• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Item and abilities

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
23
Hello,

I would like to know if and how is it possible to make item stats a bit random like in diablo and stuff like that.

i even thought of when a unit dies, and the item drops, giving the item (or setting the abiliti lvl for item) like an all stats ability with like 10 lvls and it would pick a level from 1 to 10.

is it possible to mess with item abilities on items on drop at all?

Thank you.
 
Level 2
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
23
Im sorry but i actually didnt understand (a bit new here with arrays and stuff)

Can you give a simple example? (sorry again)
 
Level 9
Joined
Feb 15, 2013
Messages
372
ItemDummy = (Dummy Item)
ItemMaximum = (Your Maximum amount of Item)
ItemType[1] = (Item Level 1)
ItemType[2] = (Item Level 2)
ItemType[3] = (Item Level 3)
ItemType[.....] = ..... And so On
ItemRandom = Random number between 1 to ItemMaximum

2nd Trigger
A unit gets an item then check if the item is ItemDummy
Then remove ItemDummy from the unit
Set ItemRandom = Random number between 1 to ItemMaximum
Create ItemType[ItemRandom] and give it to Unit

EDIT: Im also newbie on trigger, hopes this helps you @@
 
Level 13
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
691
You can do it, using the method uknown described. However, tooltips will have to express the variation in boosts. Ex: + 4-7 Attack Damage. So in that aspect, war3 falls short. the only way to counter that( as in having tooltips that match the bonus from the item) Would be to make a separate item for every variation possible. Obviously that's not a very good solution as some items could result in huge numbers of variations.
 
Level 19
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
2,765
@Kakerate thats exactly what uknown's system does.

in short theres no native way to do it. you can do something like this (pic) (pic with an item equipped) (pic with a set equipped)
JASS:
            set fullItemGenerator = FullItemGenerator.create("|cffff4500The Sword of Truth|r", "The one and only.", 'B029', 6)/*
            */.addGroupChangingTrait(TRAIT_TYPE_DAMAGE,500000,1000000,0,15)/*
            */.addGCT(TRAIT_TYPE_STATIC_DAMAGE, 500000, 1000000,0,5)/*
            */.closeGroup()/*
            */.addGCT(TRAIT_TYPE_STRENGTH, 75000, 150000,0,5)/*
            */.addGCT(TRAIT_TYPE_AGILITY, 75000, 150000,0,5)/*
            */.addGCT(TRAIT_TYPE_ALL_STATS, 50000, 100000,0,5)/*
            */.closeGroup()/*
            */.addGCT(TRAIT_TYPE_LIFE, 500000, 1000000,0,5)/*
            */.addGCT(TRAIT_TYPE_MANA, 150, 250,0,5)/*
            */.closeGroup()/*
            */.addGCT(TRAIT_TYPE_ARMOR_REDUCTION, 750,1250,0,5)/*
            */.addGCT(TRAIT_TYPE_ATTACK_SPEED, 50, 100,0,5)/*
            */.closeGroup()/*
            */.register('I00L')
which gives an incredible amount of support with infinitely sized inventories, players only see their own drops (people see different items like in diablo 3, prevents item ninjaing and allows for class based drops) seperated equipments and inventories, randomized stats, sets, recipes, etc. but it requires a heavy vJass background.
 
Level 2
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
23
Dont know how to use jass (im seriously noob at this.. im ok with GUI) tbh i think ill make a few itens and random it with triggers i guess..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top