1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Announcement: Gaias final 1.2C(9) release and future Map Expander releases

Discussion in 'Gaias Retaliation ORPG' started by Zwiebelchen, Aug 27, 2016.

  1. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,867
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    Hello folks; sorry for my absence, but I had been hit with a hard work schedule over the last weeks and only visited the Discord channel briefly to give some minor updates.
    As many people don't have Discord, I see how this is a bad thing and will try to post more progress updates in the forums again for you interested people to catch up.


    As you guys noticed, I have been trying hard to push out new content within the limits of what is possible in the few amounts of kilobytes I still have left before I will hit the magic 8 MB map size limit. But there is only so much I can do from here on.
    After all, even simple JASS code takes up significant map space at some point (after all, each typed letter equals 1 byte) and I reached a huge roadblock at which I don't even have the means to add new abilities or skills before tipping the game over the limit.


    But I also don't want to wait for Blizzard patches any further, because I feel it might take ages for them to fulfill their promises. And I'm starting to have more and more doubts that it will happen at all.


    So over the next days, I will try to release the final iteration of "Bnet-ready" 1.2C, which will have all the currently known bugs and issues fixed, aswell as fixing some problems in Blackfire Deep.
    After that, I will drop support for the current variant of the map and will continue with content creation, releasing a size-updated version containing new items (especially for Blackfire Deep), new abilities, new mounts and updated (environment and hero) textures.

    This new unofficial "Gold" version will require the use of Warcraft III bypass map file size limit. [ver.6] to play and will be my new developement build until Blizzard patches the game again. At this point, we will hopefully get the map size limit increased so that the Gold version can become the new official.
    I really hate to split the community here, but there is no way around that for the time being.

    "Gold" version updates will be posted as a seperate map thread, so that both versions do not get confused with each other. I also hope that we will be able to host both versions of the map via the host bot simultanously, so that people that don't want to install the 3rd party tool I linked above will still be able to play 1.2C(9) normally.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2016
  2. sluk

    sluk

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    617
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    wait so i have a map he is now 21 000 KB i mean i will make it less but not less than 19 000-18 000 so i can not play it online?
     
  3. Emm-A-

    Emm-A-

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi Zwiebelchen,

    I think, you are doing the right thing, getting rid of stupid constraints. I think, your game is big enough to take this step.

    Did you think of creating a poll for that? It is usually a good idea to involve fans, people ...

    Good luck with all of that! :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2016
  4. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,867
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    I thought long about taking this step. And if there was a way not to divide the community, I would have taken it, believe me. The amount of compression and optimization I applied behind the scenes is obscene. I am still amazed at times about how far I could take this before reaching the limit, but there is no way I can go on from this point. I pushed everything to the limit.

    At this point, all I can hope for is that the experienced players join the bandwagon and help spread the word once it's done, so that more casual players can find their way to the new extended Gaias. I plan to put a message in the loading screen message of the last release aswell, so that casual players get informed about the divide and get presented a solution on how to continue playing beyond that.


    So there is no real point in having a poll here, as there is no way for me to continue otherwise. So the poll would basicly be: "do you want me to continue? - Yes/No"? And I bet that one would be a landslide.

    And the third option of slimming down the map is not an option for me: I refuse to compromise artistic quality (= removing art assets) for a stupid limit that shouldn't have been there in the first place.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2016
  5. sluk

    sluk

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    617
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ? limit? i dont have a limit i mean on my map
    like i have a map from 21 KB as i already said
     
  6. Emm-A-

    Emm-A-

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I thought more about "what do you think about taking this step?" Usually, asking people about their opinion increases the probability, that something like this works out well in the end.
     
  7. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,867
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    Well, that's what this thread is for. Feel free to share your thoughts about it.
     
  8. Emm-A-

    Emm-A-

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    then we missunderstood each other. The threads title and first post does not really make it clear, that you would like people share their thoughts here, that is why I was asking.

    Going to quite myself:
     
  9. sluk

    sluk

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    617
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    so i wanna share something but i know that you all ignore me but
    Gaias is a game that i really love at low lvl when there is a goal going to max lvl and exploring new area's and get gear....
    when i was max lvl i knew there will come updates and there will be new gear new area's... but i never had the real GOAL FEELING again
    my suggestion:
    i love the cinamtic and the lore/story and everything like that and in the beginning there was a better one since we have moved to the snow land and stuff everybody just wants bosses
    so this is why i want that we go in the hart of the plague in the city in de south forgot the name but you know what i mean and than get the quests for holding waves of undead knowing secrets by going in to the ruins of the city also making like area's with puzzle's and mistery's you have to solve new dungeon and as final boss....
    boss

    some kind of stupit plot twist or just Gaia


    but do focus more on quests puzzles and random epic mini bosses and a new feature called:
    Guilds

    now every class has is own guild wich might be in the soul vault and thats where you can do guild quests to get some cool reward like gear,
    runes(something new that you can use to make special gadgets like:summon some minions,make a super explosion,special potions... that you can use in your slot 6)




    and one more thing make casimir a merc pls :D
    actually i think i am gonna change my map into something like that :)
     
  10. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,867
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    The story for the game is already decided and written-out and will be concluded in Arsaios. So if you are here for the story, you will get your conclusion in the next major content update in D4.
    The game will continue with more content after that (I designed the story in a way that allows that), but the overarching plotline will be concluded at this point.

    Puzzles will never be a thing because puzzles have the tendency to suck in multiplayer games.
    Also, class-specific quests will most likely not be a thing again because they tend to be a lot of work to make for a very little return of investment. I'd rather have more normal quests than class specific quests.

    Casimir is too similar to Vale. Also, it makes no sense for him to become a mercenary. He is a blacksmith apprentice, not an adventurer. But all power to you making a map that you enjoy.
     
  11. sluk

    sluk

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    617
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ok i understand sad :-( i need 1.2 D
    but one more thing what is that limit? i dont have it
     
  12. Jumbo

    Jumbo

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,296
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Zwieb this is a great decision. Finally you can do the obvious thing and conclude D4 and the main story, but furthermore you can beautify the game beyond recognition if you want to. Mytargas can finally use the HD textures and so can the trees and everything else. Amazing! Cannot wait! :)
     
  13. Dat-C3

    Dat-C3

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,478
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    5
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    10
    Or you could do this;
    Click Me!

    • Untitled Trigger 001
      • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) skips a cinematic sequence
      • Conditions
      • Actions
      • Set p = (Triggering player)
      • Set ut1 = Peasant
      • Set ut1_Copy = Peasant
      • Set ut1_Copy_2 = ut1
      • Custom script: if GetLocalPlayer() == udg_p then
      • Set ut1_Copy_2 = ut1_Copy
      • Custom script: endif
      • Unit - Create 1 ut1_Copy_2 for Player 1 (Red) at (Player 1 (Red) start location) facing Default building facing degrees
     
  14. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,867
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    1.2C(9) just got it's release.
    Enjoy!
     
  15. LeP

    LeP

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    RE: mapsize

    Are you aware of my two tools? BLPaletter Updates and MPQ Compressor

    You might've already used them. But i did a quick test on your war3map.j and got it reduced by another 17600 bytes. I couldn't test it on your whole map as i don't have a complete listfile, so this is why i don't know if you already apply my tool.

    e: also if i may say so: your .j is far from minimal.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2016
  16. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,867
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    I didn't use MPQ compressor, but I do use BLPaletter occasionally where it makes sense.

    Unfortunately, 17600 bytes is more or less a drop on the proverbial hot stone in this case. It might help me sneaking some more code in, but I won't be able to import any new art assets with that.
     
  17. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,757
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    I still think Blizzard is going to eventually increase the file size limit. But, if you're insistent on forcing users to download something, why not go all the way with SharpCraft, or something like it?

    At the very least you could get rid of save codes, if you haven't already.
     
  18. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,867
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    That's why I am going this route... as soon as blizz patches the game I can drop the bypasser requirement and we are back to normal. Thats also why I don't want Sharpcraft.
     
  19. Manipulation

    Manipulation

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    how much is going to be the size limit when the patch comes out?
     
  20. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,867
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    How am I supposed to know? I don't work for blizzard.