1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Tower Turning Tutorial

Discussion in 'General Mapping Tutorials' started by DragoonZombie, May 6, 2007.

  1. DragoonZombie

    DragoonZombie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    436
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Tower Turning Tutorial
    by DragoonZombie
    screen1.jpg


    Introductions:
    In this tutorial I will show you how to make (non-)custom towers turn to his target when attacking.​

    Requirements:
    WarCraft 3 World Editor​

    Step I:
    Go to the Object Editor and create/edit the Root (Ancients) ability (Abilities -> Nightelf -> Units -> Root (Ancients)) like this:
    screen2.jpg

    Step II:
    Now create a new Spell Book ability (Abilities -> Special -> Items -> Spellbook) and add our modified Root ability to it. Make sure that the Spellbook is a Unit ability by unchecking 'Stats - Item Ability'
    screen3.jpg

    Step III:
    Now its time for the Tower.
    I recommend using a UNIT as Tower (NOT Building). We will convert the unit to a building later. Because when we use a unit we have the standard settings optimized for the tower model and we can change the height of the tower.

    Pick a random Unit you want to have as tower and give the tower the spell book ability we created. You also have to change the towers movement speed and turn rate (IMPORTANT). I set the movement speed to 1, so that the Tower is able to turn (if movement speed is 0, WE thinks that the unit/building/whatever is unable to move and disable its turning).
    And the turn rate should at least be greater than 0, so it is able to turn (no wai!)
    screen5.jpg
    Now its time to convert the unit to a building.
    screen4.jpg
    That was the conversion. Simple eh?
    You now have to give the tower the 'Spellbook' ability we made, via Triggers or in the object editor.

    Since its a building now, you can change the Ground Texture and Pathing Map of the Tower.

    In order to hide the Spell Book go to the Trigger Editor and disable the Spell Book ability for the owner of the tower:
    • Melee Initialization
      • Events
        • Map initialization
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Player - Disable Turning Tower for Player 1 (Red)

    Step IV (optional):
    To change the towers height you simply change the Movement - Type to Hover and fly height to the height you want.
    Now edit Art - Elevation - Sample Points and set it to 0 and you're set.
    screen7.jpg
    screen6.jpg

    Done.
    Happy Mapping

    final.gif
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  2. Mini-Me

    Mini-Me

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,800
    Resources:
    10
    Maps:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    Nifty trick that works.

    -You should explain where you find those abilities. Example: Root --> Night Elf ---> Units
    Spellbook --> Special ---> Items
    -You also leave out some details, like you need to turn the Spellbook to an unit ability.
    -The pictures in step III are bad. You cant make out much.

    The trick itself is simple, people just need to know about it and I think this tutorial does its job well. Make those small improvements I mentioned and I would aprove this.
     
  3. DragoonZombie

    DragoonZombie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    436
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    wow, someone replied... even if its late. But i dont complain.

    I edited the post, but what is wrong with the pictures in step three?
     
  4. Mini-Me

    Mini-Me

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,800
    Resources:
    10
    Maps:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    I guess they are ok :p. Well this gets my aproval.
     
  5. Wolverabid

    Wolverabid

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8,302
    Resources:
    5
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    5
    Tutorial Approved

    ~ Thread moved to General Mapping Tutorials.
     
  6. Lingonberryjam

    Lingonberryjam

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Great turorial DragoonZombie!

    All i can find is (what i think) two minor grammar flaws;

    What i guess it should read is:

    ... and one thing more. You say:
    "You also have to change the towers movement speed and turn rate (IMPORTANT). "
    ... and say what you set the movement speed to, but not what you set the turn rate to. Guess all you have to say is that the turn rate should be > 0.

    Since I'm working on a TD-wars and already had alot of towers using unitmodels this is just what i need!

    Thanks for a great turorial!

    EDIT-

    Oh, forgot to mention... +rep!
     
  7. DragoonZombie

    DragoonZombie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    436
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    thanks. I know that my english isnt the best, but i just wanted to make it understandable. ( Edited )
    I thought that turn rate > 0 is self-explanatory. Oo
     
  8. Lingonberryjam

    Lingonberryjam

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    That it should have > 0 is self-explanatory, indeed :), but if you have the tower based on a unit it already has a turning rate. And then you say "you must change the turn rate (IMPORTANT)". It clearly doesnt have to be changed, just to be > 0.
     
  9. Zanam

    Zanam

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I really liked this idea, so I went ahead and tried it out. The tower turning works great, however there is one problem I noticed, but it may be because of something I missed when turning my unit into a tower. You can stack the towers on top of each other, when building a new one, the square doesn't register a building there and allows you to build away.

    Is there a way to prevent this?
     
  10. DragoonZombie

    DragoonZombie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    436
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    you have to make sure that you set the 'Pathing Map'
     
  11. Zanam

    Zanam

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I have, it's the same pathing map as the other towers in this map have. A barrel doodad, making it a 1x1 tile. The rest of the towers don't stack, but this one seems to be stubborn :p
     
  12. Pyritie

    Pyritie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    11,356
    Resources:
    60
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    9
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    12
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    60
    I love this tutorial.

    ...just thought I'd say that. :D
     
  13. Cleo

    Cleo

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I also got a Problem: when i upgrade a tower (wuth the turning ability), it wont attack automatically any more. I have to give it the attack order once on a target, after that it will attack as normal every enemy that comes in range.
    Does any1 have the same Prob?
     
  14. Rebuke

    Rebuke

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If your towers are stacking you have to do the following in the object editor
    Art -> Ground Textures -> Arcane Tower, Cannon Tower, Guard Tower, Farm...
    Pathing -> Pathing Map -> Arcane Tower, Cannon Tower, Guard Tower, Farm...
    Pathing -> Placement requires -> Buildable

    Your towers shouldn't stack anymore.
     
  15. GamerSmurf

    GamerSmurf

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Do you have to use a unit? I have 70 tower in my TD and it would be great to make them able to turn. When I follow the tutorial on a Guard Tower with a unit model, the game closes as soon I strat building the tower.
    Have I done something wrong or do you have to use a unit and turn it into a building?
     
  16. cantenatus

    cantenatus

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Let's pop this 13 yo thread! Necroposting at its finest, wonder if anyone is going to answer.

    Okay, so semirelated topic, (this is on Warcraft 1.30, because I don't trust newer versions) I'm attempting to make a ground submerged tower.

    Looks fine in Editor:

    [​IMG]

    but not so much when I run it in game:

    [​IMG]

    I've achieved the ground submergence by altering the "Movement - Height" stat of the building Unit in Object Editor. Any tips on how to achieve what I'm aiming for?
     
  17. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,015
    Resources:
    29
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    29
    movement height hasn't been working since I dunno, 1.27 or something?

    I'd say a better model with only the cannon would do the job. I'm sure some of the modeller can easily cut it.
     
  18. Daniel Kopp

    Daniel Kopp

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Tried this little trick out on the TD Im making and it works like a charm!
    It's a good fix for the "Reforged units bending i half" problem..

    I did do one thing diiffrent, I did not go the spellbook route, instead just moved the Icon away like this:
    [​IMG]
    I guess it's pritty much the same.


    Thanks!