will explain here the easiest way to do it.

    Check the previous steps, and get again

    two models:
    Code (Text):
    -> [color=red]The model[/color] (your model which will receive the new animations).
    -> [color=royalblue]Animation Model[/color] (this model its animations will be transfered upon your model, [color=red]The model[/color]).
     
    Open the model (with the animation you want to transfer) in the Warcraft 3 Model Editor and enter the animation screen.
    War3ME.jpg
    Selectanim.jpg

    You may see a lot of animations, select the one you want to transfer to your model and write (or keep in mind) the animation name. I will use as example:
    Spell - Channel.
    StandChannel.jpg

    If you have your models then you may open Oinkerwinkle's Animation Transfer and:

    Fill in the Base field of the model you want to add a new animation to.

    Fill in the Animation file of the Animation Model where the animation(s) will be taken from.

    Fill in the Output file the location of where you want to save the model. Also again, change the name if you want.

    Attention! A new step here,
    Select the "Transfer single animation" and fill in the Animation to transfer field with your chosen animation name. In this case, it would be
    Spell - Channel.
    AddAnim.jpg

    Press "Transfer" and wait a few seconds until Done pops up.
    There, You just added a new animation to your model!


    Removing a useless animation

    The last subject of this tutorial.
    Again, there are several options to remove animations from a model but I will show the easiest way for beginners.

    Export again a model, the one you would like to remove one or several animations from.
    (This model does not have to be converted into .mdl format, since it works with both file types *mdx & *mdl).

    Open your model with the Warcraft 3 Model Editor.
    Go to :
    1) Windows
    2) Sequence Manager

    AnimDelete.jpg

    A window pops up again and you may see several animation names like walk, death, attack -1, ... and so on.
    To remove an animation, simply right click at it and press remove.
    RemoveAnim.jpg

    The animation gets removed now. Save the file and you're done!

    If you don't remember the animation name you wanted to remove, you may also view it again by using the Animation Controller.
    War3ME.jpg
    Selectanim.jpg

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thats it! I hope you enjoyed it!

    Hints:
    - Not all animations can be transfered and will show wrong animations.
    - Is your model giving randomly corpses? visit this link then.
    - Sometimes you are unable to open converted mdl files with the Warcraft 3 Model Editor. Simply open the mdl file with the MDLX Converter and it will be converted back to a mdx file.

    ~- Xarwin
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2012
  2. 1)ark_NiTe

    1)ark_NiTe

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,680
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    Awesome Heero, great job. It's interesting that this is exactly what I needed for the Mini-Game contest and I had no idea how to do it, but I found it as the first thread in this section!

    EDIT: This does not work for me, each time I try to add all the animations it will erase all the others that were originally with the base model, and if I try to add one animation from the animation model to the base model, and then try to open it up I get the error: Unable to load "C:\ETC.", unknown group "20100:"!
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  3. Nasrudin

    Nasrudin

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    503
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    28
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    29
    Deleting a sequence makes an animation unplayable, it does not remove it. All the bones' keyframes are still there taking up space.
    To remove them use the look at the program in this post.
     
  4. Dracula

    Dracula

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    how come when i tried to add one animation it gives me error? do i remove the animation before adding or does it overwrite, it gives the the error everytime i use add one animation.
     
  5. Kitabatake

    Kitabatake

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,261
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    150
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    165
    Fixing screwed up transfers

    That is because Anim transfer screws up the model when only one animation is transferred. And magos model editor can only open somewhat perfect models.

    BUT you can still fix it.

    • Get yobguls converter here
    • Convert the .mdl model that gives the error into .mdx with the converter
    • Try to open the .mdx model with magos

    Without this converter the transfer of a single animation will always fail.
    With this converter the transfer of a single animation will sometimes fail.

    meaning: sometimes the model will not work even if you try to convert it to .mdx
    Then you should try renaming the bones or getting the animations from another model.
     
  6. gargaeus

    gargaeus

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Failure...

    whenever i try to transfer animations it says done but when i open the model nothing happened:cry:
     
  7. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    wow. More details?
     
  8. Deep Sea Kraken

    Deep Sea Kraken

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    994
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    6
    Resources:
    6
    Im trying to add a single animation to a model, i did what Kita said by converting the .mdl to .mdx but the animation doesnt show up at all.
     
  9. Kitabatake

    Kitabatake

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,261
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    150
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    165
    Like I said,

    If you do what I said, you have a better chance to succeed, but there are certain unit's whose animations just don't match because of different bone names.

    Also some times the problem can be that the bones have same names, but in the other model they are helpers instead of bones.
    Then you can open the model (.mdl) in a notepad (before transferring animations) and replacing every "helper" word with "bone", except the very first one which is "number of helpers".

    Then you'll just have to change the number of helpers to 0 and number of bones to number of bones + number of helpers.

    But even this doesn't work with ALL models.
     
  10. Ravencore

    Ravencore

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Error!

    i'm getting this error after I transfer a single anim:
    Expected "}" , got "2" in group "Bone" in "model.mdl"
    PLZ HELP
     
  11. Kitabatake

    Kitabatake

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,261
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    150
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    165
    Like I said before:

    You have transferred a single anim -> model gets bugged
    next you should convert the model to .mdx by using Yubguls converter which I mentioned in my earlier post.
    Then try opening your model in magos model editor.
     
  12. NatDis

    NatDis

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    Eh I thought Magos' Model Editor could rename bones but the anim still did not transfer.
     
  13. Lillerinmuna

    Lillerinmuna

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Maxium number of animations

    Is there some maxium for the animation?? is it 11??
     
  14. vhx

    vhx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Is this suppose to transfer the animated model to it as well? Like say I wanted to take a Doodad model, and add a build animation to it from another model. Is this suppose to transfer the build animation over to it? Like changing the model associated with the animation? If not, what guide should that fall into?
     
  15. XS-Archangel

    XS-Archangel

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Resources:
    9
    Icons:
    1
    Skins:
    5
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    9
    Heero can you post this on you "know which site"? :)
    We put tutorial section there
     
  16. Drazalon

    Drazalon

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    hmmm. an interesting process, very quite useful indeed nontheless.

    However is there a way to rename the animation using the programs required? Or must i go into the mdl txt and rename it from there and what not?

    A final note Bravo!


    EDIT: ahhh nevermind you do have to open up a Text Program and edit the names from there =]
    Love this tutorial. By far is helping my map the most.
     
  17. Lord_Firage

    Lord_Firage

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    411
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    5
    - Warcraft 3 Model Editor
    -> Download here.

    Tool doesn't Exist
     
  18. Johny F.

    Johny F.

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    309
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    it all works but when i want to import my model in a map i get a fatal error
     
  19. Verdun

    Verdun

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Basically the new model needs the same bones as the model you take the animations from. Question, if I use gmax, can I just copy/paste (by merging) these bones from the original model into my new one? Or will this only screw up everything?
     
  20. apaka

    apaka

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    8
    Resources:
    8