1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Tingle's Thread need help ^^

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Tingle, Oct 21, 2007.

  1. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  2. gavdaman88

    gavdaman88

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    If that fails use triggering. Remove the duration and the damage and trigger it. Then you can simply set the damage with integers.

    event - unit casts ability
    condition - ability equal to tingles arrow
    actions
    pick every unit in (convert point with size to region) position of target point of ability being cast with size (required splash radius, height)
    then within it an if then else action
    if owner of picked not equal to 'owner of casting unit'
    then
    damage target dealing 'damage'

    although you'll need to use wait to delay the damage... still cluster rockets should be easy to change, you must be doing something wrong but I can't see anything wrong from what you say. The way you've made it it wont deal splash damage i think because it will deal only 100 damage and probably focuses it on 1 target.
     
  3. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  4. gavdaman88

    gavdaman88

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    OK I'll just whip it up in world editor... this is only for when the cluster rockets wont work.

    I think this is what your after, it sends an arrow at the target and then damages the target for 100 and nearby units for 50. The main target gets fire on him and surroundings get dust from the impact.

    Ability bases (trigger and object)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And what it looks like
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Hope that explains what needs to be done for it to work
     
  5. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  6. gavdaman88

    gavdaman88

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Well thats a long winded way to do it... you could always make the damage integer change using a variable each time the level of tingles arrow increases.
     
  7. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  8. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  9. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- Update Bump ---
     
  10. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2007
  11. Morlark

    Morlark

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The best way I can think of is to create a variable for the pet, and set the variable to equal the unit that is summoned when the archer casts the summoning spell.

    Then for the heal spell itself you'd need to make it in a trigger so that the spell will automatically heal this variable when the healing spell is cast.
     
  12. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- Update Bump ---
     
  13. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2007
  14. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    the spell needs to be a click spell...
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2007
  15. FrostCyrus

    FrostCyrus

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Resources:
    2
    Icons:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Ah, a non-passive multishot spell?

    You could base a spell off of forked lightning or fan of knives, and then tweak it a bit to look like the appropriate multi-shot.

    Normally, for passive mutlishot abilities, people base it off of the barrage spell.
     
  16. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2007
  17. iron_warrior

    iron_warrior

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Multi-Shot Ability? Quite simple, actually.

    Lots of ways of doing it, here's the easiest.

    • Untitled Trigger 001
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Multi-Shot
      • Actions
        • Unit - Create 1 Dummy Dude for (Owner of (Casting unit)) at (Position of (Casting unit)) facing (Facing of (Casting unit)) degrees
        • Unit - Add a 2.00 second Generic expiration timer to (Last created unit)
        • Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Attack (Target unit of ability being cast)


    To explain this...

    Make a dummy ability, base it off anything with a target, like Storm Bolt or Chain Lightning. Set all it's values to 0, so it does nothing. Then create Dummy unit, with no model, no shadow, invunerability, Flying movement and Barrage. Give it a ranged attack. The trigger will run, create a unit, order it to attack and give it a timer to kill itself in 2 seconds.

    When it attacks, it will Barrage all nearby units. You can create a custom Barrage to set it's values.
     
  18. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2007
  19. iron_warrior

    iron_warrior

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Nah, pretty sure you can't...you can try, but most lightning spells are a no-no with projectiles.

    You'll need to learn triggers sooner or later, but if I find a simpler way I'll post it.
     
  20. Tingle

    Tingle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    --- FIXED and DONE ---
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2007