1. Are you planning to upload your awesome tool to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    July 9, 2018: The rules for the Tool Section have been revised. Please be sure to read the revisions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Weave light to take you to your highest hopes - the 6th Special Effect Contest is here!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

War3 Model Editor

Submitted by Magos
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
This Model Editor is not made by me, but is made by Magos.

War3 Model Editor is as the name suggests a Model Viewer and a Model Editor dedicated to Warcraft 3. It supports both loading and saving of .mdl and .mdx model formats which are used in Warcraft 3. It also supports .bmp, .tga, .png, .jpg, .jpeg, .pcx and .blp texture formats.

There is a buildt-in MPQ Browser that allows you to browse any MPQ archive, which also includes Warcraft 3 map files (.w3m and .w3x). The MPQ Browser has been optimized for speed and is very fast to load and use. The Browser is customizable so you can add/remove your own icons and filters.

Features
Features

* Model Viewer
* Model Editor
* Geoset Importing/Exporting
* Can save/load the model formats *.mdl and *.mdx
* Can save/load the texture formats .bmp, .tga, .png, .jpg, .jpeg, .pcx and .blp
* Can import other model formats (importers stored in DLLs)
* Ability to convert between the model formats
* Ability to convert between the texture formats
* MPQ Browser (very fast loading)
* Support for custom listfiles
* Support for custom MPQ filters & icons

Extras

* Loading Screen Creator
* A tool to create colored text for Warcraft 3

Supported Importers

* md2 (Quake 2)
* ms3d (Milkshape)


{UPDATE}
Hey people, it's Rui. I have updated the tool to v1.07 and added some keywords for searching. Enjoy!

Keywords:
warcraft, 3, III, magos, editor, model, war3, wc3
Contents

War3 Model Editor (Binary)

Reviews
Moderator
PurplePoot: Approved for extreme usefulness, whether as a mapper or a modeler.
  1. kevinjoha

    kevinjoha

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    it would be better with some help instead :mwahaha:
     
  2. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    How about you actually start reading posts above?
     
  3. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    i had the same problem, just 2 posts above yours... that is why Happytauren is saying that... lol :p
     
  4. Doom ArchDemon

    Doom ArchDemon

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    what if i dont have war3patch.mpq??
    is it possible to use
    ?????????'''
     
  5. Hail to the king

    Hail to the king

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Do someone know where to find another model editor, cuz i cant fix this one.
     
  6. Doom ArchDemon

    Doom ArchDemon

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    it does work on ROC
    just dont put it in your War3 directory and it wont ask for patch mpq or war3x mpq....
    then just go to MPQ Browser and open the war3 mpq as normally
    it should work fine
     
  7. Doom ArchDemon

    Doom ArchDemon

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    oh and plz make a tutorial how to use this thing
    noobs might find it too hard to use
    (like i did lol)
     
  8. anilater

    anilater

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Problem

    My computer says its missing files after i download it.
     
  9. anilater

    anilater

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    anilater

    I put in its own folder.
     
  10. aple

    aple

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    811
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    plz dont tell me i have to keep downloading this untill it works
     
  11. toshibaa1

    toshibaa1

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    umm, i sound like an idiot.. but how do i dowload this..? lol, like i extract the file thing, and then what?? where do i copy paste it to?
     
  12. sieved_19

    sieved_19

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Just Save
     
  13. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    Never seen this amount of morons in one thread.
     
  14. satient

    satient

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    same here, I don't get it.
     
  15. Tyrant

    Tyrant

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I don't recall if I've stated this before, but this tool is awesome. Even if you have problems with it, figure out how to run this one, because you won't find any you like better.
     
  16. Morche

    Morche

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    it says Unable to open SplatData.txt what i should to do?
     
  17. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    THIS THREAD IS FILLED WITH MORONS, PEOPLE WHO CAN'T READ. I mean seriously, the d9 question is solved X times already.
     
  18. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    READ THE THREAD FROM 1 POST TO LAST, THE SAME ISSUE HAS BEEN ANSWERED MANY TIMES ALREADY SOME EVEN ON THE SAME PAGE!!

    /caps
     
  19. Tyrant

    Tyrant

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    <_< Here are some useful tips for you guys accumilated throughout this thread since the first time I checked it out back in God knows when.

    Common Errors:
    A reinstallation of DirectX and a computer restart fixed the second problem. I believe having the latest version of DirectX and TFT should fix the first problem. Another solution to a common problem people overlook is presented by Needles:

    You'll have to copy these three files to wherever you downloaded the program. The files are the bulk of the game if I recall correctly, so it might take a little while.

    Gronn's only post on the site explains how to get around a common 'blank screen' error. I personally have no idea what he's talking about, but here's for those who'd like to see his explanation:

    Similarly, OlloX3 said:
    DarkRane's answer to Texture, which I figured out ages ago:
    VectorxMan has another explanation for the oh-so-dreaded gray box which I 'know' is true.
    I don't recall how I got mine to work, as it was over 2 years ago since I last used this program; however, I recall figuring many of the solutions above out to get it to work. It's not difficult. Stop complaining, please.
     
  20. triuska

    triuska

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    how do i change weapons or clothes colors???