1. The Aftermath has been revealed for the 19th Terraining Contest! Be sure to check out the Results and see what came out of it.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Melee Mapping Contest #3 - Results are out! Congratulate the winners and check plenty of new 4v4 melee maps designed for this competition!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The winners of our cinematic soundtrack competition have been decided! Step by the Music Contest #11 - Results to check the entries and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice

Warcraft 3 in Windows 10 OS

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Tutorials' started by A Void, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Warcraft III in Windows 10

    As some of you know that Windows 10 uses DirectX 12, which is incompatible with some of the older software, games and graphic drivers. Warcraft 3 was designed to work best with DirectX 8, as such it is more prone to weird graphical glitches, performance drops and some settings being no longer relevant. This tutorial is for those who are using Windows 10 OS (or DirectX 12).

    What is DirectX?

    Microsoft DirectX is a collection of application programming interfaces (APIs) for handling tasks related to multimedia, especially game programming and video, on Microsoft platforms. Originally, the names of these APIs all began with Direct, such as Direct3D, DirectDraw, DirectMusic, DirectPlay, DirectSound, and so forth. - Wiki

    Video


    The problems of playing Warcraft 3 in Direct X 12 include some setting being irrelevant such as gamma setting.

    The solution is very simple:

    Download this .dll file and put it into your Warcraft 3 installation folder. You can now change in-game gamma.

    d3d8.dll

    This is a dynamic linked library for older version of Direct X. Warcraft 3 seems to be working better with DirectX 8.

    Your Warcraft 3 should now work overall better and you can change gamma again.

    Report your Win 10 related problems in the comments, we'll help you find a solution.

    This solution is obsolete as of patch 1.27a. Patch 1.27a fixed numerous compatibility issues with Windows 10, Warcraft III no longer uses DirectX 8.
     

    Attached Files:

    • D3d.zip
      File size:
      116.9 KB
      Views:
      10,869
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  2. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,038
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Do note there is a small chance this will flag up in Warden and could get you banned. Even though they are genuine signed Microsoft DLLs they are in the wrong location. Additionally there might be other side effects to other running applications due to possible resource conflicts.

    d3d9.dll should not be used as WC3 is only D3D8? I doubt it even knows to link to it.

    Also I do not see how this should improve performance since those are nothing but wrappers for driver framework. Chances are only specific features have been disabled (eg gamma) due to them conflicting with newer features (calibration).
     
  3. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,500
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    Damn I am having another (minor) issue with my WE at the moment, sadly not what you described. Got my hopes up for nothing. Useful tutorial though.
     
  4. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    You can't get banned by this, not possible. Since these .dll are also used in Bloom and HDR which I used many times in genuine Battle.Net.

    There may be more issues with how Direct X handles Warcraft 3, we may not be aware of the others. Gamma was noticeable while performance related issues could not be so easily noticeable.

    can you please describe your problem? I will be adding all solutions to this thread. Usually running a program as administrator or in compatibility mode (Win7, Vista) fixes the problem. Windows 10 is notorious for having screwed up administrator privileges to TrustedInstaller.
     
  5. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,038
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    DirectX does not directly deal with anything performance related. It acts as a wrapper for drivers. Direct3D calls translate into graphic driver calls. These are usually handled by the NVidia, AMD or Intel graphic drivers which interact with the hardware.

    The performance gains by using Direct3D 12 come from a more efficient interface to the graphic hardware rather than Direct3D 12 doing anything magical.
     
  6. PurgeandFire

    PurgeandFire

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,418
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    9
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    18
    Nice idea to have this thread. If I find any solutions to weird Win10 glitches with wc3, I'll let you know.

    Approved for now. If anyone has any problems/solutions to share, feel free to contribute!
     
  7. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,300
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Can you guys test a thing for me?

    In TFT, load up the night elf campaign and play the first cinematic.
    Does it play at all or does it move you back to the campaign menu again?

    It did play in Windows 7, but as of Windows 10 it seems to have stopped working.
     
  8. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Weird. For me it's just a black screen. I'll try to find a solution, stay tuned.
     
  9. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,300
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  10. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Do you have a file called "Blizzard.ax" in Warcraft 3 installation folder? Mine was missing for some reason. Now it's working for me.

    Edit: You should always run War3 as administrator.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. datsatthune

    datsatthune

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Not working for me, after copy there dll file, i can't open the game:
    [​IMG]

    But working in my friend laptop. I don't know why :(
     
  12. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,500
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    The editor generally loading very slowly. For example when you want to specify which effect you want to spawn at a location with triggers. It takes forever before the list loads and you can start browsing. Same goes when changing a unit's model it takes a lot of time before the list shows up.

    Also sometimes I can't scroll. If I got, let's say 5 variable and try to scroll down to the one at the bottom, it simply wont work.
     
  13. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Here is a nice tutorial.

    It may be that you are already running Warcraft 3, try going to task manager and checking if there is a process called War3.exe and close it. The next solution would be two install this. Finally if it still isn't working, try reinstalling and patching the game using the latest patch.

    It is also recommended to contact Blizzard support.
     
  14. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,500
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    Already done that a long time ago.
     
  15. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,038
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Check your disk I/O load. That hints of something happening in the background using up disk I/O bandwidth (eg peer to peer update/upgrade sharing).
     
  16. datsatthune

    datsatthune

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    install directx9 and it working for me, thank you very much :grin:
     
  17. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,500
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    Funny thing, wc3 including JNGP is on my SSD so speed should actually be.. well..

    I do not know how to track such though. I did some quick googling which lead me to something called "Prestandaövervakaren" in Swedish. Which I'd roughly translate into "Performance Monitor" which I started by pressing Start + R and type "%SystemRoot%\system32\perfmon.msc /s"

    edit: Okay I made the program track "Drive - Read Byte/s", "Drive - Written Byte/s" and "Drive Byte/s"

    As you see there are some odd spikes but it did not seem to spike when creating said scenarios in the editor. It spikes either way.
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,038
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Bad idea. Windows 10 needs DirectX 12 which is installed automatically, anything else might corrupt the kernel.

    DirectX 12 is backwards compatible with Direct3D 9 and earlier, although how well drivers implement it is another question as the old APIs are now 2 generations deprecated.

    In which case disc I/O is clearly not a problem. Unless of course the OS is installed on a mechanical drive in which case it could be dlls loading slowly.

    Another possible cause is the new windows manager Windows 10 uses. This might cause some older applications to become more unresponsive or run slower because of how they were implemented. For example alt+tab in Windows 10 is much faster from full screen to windowed mode but it introduces compatibility bugs such as colour calibration not swapping properly in older applications.
     
  19. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    It does not remove DirectX 12, I checked it myself using DirectX Diagnostic Tool.
     
  20. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,038
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    What does this have to do with this...
    The installer should not be able to run as it was never designed for Windows 10.

    EDIT:

    I am also getting bad performance in game with WC3 in Windows 10 as other people have reported. It would be interesting to know why this is happening.

    Of interest is the reported frame rate. It often spikes to "62 FPS" instead of anchoring at 60-59.9 FPS. I am guessing the game is being run in some sort of pseudo Windowed Full Screen mode for resource sharing as part of the DX12 API and the new windowing frame work.

    EDIT 2:
    To clarify, only d3d8.dll is used. WC3 does not use d3d9.dll so you should not bundle it with. Further more WC3 behaves as intended when running d3d8.dll you provided but breaks with the d3d8.dll Windows 10 comes with. I will look into this problem.

    EDIT 3:
    I am not sure your d3d8.dll is safe? It is from some Russian site and claims it is a wrapper for d3d9 and it created a batch file in the WC3 installation folder. In any case that is a hacky solution.

    The d3d8.dll used comes from the SysWOW64 folder (System 32 only if using 32bit Windows 10). I tried substituting back in the one used by Windows 7 (from the same folder) but the dll is incompatible with Windows 10 (WC3 throws DirectX not installed error).

    As such d3d8.dll in Windows 10 is different from Windows 7. The big question is what is different with it to be causing the problems.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2015