Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

WarCom - Multiplayer Mod (Increase Player Limit)

Discussion in 'The Lab' started by TriggerHappy, Oct 19, 2013.

  1. Grey Nightmare

    Grey Nightmare

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,852
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2013
  2. Frotty

    Frotty

    Wurst Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,479
    Resources:
    11
    Models:
    3
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Wurst:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    this.

    Guys, guys.
    This existed long ago and people used it.
    Then MindWorx and SFilip stopped working on it and they didn't hand out the source (yet, I asked)

    Well TriggerHappy, if you're at it you can also fix grimoire (https://svn.code.sf.net/p/w3grimoire/code/), at least for that the source is available. (stuff like war3err and so on :) )

    In the end the hurdle for the "common player" persists.
    This was already the problem with projects that forced a mod.exe on every member to avoid the (old) 4MB size limit.
    Most people won't do that and/or are too lazy.

    Mouse natives are nice, but FPS-maps suffer from the model-disappearing bug with cameras in wc3.
     
  3. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    I've been busy the past couple days, but I'm still working on this.

    A live demo should be coming pretty soon.
     
  4. Darkshooter1986

    Darkshooter1986

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So is this the RtC mod that you guys are talking about? or something else? I'm testing it out on a map by importing "common.j" to my map and changing the directory name to Scripts/Common.j. I have DLed the RtC 1.0 and it works only with 1.24e beyond that i don't know how to get it to work like intended...
     
  5. GhostThruster

    GhostThruster

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,848
    Resources:
    34
    Models:
    7
    Icons:
    21
    Packs:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    34
    how exactly do you create new natives? i mean it can't be as simple as something like open common.j then type up "native GetMouseX" then voila it works in world editor? this project has a lot of potential (and yes i was also aware of its existence since 2010)
     
  6. chobibo

    chobibo

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,707
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think you need to add it to a certain dll file (your custom native) that the hack injects to warcraft when it's running.
     
  7. Napoqe

    Napoqe

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    For me, I left it in patch 1.24 by the following factor. Many maps stopped working after this patch. Not being able to play my (non create by me) Pyramid Escape, who spent hours playing with random. And the Anime Fight, which was my second favorite map (first the DotA), which has versions that worked to play.

    Your idea is revolutionary yes you, and can make Warcraft 3 be back played much.

    However, I wanted that working up with DotA current, because I would abandoning the DotA 2. The models of Warcraft 3 are more pleasant to me, yet.
     
  8. chobibo

    chobibo

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,707
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    TriggerHappy said he was working on making this usable on the latest patch, so no worries.
     
  9. Napoqe

    Napoqe

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I had read.

    But is that one day, the RPG of Warcraft vain change these modes of save the hero with "-save"?

    Will these hacks do not have to do with the story with a patch, that allowing maps with viruses? Soon after, the Blizzard made ​​a patch only to remove it, taking the incompatibility with old maps?
     
  10. chobibo

    chobibo

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,707
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Not related to RtC. TriggerHappy is trying to make it work on the latest patch, blizzard already fixed that in the latest patch. Or just use an anti-virus.

    Dunno, maybe custom natives for file I/O for files saves. Depends.
     
  11. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    Blizzard will not patch the game because of RtC.
    They would only patch it when there's a vulnerability in the actual game.

    You can make a virus with the preload natives for years now, still no update.

    You have to code them with the nAPI that Sfilip has given us.

    There's a link to it in the OP.

    I will be adding data saving/load features.
     
  12. Nestharus

    Nestharus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,146
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    8
    Hopefully your save/load is just file i/o and nothing else
     
  13. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    I was planning on including I/O, but I need to create API to save data on the servers machine.
     
  14. Nestharus

    Nestharus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,146
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    8
    oh, yea, sql too, haha my bad ^)^
     
  15. muzzel

    muzzel

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,303
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    1
    Wurst:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Blizzard wont patch shit, dont worry. The current version of wc3 is highly abusable and they didnt give a fuck for months...
     
  16. Rui

    Rui

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,529
    Resources:
    8
    Maps:
    8
    Resources:
    8
    Indeed =P ugly blurry stuff on Dota 2.
     
  17. don_svetlio

    don_svetlio

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,422
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    I'm really interested where this goes, if it's still being worked on. Being able to run your own MMO map would be fun as hell. I suppose the 8 Mb Bnet limit will be lifter via this system?
     
  18. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    It's still being worked on, and yes the size limit will be removed :)
     
  19. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,039
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    This is indeed very useful.
     
  20. edo494

    edo494

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,846
    Resources:
    5
    Spells:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    5
    you better work on API to get players by IP or by name, because if you treat everyone as player(1), that aint gonna work :D