1. The Melee Mapping Contest #4: 2v2 - Results are out! Step by to congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We're hosting the 15th Mini-Mapping Contest with YouTuber Abelhawk! The contestants are to create a custom map that uses the hidden content within Warcraft 3 or is inspired by any of the many secrets within the game.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The 20th iteration of the Terraining Contest is upon us! Join and create exquisite Water Structures for it.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice

[vJass] (System) CustomTalentTree

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Anachron, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,167
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    As the title says, a custom talent tree.
    (I will make it besides CustomMissle)

    General talk takes place here.
    Please suggest features.

    Current features:
    • vJass
    • MUI
    • Fast
    • Flexibel
     
  2. Teelo

    Teelo

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You mean talent trees like in WoW?

    Okay uh... make sure each class always has an "overpowered" talent tree, a "gimp" talent tree, and a "lol wasted talent point" tree. Make sure they rotate every patch ;)
     
  3. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,167
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Dude, its just a system, I am not making the exact World of Warcraft TalentTrees for the classes.
     
  4. Dynasti

    Dynasti

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    877
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Will prob take som jassin' there.

    You need to register some click events and pictures etc. etc.

    Expect atleast 30 hours of work ahead of you, ATLEAST :p


    Good luck! Ask me if there is anything I could do to cut down the time for you.

    ~Dynasti
     
  5. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,167
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    I know how to do everything, but thanks. I wait for input with functionality and such :)
     
  6. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    745
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    You're so nerdy.

    What I except from it:
    • A talent tree with inferior trees, which might also have other inferior trees.
    • Each one should have a default icon, a disabled icon, a description, a skill point cost and maybe a class dependence (a warrior shouldn't be able to learn a fireball spell)

    That's what I came up with for now, I might be adding a few other things later.
     
  7. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,167
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    A talent trees with child trees? Sounds like a cool idea for me.
     
  8. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    745
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Yep, so you'd have like.

    -Fire Magic
    --Damage
    ---Fireball
    --Summon
    ---Elemental
    ----Fire
    ----Lava

    Or something like that, I hope you actually get the idea behind that.
     
  9. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,167
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Yes ofcourse. :)
     
  10. mattstheman

    mattstheman

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Here is an example of the WoW talent system...

    Pic
    [​IMG]


    probably a little more advanced than what this will look like.
     
  11. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    745
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Looks pretty confusing if you ask me.
    I think Anachron will do better :)
     
  12. Justify

    Justify

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    935
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    5
    Its not confusing at all :)
    There are 3 different trees, each of them uses a different collum (the backgrounds).
    The rows mean, that you only can access the next row, if you've spent 5 points in the previous one. Arrows mean, that the skills has to be maxed out before allowing acces to the others.
     
  13. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,167
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    I have an idea to even recreate the arrows. We will see :)
     
  14. Justify

    Justify

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    935
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    5
    Oh, and if someone doesn't recognizes it: Orange/Yellow skills are maxed, it's impossible to add more points. Green ones are "allowed" to be skilled again, because the previous row had at least 5 points. Gray ones are not usable due to to less points.
     
  15. CHA_Owner

    CHA_Owner

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    799
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    subscribing and saying that you should make this so if you right click a slot it adds the clicked ability to the normal UI as like a quick select with when deactivated it removes the ability also make it so you can only have a max number of set amount of quick selected spells :thumbs_up:
     
  16. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,167
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Great ideas, however, they are not really makeable.
    (At least there is no way of rightclick detections)
     
  17. CHA_Owner

    CHA_Owner

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    799
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    False talk to Ammorth im pretty shure he made a right click detection script which can detect auto-casting also Toadcop made one i know of.
     
  18. Etzer

    Etzer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,256
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So, how is it going with this System? Are you focusing on CustomInventory and CustomMissile ?
     
  19. Element of Water

    Element of Water

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,298
    Resources:
    5
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    It is possible to detect right clicks, but you can't detect where it is clicked, so there is no way of knowing which button you right-clicked on.
     
  20. CHA_Owner

    CHA_Owner

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    799
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Element you are also wrong just ask Ammorth/Toadcop from wc3c.net if you make the items/slots auto-castable then that means the right click can be detected by detecting when the items/slots are set to auto.