1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Easy basic spell help.

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by babmer, Jan 15, 2010.

  1. babmer

    babmer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Edit - Aha, got that part.

    Now, the 'customscript' ending part, how do i do that? :s.


    • BlinkStrike
      • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
      • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Blink Strike
      • Actions
      • Set TempLoc00 = (Position of (Target unit of ability being cast))
      • Unit - Cause (Triggering unit) to damage (Target unit of ability being cast), dealing 50.00 damage of attack type Spells and damage type Normal
      • Unit - Move (Triggering unit) instantly to TempLoc00
      • Unit - Order (Triggering unit) to Attack (Target unit of ability being cast)
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_TempLoc00)
     
  2. Berb

    Berb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Your variable is setup fine, as is your removal of the leak.

    In fact, your code seems fine to me what ability are you basing Blink Strike off of?
     
  3. babmer

    babmer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, it would be nice if that was actually my trigger, but thats just the example i am trying to copy ;D.

    Currently i am stuck on the final part of the trigger, i have not got round to actually testing the spell. Regardless, it is based off of holy light. If you could help me with the 'custom script' ending that would be greatly appreciated.
     
  4. Berb

    Berb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Press Ctrl+R to add a new action. Before doing anything, hit "C" on your keyboard. It should bring you to the Custom Script field, among a large list of other functions for units/destructables/regions/effects/etc...
     
  5. babmer

    babmer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thats very fine and dandy, but i have no idea which to choose :s.
     
  6. Berb

    Berb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    It should simply allow you to type whatever you want.

    Type: "call RemoveLocation( udg_TempLoc00 )"
     
  7. babmer

    babmer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    o_O how does it know what im talking about?
    What sorts of commands can i type in there?

    Regardless, erh, thanks! Now i just need to figure out how to make an enemy hero use this custom ability when i want him to... Do you know by any chance? ;o.
     
  8. Berb

    Berb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Look through the "Units" section of the actions menu. The same place you would find "Unit - Kill" or "Unit - Remove". I believe it is along the lines of:

    Unit - Issue order targeting ...

    This is fairly simply to figure out, you will learn more if you try to find out these things for yourself before asking questions. Looking through the actions drop-down menu is among the simple things in life.
     
  9. babmer

    babmer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes i know that, but when i click on the 'attack' option to change it to use ability, the only abilities there are defult melee ones.
     
  10. Berb

    Berb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    That's because those are Order strings. If your custom unit has a custom version of "Storm Bolt", it will still use it when ordered "Human Mountain King - Storm Bolt" or whatever. The value refers to a string "thunderbolt" I believe. Notice the "Order String - Use/Turn On" field in the Object Editor when editing an ability.
     
  11. idodik

    idodik

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The thing is, kiddo, that this game ain't all controlled by those boxes and lovely interface - it's a programmer's world. This game is ruled by its own scripting language called JASS, and what you just typed inside that field is a line of it - it says to remove the value of the variable from the memory.
    Now that we have that cleared out, look again at the Custom Script... Does it mean anything more to you now?

    That depends on when do you want the hero to cast that spell... Or what are the Events for the trigger. You'll have to be more specific.
    As the users before me said, the order ID is the identification of the order that starts this spell. What you have are the default melee ones, and that's what you have to use... That's why there are problems with two abilities of the same type in the same unit.