1. The Melee Mapping Contest #4: 2v2 - Results are out! Step by to congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We're hosting the 15th Mini-Mapping Contest with YouTuber Abelhawk! The contestants are to create a custom map that uses the hidden content within Warcraft 3 or is inspired by any of the many secrets within the game.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The 20th iteration of the Terraining Contest is upon us! Join and create exquisite Water Structures for it.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice

WoW Ripping Tutorial - Creature/

Discussion in 'Tutorial Submission' started by Power, Nov 15, 2018.

  1. Power

    Power

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    World of Warcraft Creature Ripping.
    By Warcraft Underground Staff Team.

    Difficulty: Easy to Medium.

    Tools Required :
    BLP Lab : BLP Lab v0.5.0
    Mdlvis : Mdlvis: model edition/creation, animation and UV Mapping
    Magos : War3 Model Editor
    Casc Explorer : WoW-Tools/CASCExplorer
    jm2converter : jm2converter.jar
    010 Edtor : 010 Editor 7.0.2 x64.rar

    This tutorial is going to teach you how to rip World of Warcraft creatures,attachments like swords ,shoulders , helmets and some doodads that are in m2 format.Also with this tutorial you wont be able to rip Character Models or WMO Buildings for those we will prepare another tutorial.

    Note :
    If you have basic knowledge about warcraft 3 model edit this tutorial is going to be pretty easy for you.

    First you need to find the creature you want to rip by using Casc Explorer.
    Open the app > File > Open Online Storage > Open WOW PTR.
    After that a window is going to pop up, so you can select the latest patch. Just press it and wait to load.

    [​IMG]

    After Casc Explorer is open is going to look like this :

    [​IMG]

    Just open the creature folder so you can select your model.
    I selected the Naga Brute Boss, just select all the files and hit extract to your desired destination

    [​IMG]

    After you finish your extracting open the folder of your model and there you're going to see 4 different file types.
    M2 , Skin, BLP and Anim File .

    [​IMG]

    First you have to open the M2 file by right click and open with Notepad or Notepad++

    [​IMG]

    Don't panic it's easy , just delete these lines so the file need to start start with MD20 ALWAYS!

    [​IMG]

    After that just click save and you're done!


    Now we are going to the ANIM Files
    Select them all and open them with 010 Editor!

    [​IMG]

    When you open them , you have to delete the first 7 Bytes of the Anim , just select them and hit the DEL button. Save it and do it for every Anim File of the model you want to rip.

    [​IMG]

    Warning , Please Do not skip these steps, because if you do , your model wont be able to get convereted.

    After you finish all these steps we can start converting the model!

    Open Command Prompt and start typing java jar and drag the jm2converter.rar to it, is going to look like this :

    [​IMG]

    You should write the following :
    java -jar (drag the jm2converter here) -in (drag the m2 file of the model you want) -out (drag the same m2 file again) -bc

    EXAMPLE :
    java -jar C:\Users\henri_000\Desktop\jm2converter.jar -in C:\Users\henri_000\Desktop\creature\nagabruteboss\nagabruteboss.m2 -out C:\Users\henri_000\Desktop\creature\nagabruteboss\nagabruteboss.m2 -bc

    [​IMG]

    And Just hit ENTER.
    After the convert is finished youre going to see the results.

    [​IMG]

    Done you have successfully ripped a WoW Creature!


    Now we need to convert the blp files for Warcraft Use!
    Open BLP lab, Tools > Batch Converter or just hit F7.
    Select the folder of your model and hit CONVERT!

    [​IMG]


    Now we have to optimize the model for Warcraft 3 Use!

    Open the m2 model with mdlvis, after that hit Optimization > Optimize and save it as MDX.

    [​IMG]



    Now open the model with Magos Model Editor, and go directly to Texture Manager and start deleting all the texture files the model has.


    [​IMG]

    After that start adding the textures of the model and start applying them via Material Editor on every material file until you find the right blp file for the right material file.

    [​IMG]

    And the model is going to look like this :

    [​IMG]

    Now go to Node Manager and start deleting all the attachments of the model so we can add our own later.

    [​IMG]
    After you finish save the model and open it with MDLVIS.
    In Vortex editor of Mdlvis youre going to see that the model has too many duplicated Geosets.

    [​IMG]

    Start Deleting them until you have your original working ones.

    [​IMG]

    After that go to Optimization - Optimize and hit Optimize

    [​IMG]

    Save it!

    Now your model is ready WC3 use , fully optimized, you just have to add attachments to the model,
    The default attachemts that i add on every wow rip is - Overhead, Origin, Chest, Head , Hand Right/Left.


    This is the easiest way for us to explain this tutorial, If you want i can make a video too!

    Hope you like it !
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2018
  2. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9,218
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Not sure if this helps or not but I'm gonna link this post from another threadt here: click.

    Not sure about external sites for links. Wouldn't uploading those programs in your pastebin (of Hiveworkshop) and linking them be better?

    Why?
    What do these things actually do? Why are they required?
     
  3. YourArthas

    YourArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Another note: After converting model be sure to export textures AGAIN otherwise alpha channels will be messed up. And sometimes models have wrong normals cause of mdlvis , you can select right ones with mdlvis and if it has none , try importing it with neodex and export again with option fix normals checked (it mostly works).

    First 7 bytes thing is because converter was not updated to Legion 7.3 and the new 'headers' are added to those bytes in patch 7.3

    Also note that this is for fully ripping a model with all it's animations you can preview all of them and then delete unneeded ones and rename animations as you wish when you make the model ready for your map
     
  4. Power

    Power

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    7
    Resources:
    7

    The link you provided with tutorials is outdated, they won't work anymore.

    Second , i will move the downloads into pastebin as soon is possible.

    And Last , if you don't delete them, when you convert the model and open it in MDLVIS the animations are going to be bugged and the model is going to be out of use. The converter was programmed to convert models with MD20 at start, but blizzard updated their m2 models and now you have to delete the first 7 bytes.
     
  5. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9,218
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    :(
    So, that doesn't affect the models at all? That's awesome, that they still work.
     
  6. YourArthas

    YourArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes it is just a recently added header to .anim files just think like model's are not called as 'Warcraft III' model but as 'Warcraft III Reforged' model, if you keep the added 'reforged' converter could not understand it well and messes up animations but if you delete it they are all fine
     
  7. Archian

    Archian

    Site Director

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,709
    Resources:
    12
    Skins:
    1
    Tutorials:
    11
    Resources:
    12
    Great work! I'll invite more people here so they can leave feedback.

    My suggestions so far:

    • Use the word "export" instead of "ripping".
    • Don't link to other sites for downloads. The images and tools used should be on the Hive. Simply upload it to our pastebin (and make them last 'forever') and link to it. We don't want broken links in the future etc.

      These 3 link to other sites:
    • Use SPOILER tags for the images.

      EXAMPLE

    • The formatting could be improved a bit e.g. use headlines.
    • You should also explain how to add attachment points :)
    @PurgeandFire @FerSZ @General Frank

    Please do :)

    This should probably be in the tutorial :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2018
  8. Power

    Power

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    Archian , i didnt added the jm2 converter and casc explorer because these programs are always updated by their creators , so i believe is going to be better if i let them like this , also today i'm traveling all day so i won't be able to update the tutorial , But after i reach my destination i will update it the best i can , but please i need feedback , i want peoples to try it .
     
  9. PurgeandFire

    PurgeandFire

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,420
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    9
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    18
    images are broken/not loading for me, i'll take a closer look when they're available. Looks promising, just needs some formatting and spelling/grammar fixes
     
  10. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9,218
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    @Power just needs to take a look at the BB codes to get the idea how writing works on Hiveworkshop: BB Codes | HIVE
     
  11. Ether

    Ether

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Messages:
    523
    Resources:
    3
    Skins:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    @Power
    Hello, I just read the tutorial and it looks very good. Anyways, I followed this and an error when 40-50% of CDN index building loads...

    [​IMG]

    Any troubleshooting advice here? Maybe someone else might experience this problem.
     
  12. YourArthas

    YourArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Online feature is like this sadly try again and again till it works, or use your installed WoW
     
  13. Daffa the Mage

    Daffa the Mage

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,531
    Resources:
    26
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    26
    Image attachments are broken.
     
  14. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,556
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    Images are indeed broken.

    But, more importantly I think there are too many of them.
    For example, I do not think we need a picture how to right click somewhere.
    But if you insist, put it in a hidden tag.

    Because I feel like the format of:

    1 line of text > image > 1 line of text

    is a bit annoying to read to be honest
     
  15. Power

    Power

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    Guys i'm for vacation in Germany , i will fix it when i get back , for the moment i don't have time. Sorry you have to wait a little . Also i need some feedback from you guys , i need you to try the tutorial.
     
  16. Zordrak

    Zordrak

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Is it also necessary to have WoW for ripping? Or can the WoW model files also be downloaded somewhere?
     
  17. YourArthas

    YourArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, you don't need it but it is better if you have WoW cause Cascexplorer's online feature is abit fucked up
     
  18. Zordrak

    Zordrak

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Ok thanks. But i think there are already all good WoW models ripped and available. So i have decided to import all already useable WoW models. I can highly recommend the map 'Human Error' (here on Hive) for that matter. You can export the models from that map.
     
  19. Hermit

    Hermit

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,099
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    What if there are no Anim files in the folder?
     
  20. YourArthas

    YourArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    No problem at all, m2's have animations but if you add .anim files this is kinda saying 'hey we added more animations in a later patch and m2's limitations were not enough to handle 100 animations so we added a .anim file'