• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

The River of Life

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
Hi there, im new to terraining and so I thought getting some feedback from the experts is a good way to improve, this is the first map i've done that is concentrated soley on the terrain.

The silent sound of water flows softly forevermore, enchanting and comforting life around its reach.
Shrubs and flowers grow with little disturbance around the light blooming waters of, The River of Life.

Lol i just thought of that on the spot. Please give feedback. :wthumbsup::wthumbsdown:?

Attachments

• 1-.jpg
    1-.jpg
    490 KB · Views: 250
  • 2-.jpg
    2-.jpg
    472.9 KB · Views: 245
  • 3-.jpg
    3-.jpg
    549.9 KB · Views: 261
  • 4-.jpg
    4-.jpg
    537.1 KB · Views: 223
Level 34
At first glance it seems good! And the general feel is good. But there are a ton of errors/things to change.

-I think you have used the noise tool. If you did, don't do it again. You have a whole bunch of pointy spots on the terrain. Use the smooth tool to get rid of them.

-Can't tell if you have set a fog or not. If you didn't you need to.

-No tile variation. Using only one type of grass tile looks bad. If you mix them it turns out a lot better. Try putting grassy dirt around the edges of the rock tile.

-You doodad placement is totally random. You haven't thought about where you are placing each one. You don't need to spend 10 minutes on each doodad, but you should place them strategically.

The waterfall looks good! Well done on that.

Level 6
lol thx for the tips, although im not sure about a few of them:
-i used noise tool, ill be sure to smoothen terrain better on future terrains :D.