1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Starcraft 2 Terrain Screenshots (unoffical)

Discussion in 'StarCraft I & II' started by WOWWARS, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. Fingolfin

    Fingolfin

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,234
    Resources:
    154
    Models:
    144
    Icons:
    1
    Packs:
    4
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    154
    Dr super good's got the right idea. I'll try that, thanks.
     
  2. The_Phalanx

    The_Phalanx

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Here's some of my screenshots. These were mainly me getting used to the city buildings and the editor.


    test
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Fingolfin

    Fingolfin

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,234
    Resources:
    154
    Models:
    144
    Icons:
    1
    Packs:
    4
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    154
    All of the screens in this thread looks so amazing.
    I can't wait to see what the SC2 terraining community comes up with.
     
  4. [K40$]-Spectre

    [K40$]-Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,352
    Resources:
    9
    Maps:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    Good atmosphere Avrion, I like the fog and it also remind me a bit of those desert maps in Broodwar.

    PheoniX_VII, I like your detail in the 'crap' screenshot, a bit to high contrast though for my taste, but otherwise very good for a quick edit.

    Cool city The_Phalanx! Love the detail.
     
  5. JakeCake

    JakeCake

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    425
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    I still would like to know how to add fog .. Maybe it's there but my graphic settings won't allow it to show :'( anyway, here is my creation, I saw that the new editor has much better support for mountains/cliff like areas, so I made one(as part of my map) :)
    Screenshot

    [​IMG]


    map
    Download
    Simply move down at the beginning and kill the zerg thread, kill the Queen to win, the only way to loose, is if you die.. Your shield will regain it's power quickly out of combat, and your life when you attack(life steal)

    Camera - Hold down the right mouse button for about a second to adjust the camera angel, zoom with mouse wheel, and to reset, click your mouse-middle-button.

    That's pretty much it. Your life is in the top-left, and your current opponent in the top-right.

    I'm going to figure out some abillities, apart from Charge now :) Have fun
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Avrion

    Avrion

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Is there anyway of getting more tiles in a map? Having only 8 tiles is annoying when you want to make a desert oasis or something else that has a mixture of terrains.
     
  7. JakeCake

    JakeCake

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    425
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    "Data -> Terrain Texture Sets" and then create a new item, or open up another tileset in another map and copy/export that, and import it into your map :) OR use an imported custom one :D
     
  8. Avrion

    Avrion

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm not quite understanding this. How do you export a texture set and import it?
     
  9. Ardnived

    Ardnived

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    846
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    4
    I didn't really want to post these with out a sky, but meh, why not. :)

    These screenshots may look slightly confusing at first because I turned on water reflection, but take a close look and I think you guy should be able to figure it out, but if you can't I linked the map as well. :D


    Overview
    [​IMG]


    Monolith
    [​IMG]


    Statue
    [​IMG]


    Waterfall
    [​IMG]


    I initially intended the Giant Tree to be more of a focus, and more of a "World Tree". But I am happy with how it turned out.

    GreatTree.SC2Map
     
  10. Dr. House

    Dr. House

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,044
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    reminds me of halo 3 :p
     
  11. Fingolfin

    Fingolfin

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,234
    Resources:
    154
    Models:
    144
    Icons:
    1
    Packs:
    4
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    154
    How do you make separate water levels?
    I mean, when i start placing water, any water placed thereafter is placed in the same water "group". If i try to heighten it, all of the water i have placed will raise at the same time.
     
  12. Ardnived

    Ardnived

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    846
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    4
    Fingolfin,

    Use different water sets, best option is to probably go to edit water, duplicate the one you are using and then raise/lower the water.
     
  13. Fingolfin

    Fingolfin

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,234
    Resources:
    154
    Models:
    144
    Icons:
    1
    Packs:
    4
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    154
    How do i duplicate water?
    There is no way of selecting it, as far as i know..
    This is a pretty serious issue, hope blizzard makes the process more user-friendly in the next patch.
     
  14. PheoniX_VII

    PheoniX_VII

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Data Editor
     
  15. Fingolfin

    Fingolfin

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,234
    Resources:
    154
    Models:
    144
    Icons:
    1
    Packs:
    4
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    154
    I'll try that, thanks.
     
  16. Robbepop

    Robbepop

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    892
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    6
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    7
  17. Hawkwing

    Hawkwing

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5,824
    Resources:
    28
    Models:
    15
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Skins:
    8
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    28
    Here's one screenshot. It's not much, but it's my excuse to play with the Lighting Editor and make an interesting scene. I would've had different animations on the units, but I wasn't in the mood to add triggers.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2011
  18. Taylor_Mouse

    Taylor_Mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    625
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    7
    @Robbepop : interesting stuff =)

    @everyone else : amazing what you guys can do with this terrain editor !

    T.