Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

The Ultimate Terraining Map 4.0

Discussion in 'Terrain & Level Design' started by fladdermasken, May 19, 2014.

  1. Keiji

    Keiji

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,700
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I agree to these, especially the pedestal/platforms, you only use them as bases for
    constructions anyway.

    Que?

    This seems to me like a very big fix, and mostly for nothing.
    The standard wc3 water is completely useless compared to
    waterplane doodads out there.
     
  2. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    If you want everything to be imported to your map use JNGP and go to "Extensions" -> "Export Files" and just save it somewhere then to your map go to "Extensions" -> "Import Directory" after the map saves close it(just the map not the editor) then open it again after that go to "Extensions" again and then to "Import Object Editor Data" then go to the object folder wherever you decided to export the stuffs then switch to doodad extension blah.jpg and import the data. Close the map then re-open.
     
  3. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    thanks for explaining :) Now I have imported all the files I wanted to my map and created their objects, some of them occur a problem; says it cannot load the model file but they don't have texture files for them too how to get rid of this do you know how?
     
  4. Heinvers

    Heinvers

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,335
    Resources:
    83
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    50
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    25
    Template:
    3
    Resources:
    83
    You've most certainly forgot to change their texture paths or some have missing ones.
    Maybe you also forgot to import their appropriate textures aswell....or some of them.

    For e.g toby's models often use 2 or more textures.

    Either way should be easy to fix.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2014
  5. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    I deleted the "war3imported/" from their paths and it doesnt work and I cant think of any other way :/

    For example there is a model named "birke" and it has 2 textures for itself and i imported them all to my map. But still can't solve the problem :/
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2014
  6. Heinvers

    Heinvers

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,335
    Resources:
    83
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    50
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    25
    Template:
    3
    Resources:
    83
    The B2M ones, those usually have Textures/things.blp or Textures/RTES/thing.blp
     
  7. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    This must be the solution bcz it worked for 4 of them but there are some textures with random names like "B4af05bla bla.." I think i gotta try and fail, but thanks :)
     
  8. Heinvers

    Heinvers

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,335
    Resources:
    83
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    50
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    25
    Template:
    3
    Resources:
    83
    Those just need the war3imported/ part removed from their textures textures.
     
  9. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    but i dont know which of those textures correspond to which model
     
  10. Heinvers

    Heinvers

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,335
    Resources:
    83
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    50
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    25
    Template:
    3
    Resources:
    83
    Here's the exported listfile that contains the models within the map and the textures path set > blp

    Just check here which textures you imported in your map and see the path that must be set for each of them.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    If you actually followed my instructions then JNGP should had set the correct texture path automatically.
     
  12. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    I'll check it out when i get back home tonight thanks :)

    But doesn't your method import everything from the UTM to mine? Instead of just a few?
     
  13. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Yeah it does.
     
  14. Heinvers

    Heinvers

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,335
    Resources:
    83
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    50
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    25
    Template:
    3
    Resources:
    83
    dun dun dunnn
     
  15. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    :D but i need just a bunch of them for now, i'd love to use them all but i havent figured them all yet. And my map will need a high amount of space as well :/
     
  16. Keiji

    Keiji

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,700
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I think your problem might be that there is missing textures you didn't know the models
    use. I am very fond of the "MDX Pather" tool. Using it, you can find the model file and
    open it in this tool, then it'll tell you what textures it's using and what paths they need.
    Obviously, if you need to do this for many models, then it'll be tedious, but I don't know
    of an efficient way of circumventing it, sadly.
     
  17. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    As far as I'm concern there is no way of opening batch of models to check their texture.

    The best that I can recommend is using magos editor. Open the texture manager and drag in to the side of your screen and just keep opening models one at a time.
     
  18. Heinvers

    Heinvers

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,335
    Resources:
    83
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    50
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    25
    Template:
    3
    Resources:
    83
    I disagree sonofjay, you can set those MDX to recognize the MDX Pather as an opening option.


    I find it more convenient if you have a lot of models to check out for required textures.

    It shows directly which textures the models use without the need of opening loads of windows as Magos Editor does.
    No offense to Magos.
     
  19. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    I haven't use MDX pather yet so I don't know its feature, if it does that then its cool but I did said that it is the best that I can recommend base on my knowledge.
     
  20. Keiji

    Keiji

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,700
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    How did I never think of this?
    - It's genius.