• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Other Languages Like JASS?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hi, I have played WC3 for ages and love it. I would love to be able to create high quality maps, but I have no programming experience. My first question was, what exactly is JASS? It's just a programming language Blizzard made specifically for WC, is that right?
I was thinking of getting some books on programming, just as a hobby and out of pure curiosity. I would love to learn basic, fundamental programming. I have heard C++ is the most commonly used code for game design. Would C++ be relevant to JASS at all or are they completely different? Any books you would recommend? Thanks!

Chaosy

Tutorial Reviewer
Level 40
yes it is the langue of wc3

every language got the same basics. like they got variables, local variables, if then else stuff and so on. however they are not allways called the same. I have heard from a friend that java is the most common for starters but I dont know.

and btw the ++ is like vjass you will learn C not C++ for now atleast.

You can try anything. :) JASS has a couple of concepts that are shared with others, but not that many. For example, it doesn't have OOP. vJASS will simulate that a bit, so if you know vJASS it may be easier to dive into a topic of OOP or encapsulation, etc.