1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Starcraft II Wings of Liberty Coop

Discussion in 'StarCraft II Modding' started by LordDz, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. RED BARON

    RED BARON

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5,178
    Resources:
    43
    Models:
    37
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    43
    Nice :grin: But yea, its some damn great work you've done and nice to see how things are changing for the better. Both shared ressources and the fixes (for instance not seeing the supply depot upgrade constantly after picking it) is awesome.

    Hope that you are still considering the option for sharing bunkers and similar (such as transports) as that would further enhance the cooperation aspect of the maps and make for some interesting plays.
     
  2. Spellbound

    Spellbound

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,955
    Resources:
    16
    Icons:
    1
    Skins:
    5
    Spells:
    9
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    16
    Sharing bunkers and transport would be much welcome for friend mode.

    I did encounter a bug when playing the Moebius Factor or w/e it's called (the mission where you have to destroy the Moebius Data Cores before Kerrigan accesses them). I was unable to train Science Vessels and my ally was unable to make the Hercules transport ship or Psi Disruptor. We did have access to purchased Mercs and upgraded Bunkers with Shrike Turrets, so it may be a tech unlock issue.

    Otherwise, keep up the good work! Playing this in coop is a lot of fun :D

    jfc xD
     
  3. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,307
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'll take a look at sharing control of bunkers, etc now.

    Jay is Livestreaming the mod right now:
     
  4. RED BARON

    RED BARON

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5,178
    Resources:
    43
    Models:
    37
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    43
    Just finished a campaign playthrough with a friend. Some damn good times, even if we quickly concluded that bio armies gained a fairly large advantage over mech based ones. (Oh, and that a skip cutscene option would be nice).
     
  5. AnArmadillo

    AnArmadillo

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Registered just for commenting on this project. I literally though "wouldn't it be cool if someone did that", googled it, and yes, someone indeed did that. Great job!

    I'm currently enjoying the coop campaign with 2-3 players. Now that we have "Friends forever" (especially helpful for 2 players) gas trading is less of an issue, but it would still be good, like when playing with friends where you don't have problems like "gimme your gas im better". The reduced building space is fine I think, since you have to think more about placement that way. I really like how you replicated the intro sequences seen in the cutscenes in the SP campaign, and give each player their own hero/starting units in some missions, it's obvious that a lot of effort went into this project. A great change from the monotonous Blizzard coop mode.

    Bugs:
    - On the first Zeratul mission only one of the apprentices has the "view detection radii" ability it seems, Zeratul and the other one doesn't.
    - One of our players is playing with german language, and saw an unlocalized string in "The Dig" for the bonus objective text.
    - The "shared bunker" didn't seem to work. We tried that on the Reaper mission.
    - The bonus objective in the Mira mission displayed "2/2" until we found the last research bonus, when it changed to "3/3" and completed.
    - The archon mode is "weird", my ally reported not being able to see our resources etc. I assume that's because it's just shared control.

    I'll post more bugs we find as we go :)

    Edit: Region is EU
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  6. Spellbound

    Spellbound

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,955
    Resources:
    16
    Icons:
    1
    Skins:
    5
    Spells:
    9
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    16
    Oh yeah, speaking of the Zeratul missions: since this is played on Arcade and cannot be saved, it would be good to not have an instant defeat when one of the hero units die. My friend and I had to restart the Touch-The-Overmind mission midway because I looked away for 2 seconds and Zeratul got mauled by what I think were burrowed Ultralisks. Normally I'd just reload the last checkpoint, but, yeah, Arcade. Some failure states are excessively punishing. Having the heroes regenerate at a Nexus on death would be ideal.

    We had the same issues when playing the first Zeratul mission where even one of the apprentices dying would fail the mission. This was especially trying with 2 players. It might have been better to have one player controlling Zeratul and the others controlling some special stalkers or smthng - but only Zeratul's death results in a defeat. The special Stalkers can self-repair, for example. Just a thought ;)
     
  7. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,307
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Alrighty, I've changed the Protoss missions some:
    Now the missions will only end when Zeratul dies. (Another guy tried doing a checkpoint system for it, but it didn't work)
    In mission 13 he will teleport to a nearby friendly Nexus should he fall in battle once, doing it again will however end the mission.

    I haven't tested the bunker/medivac loading in MP yet, just in a test map with bots.
    I did rename the attribute value to 'Friends Forever', chances are it stopped the abilities from being enabled.
    I'll check today.

    Currently only the english language is fully supported. While there is an option to remove all non-english languages, I wasn't sure if I wanted to do that as that would remove the original objective texts too.
    It's either ONLY english for everything or bad text format for some objectives.
    So, what would he or other people want..?

    The "view detection radii", was it only one player that had it or was it just one hero per player that had it? Because all three heroes do have the behavior "Hero Detector Radar", could be that Blizzard never made it to be used by multiple heroes at the same time.

    I'll add a way to see team resources in archon mode. However the upgrade command will probably still be a bit weird.

    Tanks are OP with their upgrades. +40 damage on hit to primary target, woot woot!
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  8. AnArmadillo

    AnArmadillo

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    About the player with german language: Most (all other?) texts were fine and in english (except cutscene subtitles). The unlocalized text for the bonus objective was only noticed during the upgrade endscreen, don't know if it had been like this before. Since the texts seemed to work everywhere else and were english although the game's language was german I assume that's a bug? I don't know enough about SC2's localization system to recommend either approach, but I'd say being able to see all texts properly is important.

    I was the host with Zeratul and an apprentice and the other player had the other one. We agreed that I would play Zeratul and the other player the two other heroes (shared control), but only using Zeratul the radars did not display. Only one of the other heroes allowed me to see detection circles (I clicked each individually).

    Some other thoughts, some which I posted before but were not made visible before you posted:

    - When playing random missions with random people its tiresome to always tell them to wait until the end for upgrades, maybe display the hint during every loading screen / ending sequence?
    - I found that "Devil's Playground" is quite hard on hard difficulty. It's probably fine, just wanted to tell you.

    More bugs:
    - In the Evacuation Escort mission the crysalis text is a bit broken, the "2/3" has no "[space]("
    - The Mira mission has a protoss quest text of "0/3" and then "1/1" when collecting the first one
    - Miras base in the "paid enough" sequence is not visible
    - In the first mission the intro says there are 4 difficulties when there are 5
    - Why have a buildable Merc Compound in the first missions when you can't train any?
     
  9. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,307
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Mira's base is a bug and will be fixed soon.

    I'll go fix the text objectives, nice find!
    First mission text.. I'll change it.
    I disabled merc compound in the first missions, so it shouldn't show up anymore.
    I'll add some hints to the loading screen.

    Thanks for the feedback :)
     
  10. AnArmadillo

    AnArmadillo

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Some maps seem allow you to create a new team in the lobby some don't? I assume no map should.

    Did you upload new versions today? I played Evacuation & Clean Infestation once with orbital and once without, very weird. I cannot remember when I actually bought it, but I could use it in one game and in another game later I couldn't.
    Edit: Marine Shield and Bunker Turret worked later though but so far I don't get orbitals anymore. :(

    The orbital in Evacuation Escort seemed to start with very high energy (at least when I got it, as host).
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  11. AnArmadillo

    AnArmadillo

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Some more :)

    - Very 1st mission should have a hellion warning (but doesn't, at least on hard)
    - The bonus heroes in the 1st mission don't play the "jump out" animation in the beginning
    - Difference between "Abort mission" and "Quit" ?
    - At least Mission 1 and 2 allows team creation in the lobby ("Custom Teams" is selected?)
    - In the Mira mission Player 2 (I think) has a black button for spider mine deployment. It seems to show 3 mines, but is unselectable.
    - The "minerals collected" panel shows on Devils Playground on the game over screen
    - The Merc Compound has a tiny flicker in the UI when you select it, and it displays the effect of Radio Free Zerg for some reason
    - Workers "steal" minerals when the bases are close, but I don't suppose you can do anything against that
    - Just a though about gas trade: In The Dig there is one expansion with 2 gas I think, giving one player a major boost. Maybe that's indended so this player can focus on tanks?
    - Don't know if intentional, but the reapers in the Reaper Mission are not picked up in the ending sequence

    Zeratul 1. mission:
    -----------------------
    - The Apprentices Hints still say their death fails the mission
    - The mission is still "All Heroes must survive"
    - Maybe respawn the others on checkpoint if not >=brutal?
    - Credits resources are not displayed at the end


    Zeratul 2. mission:
    ------------------------
    - The terran factory hint is displayed on start
    - Maybe a few too many enemies in the first wave, which comes more or less together with the hybrid? Just a suggestion, maybe other people feel the same or different.
    - The hybrid gets sometimes stuck here and won't do anything
    [​IMG]

    Zeratul 3. mission:
    ------------------------
    - Not each player got a colossus, don't know if it's a bug or not.
    - A start base might still be covered in creep when obtaining it, preventing building placement for a minute
    - The mission fails when one of the other heroes dies (should it?)



    Side note, not really related:

    The lava looks like this for me (in all lava-missions). My graphics settings are all on the highest possible (usually ultra) and I remember having a better texture than this on an old computer a long time ago. Does anyone know how I can fix that? Never mind that, Reparing SC2 from the Battle.Net launcher fixed it, after downloading some MB. Apparently I was missing some files... oO
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018
  12. Rhapsodos

    Rhapsodos

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Love the maps so far and the new upgrades, especially the science vessel attack. Quick unimportant things to bring up.

    1) There was a bug on the first protoss mission where I supposedly lost 3 stalkers out of nowhere, but a few seconds later, 76 of them spawned and I pretty much steamrolled the rest of the map lol. I haven't been able to replicate it, so it will most likely just stay a one-off thing.

    2) I was just wondering if you knew that the Warpigs were free after Zero Hour. It's not a gripe I have as they only cost 1 credit and are definitely worth it. Just wondering.

    Also, thank you for making 1 excess protoss/zerg point be worth 2 credits. It gives more room for army variety, especially with all of the new upgrade options.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018
  13. RED BARON

    RED BARON

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5,178
    Resources:
    43
    Models:
    37
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    43
    EDIT:
    Didn't know that (new feature?). Thanks - at any rate it might make some changes to what I wrote below.

    Some bugs:
    The "Gates of Hell" mission has two Vespene Geysers that can't be build on (1 for each gold base) due to blocking terrain - Likely not intended.

    At one point in one of the last campaign's (we followed your numbering) I suddenly got 46 protoss research (crystals), sadly I do not recall which mission it occurred on, but it was about one mission before we could afford the last upgrade for protoss.

    Haha, yea the mech units individual dmg is fine and in the beginning mech can keep up, but as the upgrades stack up you realize that bio builds faster, move faster(stim), can deal with air (easy), their numbers makes up the dmg and are quick & easy to replace - and bio upgrades are useful for the special missions where you only have infantry units (For the secret mission on hard, we lost when I was host (he had medics + hero, I the rest), while we lost 1 unit when we switched so he was host and thus had the bio upgrades, while killing everything -except of course immortal hybrid (+ barely used any of the special items).

    Mech upgrades is also more expensive and you cannot get all + mech units are delayed which includes their upgrades (so you have to save up for them without knowledge of what they will be), so less impact of your units.

    So for us, the maps often went (most noticeable after the bio shield upgrade): both are building an army - I get a decent mech up and he gets the bio death-ball - then I take perhaps one base, and had defense (bunker upgrades and the siege tanks) while he cleaned the rest.

    In the media campaign mission we didn't attack with the Odin and instead build each an army, waiting until we had each maxed out. My mech+air army didn't even manage to finish one of the bases on that map, before my mates bio army had annihilated everything else (with more than 2 minutes left on the timer for the alarm to sound). Now the fact that we could just build up armies without the enemies doing anything and then trigger the alarm, is that a bug? :grin:

    The bio army was somewhat slowed in the "Maw of the Void" mission, thanks to the rip-field - however I cannot recall if my mate had the shield upgrade for it, because if so he would likely not take dmg on any of his infantry units.

    Just for fun (and without taking any upgrades other than stim and shield into consideration + ignoring healing, splash and so forth, here is a table showing a little of why the bio army with shield rules):

    [​IMG]

    And here we aren't even considering moment speed, easy healing (compared to repair options), life of marauders to tank dmg, the lack of air damage from tanks, the lower dps for battle-cruisers to air.

    Looking at those numbers I can understand how my max mech army used about 1-3 seconds to kill a Hive (pending on configuration), while the bio army did it in about 0.5 seconds.

    Heck, even the +40 dmg to tanks equals only 2200 dps - a mere 100 more than pure marines and that is only in siege mode.

    But yea, all of this is just a lead-up for me to suggest more upgrades for mech (or just a change to choices - can't recall if I got the build speed upgrade for them or if I picked something else equally useful). Because while the mech army is fine and can finish missions, bio is just faster, get most upgrades faster and the advantage of bio upgrades on hero maps are significant.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018
  14. AnArmadillo

    AnArmadillo

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    - Merc compound loses its selection circle after a very short delay
    - The Thor in the Nova mission cannot be moved up the ramp above it
    - The Nova mission grants HUGE amounts of minerals/Protoss research?

    [​IMG]

    - Tosh's mission seems to be missing some upgrade menus, also I didn't seem to get any credit from it
    - Shouldn't Matt in the Mira mission tell you about how you can salvage stuff etc.? I'm not sure he does.
    - There are also no Portraits during the Mira mission mid game sequence (are there portraits in other coop sequences?)
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018
  15. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,307
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Lots of comments and I'll try to reply to all.

    T.Chosen made me aware that you couldn't get Orbitals until mission 12 in the original campaign, so I moved it to mission 10.
    1st mission doesn't have Hellions..? Do you mean the second one?
    NEVER use the menu to quit. ALWAYS use the mission complete to save your progress. I'll try to make it more clear.

    Mira is still a bit buggy, not sure why it's greyed but I'll check it out.

    Workers like sharing their mineral patches with others, that's just how things are.
    Some maps only have 1-2 expansions, that's both due map size but also that you're supposed to do teamwork, not just have 1 base per player and then everyone does their own thing.
    Reapers in that mission not getting picked up isn't intentional, I thought I fixed that but I'll check it out again.
    I'll take a look at the hints and the factory tips.

    I thought I fixed the Odin mission, the units are supposed to be paused until the Odin attacks. Oh well.

    Nova mission is bugged, I'll fix.

    I'll take a look at the rest of the bugs too. :)
     
  16. AnArmadillo

    AnArmadillo

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sorry, you are right. I meant the second mission. There should be a "Warning: Dominion Hellions approaching" or something, that is missing here.

    - Does "In Utter Darkness" say "Glorious End!" instead of "Victory"?
    - Are you not displaying the original mission hints in the loading screen on purpose or is that a bug?
    - Zeratul 3: Do you get the bonus units + their dialogue when reactivating the buildings across the map like in the campaign? I can't remember.

    So not having orbitals early is intended, nice. That seems to be working.

    We really apprechiate the effort you're pouring into this! :D
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2018
  17. Erikcht

    Erikcht

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi, LordDz
    I like your work.
    Please, i have some feedback to send you.
    The map "all in" i saw some friend upgrading their comander center and using "upgrades' on towers and i cannot use this.
    My char is the blue that stay on the middle, can you see this ?
     
  18. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,307
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Have you played any missions before and bought any upgrades?
    If not, play from mission 1.
    From mission 4 you will get upgrades.

    I know War Pigs were free in SP, they're not in MP ;) They're mercs after all, they need to be paid.
    Edit: Fixed lots of stuff, it's written on each mission.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2018
  19. Erikcht

    Erikcht

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    But the missions are arcade ...
    Do they talk to each other?
     
  20. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,307
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes, progress and upgrades will be saved from each mission.
    I suggest you play them from the start with a friend or two for the best experience.