SPuiBETA_Tile_01.blp

This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
A steampunk UI i have had in mind for a very long time. Finally got around and did it.
It's set in a bit more realistic environment than the typical War3 UIs, but I hope you can find a use for it anyway.

The rest of the files needed can be found in this link.
http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/pastebin.php?id=gb589y


Any form of constructive critique is more than welcome.


Update 1:
-Greatly lessened the amount of props in the UI to give a better overview


Import paths:
UI\Console\Human\HumanUITile01.blp
UI\Console\Human\HumanUITile02.blp
UI\Console\Human\HumanUITile03.blp
UI\Console\Human\HumanUITile04.blp
UI\Console\Human\HumanUITile-InventoryCover.blp
UI\Console\Human\HumanUITile-TimeIndicatorFrame.blp

Keywords:
Steampunk, Steam, Punk, Pipe, Pipes, Lead, Brass, Copper, UI, Interface, Console, Workspace, 1800
Contents

Steampunk UI (Texture)

Reviews
09:56, 5th Feb 2016 ~Nightmare: This is soooooo sweet! I love the steampunkish-atmosphere this UI has. Really want to see more UI's from you! Keep up the good work and great job!

Moderator

M

Moderator

09:56, 5th Feb 2016
~Nightmare: This is soooooo sweet! I love the steampunkish-atmosphere this UI has. Really want to see more UI's from you! Keep up the good work and great job!
 
Level 21
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
2,292
What I saw from the 2 screenshots above is that the 4th icon on the bottom ,next to the minimap, is not centered. And above the skills those empty slots ,have black line on top and right side.

Alrighty.
I'm not sure about the icon next to the minimap. But I'll have a look at it.
The black lines in the command section are shadows. To give the feeling the grey areas are pushed in.
I'm not sure if they give that expression now that you bring it up :)
Thanks for the comments!
 
Level 21
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
2,292
very fancy UI, but kinda doesn't have that little geometry that draws the eye to the center, it's flat with not that much 3D in it

Heh well when you try to project a 3D object down on a 2D plane it will feel more flat.
I could have made the 3D objects really tall to have a crazy birds eye perspective. But I don't think that's good either :)

I have updated the UI.
A lot of the props are gone. It's better now. Actually I could remove more, buuut I think I'm done for the time being.
 
Level 23
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
1,563
Up left and clock part are alright, up right its losing height.
Lower right too much rusted metal and repeating the same color, lower left you could make the gears different color than rest could help, the black tube(?) beside portrait stands out too much, there could have been something other than tubes, like anything more mechanical. Currently its more rusted metal UI, not really steam punk.
 
Level 21
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
2,292
Up left and clock part are alright, up right its losing height.
Lower right too much rusted metal and repeating the same color, lower left you could make the gears different color than rest could help, the black tube(?) beside portrait stands out too much, there could have been something other than tubes, like anything more mechanical. Currently its more rusted metal UI, not really steam punk.

I get your point. The brass have perhaps gotten a bit too much on the wear and the pipes are perhaps more fitting for an actual environment than an UI.
The overall darkness is a pain to work with because the original image is not so dark. But I have to darken it because War3 brightens it up. So it's tough to find the perfect balance.
Thanks for the feedback.

PROXY said:
I'd love to see more of that gold from the clock in the bottom part. And some more fancy victorian style stuff. But I'm in love with it and you have my deepest respect (since creating a UI this way is just... brilliant but also work-intensive)

As in my response to Eagle XI I could perhaps switch out some of the pipes to make room for more fancy stuff. But I have to be careful not to overdo the detail amount or it will confuse the player.
More victorian stuff would be quite nice though.
I'm glad you like it and thanks for the words :)
 
This is a really nice looking UI. I vote for approval. Do you have a cursor and cinematic borders to go with it? Did you make a clock model for the time indicator so the clock keeps real time? Maybe, you can get a modeler to make one for you (I'm not sure it is completely possible). :D +rep 5/5

Rather than linking to the Pastebin, it would be better if you uploaded the files separately and put links to the actual download url on your description. Not everyone can open a .rar. Also you should have instructions for importing the UI.
Import Instructions
Import the .blp files and change their names in import manager to overwrite human UI or if you
want to overwrite all races go to advanced > game interface and switch them out for the following:
Resource: Pathname:

Spell Area of Affect:[c]ReplaceableTextures\Selection\SpellAreaOfEffect_human.blp

Inventory Cover: [c] UI\Console\human\humanUITile-InventoryCover.blp

Time Indicator Frame: [c] UI\Console\human\humanUITile-TimeIndicatorFrame.blp

Tile 1: [c] UI\Console\human\humanUITile1.blp

Tile 2: [c] UI\Console\human\humanUITile2.blp

Tile 3: [c] UI\Console\human\humanUITile3.blp

Tile 4: [c] UI\Console\human\humanUITile4.blp

Cursor: [c] UI\Cursor\humanCursor.blp

Inventory Slot Filler: [c] UI\Widgets\Console\human\human-inventory-slotfiller.blp

Cinematic Border: [c] UI\Widgets\EscMenu\human\human-cinematic-border.blp

Options Menu Border: [c] UI\Widgets\EscMenu\human\human-options-menu-border.blp
Feel free to use that example as a template.
 
Last edited:
Level 21
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
2,292
This is a really nice looking UI. I vote for approval. Do you have a cursor and cinematic borders to go with it? Did you make a clock model for the time indicator so the clock keeps real time? Maybe, you can get a modeler to make one for you (I'm not sure it is completely possible). :D +rep 5/5

Rather than linking to the Pastebin, it would be better if you uploaded the files separately and put links to the actual download url on your description. Not everyone can open a .rar. Also you should have instructions for importing the UI.

First of all, thanks.

Actually the whole UI is made of 3D models but screen shotted into becoming a propper War3 UI.
There are no cursor or cinematic border as of now. Perhaps in the future, but like so many other hivers who have said that it probably won't be.

As far as I know it is impossible to make an actual real time model to represent the UI and therefore also the time indicator. It would be a really cool effect I'll give you that. But the UI cannot be animated.


Lastly.
Good idea with the paths I'll update in a jiffy.
 
Level 21
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
2,292
Actually, it is. The clock has a model. It's just a ball I think. I never actually put it in viewer before. But, it gets covered with a skin of the sun and moon. I know it's kinda advanced stuff, but I bet someone could figure it out. I don't do models though.

Oh yeah. I've checked.
It could be interesting to play around with a custom model for the time-indicator model.
 

Kyrbi0

Arena Moderator
Level 35
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
8,720
From your WIPs I thought it would look really weird, but with the in-game screenshots & such it's really not all that off. "Steampunk" just seems sorta weird for Wc3... But then again, it's a modding platform for nearly any kind of game. So cool.
 
Level 21
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
2,292
Hi, First of all, it's a great UI, I want to place it in my new map with a looooot of TAAAAANKS :ogre_hurrhurr::ogre_haosis:
But I found a little bug in-game for reforge (classic version).

Here is a link:
https://www.hiveworkshop.com/attach...3/?temp_hash=e289c6757ff04fbcdb7967c3553b2bbb

Have a nice day.

Okay that does look odd. Like the part of the screen you highlighted shares ui space with the top section.
I must admit that I have no idea why that is happening.
And sadly I won't be able to fix it for reforge since I don't own the game. Sorry I can't be of any help.

If someone else wants to fix this, they have my permission.
 
Top