Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Discord Notification When Map Is Hosted

Discussion in 'Multiplayer LFG' started by TriggerHappy, Jan 29, 2019.

  1. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    Bot Account: Triggs#6611

    Triggs is a Discord bot that can notify you when certain maps are hosted. You can tell the bot to post in a specific channel, or it can privately DM you.

    If you are an administrator, you can add the bot to your server using the following link:
    Discord - Free voice and text chat for gamers

    Otherwise you can simply direct message the bot.

    Commands
    • !notifychannel <channel-id> <regex>

      Tell the bot to notify a specific channel when a map is hosted. You must be an administrator of the server the channel is in, and you must give the bot permissions to post there.​

    • !notify <regex>

      Tell the bot to privately message you when a map is hosted.​
    • !stopnotify <channel-id?>

      Stop notifying. Leave the channel blank if you want to stop private message notifications.​

    • !help

      List available commands.​
    • !setroles <channel-id> <roles>

      Separate each role by a comma.​
    The regex pattern will match against the map's filename, game name, and sha1 hash.

    triggspreview.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2020
  2. Jaccouille

    Jaccouille

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    174
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    5
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    8
    Hey my community just needed that, gonna give it a shot.
     
  3. wTc[JediMaster]

    wTc[JediMaster]

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    94
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  4. juvian

    juvian

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Would be nice if you could add the map hash to the notification to detect cheaters. I guess notifying every time the amount of players in lobby change would be too much?
     
  5. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    The bot is back up, and this time you can add it to any channel you are a owner of. This should be useful for community Discords dedicated to certain maps.
     
  6. IcemanBo

    IcemanBo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,537
    Resources:
    23
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    5
    JASS:
    3
    Resources:
    23
    Absolutely great service you offer, thanks. The reaction time delay from wc3 maps hosting site is still sometimes long, but we definitely go with it. :)
     
  7. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    There have been some changes since you made this post. The bot should take no longer than a minute to report the games now, and it's usually around 30-50 seconds.

    I also updated the bot to only respond to DMs or when it's specifically mentioned with @Triggs. This is to prevent conflicts with other bots who also use "!" for commands.
     
  8. XXXandBEER

    XXXandBEER

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @TriggerHappy Thanks for making this! We currently have something similar for our Sheep Tag Discord over at Join the Sheep Tag Community Discord Server! ours updates slot counts as the game fills and crosses the game out once it has started. Have you thought about including such features?
     
  9. Unholy0ne

    Unholy0ne

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    @TriggerHappy Thanks for this, it's more convenient than our work around for announcing hosted games.
    To properly set it up tho and to avoid announcing cheated map variants, what is the sha1 hash and where can I find it?
     
  10. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    You should be able to drag the map onto Online MD5 Hash Generator & SHA1 Hash Generator to get the sha1 hash.
     
  11. Unholy0ne

    Unholy0ne

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Triggs works as intended for file name and game name.
    Unfortunately it doesn't respond when I use the sha1 hash provided by the website.
     
  12. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    New update.
    triggsupdate.png
     
  13. Eat_Bacon_Daily

    Eat_Bacon_Daily

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    484
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    This sounds like a wonderful service!

    I am unfortunately a kind of a noob. Could you provide an example of how to set things up given a map name or file name and a discord channel. My inferior discord bot knowledge is preventing me form setting it up properly.
     
  14. TheRazul

    TheRazul

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm having issues with setting up permissions it seems, I continue to modify the channel, role, and am the server creator. Is there by chance a set up tutorial to help me problem solve what i'm overlooking?

    Edit: I figured out what was going on, I used the "Channel Name" and not "Channel ID". In order to find/see Channel ID you must turn on Developer Mode and once that is done you'll be able to right click on the desired channel to receive the ID.

    I am not able to get the sha1 Hash to work, but at least it's a start. If someone could explain this I'd appreciate it. I attempted what was previously stated above, however, i've not obtained any luck so far.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2020
  15. Tipou

    Tipou

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I get double notification with different creation time for a ''map name''
     
  16. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    I will improve the setup instructions on the next update.

    I'm aware of the bug and I will fix it soon, thanks.
     
  17. Blarto

    Blarto

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Any way for the bot to clean up its own messages? i.e setting to have it delete everything that's older than X seconds instead (or in addition to) of it "crossing out" games are started/unhosted
     
  18. TheRazul

    TheRazul

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think this is a great idea, but maybe as a feature rather than a function. I personally like having it as a log of the games hosted, which i can use to mach references in the future if someone has issues. It's just more data i guess.
     
  19. Blarto

    Blarto

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Yea the use-case I'm thinking is a "live games" announcer-channel (so unhosted games dont need to be there).

    There can be another channel that stores logs for history purposes.

    Right now to do this there needs to be another bot that deletes all messages in channel periodically.
     
  20. Demonex

    Demonex

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Hello,
    I'm trying to set up the bot but for some reason it's disconnected so it doesn't work. Do you happen to know what to do?