• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Size Limit and Mod Files?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Goodevening,

I'm currently making a concept for a game/mod. I want to use the Starcraft II editor to make a proof of concept. I used the Warcraft III editor when I was young, so I have some experience with the modding tools of Blizzard. I know that Warcraft III had a custom map size limit. I searched online and Starcraft II maps also have a size limit. The size limit is 20mb for a map, you can host 20 maps and there is a total size limit of 100mb.

Because the mod/game I want to make has a lot of custom models/textures/sounds and music, 20mb is to small. I searched for a workaround and I found "Mod Files". But the problem is that I can't find a good tutorial or explanation. Can somebody please explain what mod files are, what they do and how to use them?

It would be great If I could host a mod for multiplayer on Battle.net and use mod files to increase the size limit.

Level 22
Idk how hosting a Mod on bnet goes but I've seen on sc2mapster whenever they have a whole campaign, they put their Mod to be downloadable as well.

A mod is a Map with no terrain and cannot use terrain (you have that 'map' aka mod only for the Data), which acts in a similar way to War3's w3o files object data that if you imported in a war3 map, imported the data from that file.

In War3 you may have used w3o to not do annoying copy+paste of data through maps as you had to copy 1 per Unit, Buff, Ability to paste in a map. In SC2 you can only copy items within the same Tab e.g All Units, all Actors but not 1 actor, 1 unit like war3.