• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Rifleman set as building not turning

Level 3
Hey! I'm new to map making, and have been educating myself through Tutorials on the Hive. I don't want to ask any questions that have an obvious answer, so will only post when I feel I have absolutely no idea.

I'm building a TD where I have some towers based on Unit models (Such as a Rifleman and Canons), but the guns don't follow with the rest of the animation when it turns. Is there a way to fix the animation so the gun goes with the unit, or the unit can turn on the spot without being able to move completely?

Apologies if there is a really simple fix for this I cant seem to find or work out.

Solved - Tower Turning Tutorial

Note (from Uncle) -
You don't need a Spellbook - Find the root ability in the abilities tab, and set it's Hotkey (usually "R") to Blank/None and the Art - Button Positions to 0 (X), -11 (Y).

Note that you need to hold shift when opening a field to allow negative values. This can be useful for other things as well like a negative armor Devotion Aura that affects enemies.

Spellbooks were necessary back in the day when the Editor was lacking features. But now the only time you really need them is if you literally want a book full of spells that extends your normal command card.

Attachments

• Turning Animation Fail.png
    Turning Animation Fail.png
    2.3 MB · Views: 12
Last edited:
Level 3
For SD graphics, models need to have a specific bone in order to be turning at all if they're used as buildings, but I have no idea how they work with reforged graphics
Is there a way I can make it so they fire and stay facing the one way instead?

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator