1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Channel ability turn on/off function

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Chewii, Mar 16, 2014.

  1. Chewii

    Chewii

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello there!
    Do you guys have a clue how to modify (if you even can) the Channel ability so you can use the turn on/off function? Like the defend ability for footmen. I've tried many things but i can't get it to work :S
    If this is possible please respond

    Regards Chewii
     
  2. Nichilus

    Nichilus

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,974
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    nope, afaik it's not possible. Still, why don't you use Defend ability as the base then? Just set all fields to 0 and you're ready to go.
     
  3. _MB_

    _MB_

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think you could for example use somethig like this. If it is not what you wanted, describe your problem more pls.
    • Untitled Trigger 001
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Is issued an order with no target
      • Conditions
        • (Issued order) Equal to (Order(defened))
      • Actions

    and
    • Untitled Trigger 001
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Is issued an order with no target
      • Conditions
        • (Issued order) Equal to (Order(undefened))
      • Actions


    the first triggers when you order the footman to defend and to second one to deactivate that (obiously you can than alter the ability, if you want to use it for something else)

    Edit: I probably slightly misunderstood the problem, but if you are skilled with triggers, you could do that in way I have shown above
     
  4. Chewii

    Chewii

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    No it is not what i meant :p

    Because i want 2 abilities with turn on/off function, however using 2 abilities with the same order ID will interfere :s
     
  5. IcemanBo

    IcemanBo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,260
    Resources:
    22
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    3
    Resources:
    22
    manashield, immolation, invulnerability, defense

    What do you exactly need? If needed you also could create 2 seperated abilities, and only add 1 to unit.
    If the unit uses the ability, you remove it and add the other ability. So you would simulate it.
     
  6. Chewii

    Chewii

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    the problem with those are, if i use immolation the special effect will still be there nomatter what i do, same with divine sheild..
     
  7. IcemanBo

    IcemanBo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,260
    Resources:
    22
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    3
    Resources:
    22
    You can remove the effect by removing the buff of the ability in object editor. ;)
     
  8. Chewii

    Chewii

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I did that, but it doesn't work. :/
     
  9. IcemanBo

    IcemanBo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,260
    Resources:
    22
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    3
    Resources:
    22
    And if you go in category "buffs" in OE, search for divine shield and remove there the attachment for target?
     
  10. Chewii

    Chewii

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    the effect disappears, however the invurnability is still on
     
  11. DysfunctionaI

    DysfunctionaI

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    281
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Probably because you forgot to remove the Duration, or it's set to zero, which will make it last forever. Set the Duration to 0.01

    My favorite skill to use for stuff like this is Beserk.
     
  12. Chewii

    Chewii

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I want it to be able to toggle on and have it on forever if you'd like, like the defence spell for footmen. So it doesn't matter even if i set the duration to 0.01 seconds he will be invurnerable for 0.01 seconds and then it will automatically turn off. So i want it to be on forever but WITHOUT the invurnerability.

    Does the beserk ability even have a turn off/on function?
     
  13. IcemanBo

    IcemanBo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,260
    Resources:
    22
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    3
    Resources:
    22
    You want to have "it" forever? What is "it" here? I don't see the problem, if you don't want the 0.01 invul (even without buff) why not use other ability? :s
     
  14. Nichilus

    Nichilus

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,974
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    There is ability called Magic Defense, which is the same as Defend (in terms of fields this ability has) but with different ID.
     
  15. pOke

    pOke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,104
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Do you just need to know the "state" of the unit or do you actually need defend/immolation etc.? You can just use channel, if its a hero learned ability you need 3 abilities, the dummy ability (the one the hero learns) should have visibility off and as many levels as necessary.

    If you just need a unleveled ability that has "toggle" functionality, you use 2 abilities based on channel each with 2 levels, 1 level being visible and another level with the visibility checked off.

    To explain this better I'll pretend we're making Defend and we are triggering the effects. So...The unit gets defend, now we add both channel based abilities, lets call them A and B. Have B initially set to level 2, so it is hidden from the command card (Denoting Defend is Off), A is present on the command card (Denoting we can turn on Defend by casting this) the option and waiting to be "activated" when the unit gets the order/starts the effect of an ability simply set the level of A to 2 and B to 1. This will effectively create a "toggable" ability.
     
  16. Chewii

    Chewii

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Oh thanks Nichilus, I didn't know that

    yeah pOke that's true i could use abilities to add and remove the others, well thought!
     
  17. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,305
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0